We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill - that it is - it leaves you cold” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chill Restaurant & Lounge

Chill Restaurant & Lounge
7410 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL (Formerly Chill)
7273608080
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Tapas, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lowell, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chill - that it is - it leaves you cold”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went twice...both times walked out...the first time we got there to early for Chills menu, they told us to come back at 5 then said better make it 5:30. The 2nd time, a week later, we got there at 5:15 started to order... never got past the beverage order.. the beer that the men wanted they did not have, Coors Light... The wine that we ordered "off the menu" we were told they didn't have and would have to sub a dif. but not at that price. The place was empty. We got up and walked out.. Sorry no 3rd times a charm for us. We will not be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie B, Owner at Chill Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Practically the only time we are delayed opening for dinner in on Sundays... we serve a gigantic brunch in the restaurant, and many Sundays that goes on until long after our posted hours. Having a place open 7 days/week for breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch - with an open kitchen in the dining room means that we have to close to transition the ingredients from breakfast to dinner, mop the floors, etc. After last Sunday, when we served over 425 guests, it took quite a while to get it all ready for Sunday dinner service.
Consequently also... Sunday (and Mondays) are the days when we periodically run out of beer/wine selections. Our delivery day is on Tuesday. Now that "season" has returned we will stock up much better... Only one of our wines is on backorder... but we are replacing it if takes any longer to get in.
Many apologies for your "un-experience"... I hope you will return. Ask for me, "Ruthie"... I am almost always here on property and promise I will bend over backwards to accomodate you - even if I have to run to the grocery store or grab some pots and pans and cook myself. We really strive to please. <3 Blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    36
    22
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by Chill based upon previous reviews and was pleased. Carl was our server and was very engaging and informative. Food was good and with lots of variety everyone in the party found something.

Carl helped and prodded, and made it much better including the dine choice.

Would recommend if in the area, we enjoyed it and were glad we stopped by.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nice music and good tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a Saturday night with company from out of town. We had done a couple of beach bars and decided to come here for real food. They have a nice wine selection. We hadn't been here for several months and were pleasantly surprised to see how they had upgraded some seating areas with booths. Ruthie, the owner stopped by our table to check on us. We had a couple bottles of nice wine, tapas and dessert. They had a guy playing some nice, soft guitar music. We all had a great time, and will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great brunch and latte. Service was awesome!!! Walkable from Postcard Inn. Outdoor seating. Only downside is it is not on the beach.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
447 helpful votes 447 helpful votes
“A Level Above”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Walked into Chill around 5 PM on a Wednesday evening. The dining room was sparsely populated with elderly locals. We were immediately seated by Carl. Good looking guy. Part waiter, part game show host. Totally professional.

Softly lit, comfortable interior. While my wife found the ladies room to be immaculate I thought that the mens' room could have done with a wipe.

We put ourselves in Carl's capable hands and went with his recommendations. For appetizers we had the black stuffed olives. These are filled with garlic and served warm. Very good. We also had the goat cheese tapenade. This dish appeared to have been made earlier in the day and then refrigerated. When the plate hit the table the tapenade was cold. So much so that the flavors were lost to the chill. We set it aside and tucked into it about 10 minutes later. What a difference! Complex flavors complimented by fig and Kalamata.
We also had the Tuna Tetaki. This one threw us a bit. A martini glass arrived containing cubed, raw tuna riding on a bed of shredded cucumber and ginger. A soy reduction is drizzled over the tuna. The glass is a cute idea but sometimes less is more. The dish possesses good flavors. While the cucumber 'spaghetti' was crisp and fresh, the tuna, by comparison, was a tiny bit mealy. We brought this to Carl's attention, finished the tuna and soon forgot about it.

For entree's we ordered the duck breast and the espresso/ cocoa rubbed beef tips. The duck was flat out, the best we've ever eaten. Crisp, caramelized skin clinging to a perfectly cooked duck breast. This was the highlight of the meal and I would come back here again for the duck alone. The beef tips were served with garlic mashed potatoes. Cut with your fork tender beef. Great, robust flavors. A real winner.

Chill has an intelligently assembled wine list. Bottles are priced between #23 and $59. A glass will run you $5 to $11. My wife had the 'Rioja Vega'. ($7) She said that it was one of the best Riojas she had ever drunk and as much time as we've spent in Northern Spain that's saying a lot. This Rioja was a perfect match to the food we ordered.

Throughout the meal Carl watched from afar and quietly swooped in to fill a glass, remove a plate and inquire as to our satisfaction. When our bill arrived I noted that Carl had quietly removed the charge for the tuna. And this is after we had consumed the entire appetizer. Classy move on the part of Chill and Carl.

Chill is adjacent to a coffee cafe called Steam. There seems to be some relationship between the two operations. There is also a bakery operated by the restaurant. The bakery is located directly behind Chill.

Chill serves food that is a leap above St. Pete beach fare. Nice to know that nestled in the chaos of St. Pete strip malls, Taco Bells and IHOPs Carl waits for you. With that marvelous duck.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie B, Owner at Chill Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Noahs Dad...
Thank you! My only regret is that I didn't get to meet you! Carl was pleased to wait on you and so grateful for your kind words.
See you soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chill Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Chill Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chill Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.