We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for a wonderful new restaurant near the hotels on St Pete Beach?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steam and Chill Food Haven and Lounge

Steam and Chill Food Haven and Lounge
7410 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706-1819 (Formerly Chill Restaurant & Lounge )
7273608080
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Vegetarian, Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
St Petersburg, Fl
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Looking for a wonderful new restaurant near the hotels on St Pete Beach?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The new owner is a real go getter. She has put together three different spots in one.
Steam is the all service coffee bar area and the barista is at the top of his game. Chill Tapas is the hip restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Behind the restaurant is the bakery which supplies Chill with breads and desserts but you can take some away with you as well. What a find!
The choices are varied and quite delicious including the croissant sandwiches for breakfast that would be quite acceptable in Paris. We tried the crepes and found them to be so light and diversified.
The vegan and tapas offerings are different for SPB and are enjoyed by non-vegans. We found the watermelon salad, the eggplant nachos and the hummus and veggie saute out of this world. Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    70
    46
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leominster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My review is tardy as I visited St. Pete back in April of 2012, but I wanted to make sure I gave kudos to this restaurant. When we first arrived the ambiance of the restaurant grabbed us right away. We immediately met the owner/chef and she was great. We had a great conversation that included stories of her travels and experiences. As for the food, everything was impeccable. We started off with some red sangria, which was so tasty. All the tapas was cooked to order and came out fresh and tasty. The presentation of the tapas was very cool as well. The decor of the restaurant was chic, trendy, and comforting. As we were leaving, the chef brought us over some complimentary soup and sent us on our way. We went back a couple of days later for some coffee next door at Steam (part of the same restaurant) and the food looked delicious! Unfortunately, we had already eaten breakfast, or else we would have dove right into those breakfast items. If you have yet to check this place out, please do! You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coco88
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“tapas and live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

What a great experience! The tapas here are delicious and sangria was as well. Our table shared about 7-8 tapas and every single one was tasty. I especially liked the zucchini dish and the grouper dish. The s'mores dessert was AMAZING. The vibe was very laid back and the musician playing that night added to the nice ambiance.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

After waiting over an hour for a table, in a empty restaurant, the manager came to seat us. Huge mistake!!! She was so rude and unapologetic. This under staffed restaurant with poor management is now at the bottom of my list........ My server was not any better than his manager. Woody that tip was out of pity, your service was horrible... The mixed tapas was uneventful to say the least... I won't be returning, Since chef Jackie's departure, I don't see any reason to return to this place for any reason what so ever!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Local Coffee Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were looking for a place to get lattes, and really good coffees while vacationing in St. Pete Beach. This was the place! I was pleasantly surprised that they offered almond milk as an option. All the baristas were excellent, and extremely friendly. We didn't actually sit down for breakfast, but the place was packed every morning we were there. We did get a muffin to go, and it was really good. Steam just has a "homey" feel to it, skip the chains when in St. Pete and head to steam!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steam and Chill Food Haven and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Steam and Chill Food Haven and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steam and Chill Food Haven and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.