We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank God you get to use the Loews” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Suites by the Don CeSar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beach House Suites by the Don CeSar to your Saves list
Beach House Suites by the Don CeSar
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3860 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Thank God you get to use the Loews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The rooms are dated, but clean. The view of the water was quite nice. The ants in our room were not. We found the cleaning staff to be downright surly "do you want your room cleaned today or not?" Makes you want to say "or not" just because you don't want the chip on their shoulders to grow. Not up to the level of service we would expect from Loews affiliate. The Loews is a bonus - we went over there every day and ignored our sleeping quarters. This worked for us because it had a kitchenette and a great view - we would prefer the ants not join us on our vacation next time.

Bathtub is a little gross - but overall it's a clean(ish) experience, with use of the Loews, at a fraction of the Loews prices.

Room Tip: Higher floors = much better. The hotel is dated, but it's still a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    87
    39
    30
    20
See reviews for
106
65
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We are staying for a few days at the Beach House Suites for a last minute break from the cold. The suite is roomy and functional, with 1 bed/1 ba plus kitchenette. The suites face the water and have nice light (ours is on the fifth floor). We have enough room to relax and enjoy a meal without going to out. The suite also includes a Washer/dryer - great for a family. The suite is not luxurious but it meets basic needs while providing access to the services and amenities of the Loew's Don Cesar hotel. The hotel is located straight down the beach, a 10 minute walk or 2 minute car ride. Parking is easy at the suites and the hotel. We liked access to the pool and the hot tubs at both locations. They also have lots of recreation and games - including shuffle board and ping pong and volleyball. The Don Cesar also has a watersports rental for kayaks, paddleboards and jetskis (extra cost) on property. Staying at the Beach Suites gives full access and privileges to the Don Cesar facilities included in the daily resort fee. The Don Cesar also includes a gym - with up to date equipment and a yoga room. The spa facility is very nice - but services are at extra cost. The Beach Suites have their own pool and hot tub - great for kids and families.

The Don Cesar hotel also offers a kid's club for children, with daily sessions from 9A - 12 or 1 - 4P. One session is free each day with the price of the activities fee. Our son really enjoyed the kid's club. They read books about local marine life and did art projects. They went for snacks (ice cream) at the onsite ice cream parlor (Uncle Andy's). The staff at the kid's club is excellent. They are caring and fun and all the kids seemed to have a super time. This is one of hte main reasons that we selected the property and well worth it for parents who want to have their kids in a safe and educational environment for a few hours a day. Wifi is also included and speed is decent - although the wifi isn't secure. Daily maid service makes it easy to keep it clean and neat.

The downsides of the suite: It is a bit noisy given that it is next to the street and isn't well soundproofed. If you want to sleep in late and you're a light sleeper it may not be for you. The property is older and basic and isn't stylish. The balconies and living rooms face other units and are not very private.

If you want to stay on the beach with access to good facilities at a decent hotel - this is a good value.

Room Tip: The rooms that end in 11 through 15 face the beach directly to the west! These are the best rooms. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at Beach House Suites by the Don CeSar, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about Beach House Suites here on Tripadvisor!

We're glad you found your stay enjoyable, and appreciated the access to our sister property, the Loews Don Cesar, just up the street!

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Beach House Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week. Smaller hotel with about 70 rooms in total, all with a nice view of the beach. Five floors and higher floors have the better views. We stayed in one of the smaller suites which still had ample space and great for extended stays. Lots of room with living room, dining room,full kitchen, laundry, king bedroom, full bath. Nice size balcony (not too much privacy from other guests though). Suite itself is a bit older but well taken care of, comfortable bed, and in relatively good condition. Hotel itself was very quiet during our stay. Grocery store close by to get food. Nice pool with comfortable lounge chairs and beach towels available for use. You do have to pay extra for beach chairs, cabanas and umbrellas. The beach is very large and there is direct access from this hotel. When you stay at this hotel you have access to the main hotel which is about a 15 min walk down the beach and quite impressive with 2 nice pools, spa, shops, conference rooms, games room, pool bars. There is a daily 'resort fee' add on to your hotel room cost which I thought was too much. I was a bit surprised they didn't have well appointed toiletries in the bathroom, so be sure to bring your own mouthwash, etc. The heated swimming pool was very warm which for us was a major bonus. I would recommend getting a rental car so you can get around easily. I would say it is not that easy to walk everywhere; there is a trolley that runs up and down Gulf Blvd, but it is quite dark on the street at night and stores, restaurants are far apart which gives the strip the quaint feel, but not easy for getting around by foot. Lots of independant shops and restaurants along the strip. Not commercialized like I would say Orlando is. The place seemed to shut down at night; no cars running up and down the strip all night, even on the weekend. Not sure that this hotel is worth a premium price tag as it is a bit older, but we liked it and very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at Beach House Suites by the Don CeSar, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for your comments! All of us enjoy reading where we do well, and where we have some room for improvement. Overall, it appears that you and your family had a great stay and I'm happy to hear that!

As you pointed out, one of the BIG bonuses to saying at the Beach House Suites is that you have full access to all the amenities of the Loews Don Cesar, just up the street! The Camp Cesar program is awesome, and kids learn and have fun at the same time!

Thanks for allowing us to be your home away from home and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Beach House Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We got the king suit which is perfect. King master bedroom, two bathrooms and two pull out couches. Perfect for families. Had a great time! The kitchen and washer and dryer comes in handy when you have to wash sandy clothes everyday.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinac Island, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This old hotel speaks to you. The giant place is right on the beach. Great pool and bar. Nice place to stay while in St Pete. White sugar sand beach, blue water and hot sun Perfect. The hotel reminds me of the Grand Hotel at Mackinaw Island MI beautiful. If you are looking for a cookie cutter hotel this is not it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We only spent one night here while we were in St. Pete on a family visit. The grandkids enjoyed the games & playground for a short time. The suites were quite spacious & were very nice for a beach hotel. There are restaurants & a Walgreen's within walking distance. We had a discounted rate thanks to Travelzoo but did have to pay a resort fee. I have never understood why hotels don't incorporate that into their rate. We would not stay there again when we are visiting family because we are not at the hotel enough to make use of the facilities. However, I would recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a nice vacation hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We came here for the weekend on a Travel Zoo deal, and are likely to return, but probably only at the reduced rates. While the property is amazing (pretty much every suite has some kind of ocean view off their roomy balconies) and comes with access to all the amenities at their grander sister property, these suites are largely overdue for a renovation. Furnishings are dated and a bit threadbare considering this is a Don Cesar rental that goes for a good chunk of change during high season and on weekends. With a good revamping, this place would be the jewel of the beach. The basic layout of the suites is quite comfortable, and there's a nice pool and a lovely stretch of beach. They offer shuttle service to the Don, but the trek is pleasantly walkable on the beach side.

Room Tip: Look for Travel Zoo and other deals, or stay during the week when the rates are much lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House Suites by the Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Suites by the Don CeSar

Address: 3860 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach House Suites by the Don CeSar 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach House Suites by the Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House Suites By The Don Cesar Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beach Hotel Saint Pete
Beach St Pete
Beach Resort Saint Pete
Beach House Suites By The Don CeSar Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Suites by the Don CeSar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.