We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, Love, Love this place! We will be back!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4506 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$5.00 BEST Rate Promise
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love this place! We will be back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My 15 year old daughter and I stayed for 5 nights and it couldn't have been more perfect. We stayed in the lower front suite. Very clean, well equipped kitchenette, nice pool, friendly staff.

The location is incredible...pristine beach, not crowded at all, great private beach area for guests only! Convenient to everything we needed or wanted.

Rick's Reef was an added bonus! We cannot say enough about Chris @ Rick's Reef. He is truly an incredible person! He made our visit feel like we were hanging out with family and friends. He continuously introduced all his customers/guests to one another...by NAME! He always greeted us with his big heart and smile.

Room for improvement?
* Pool closes at dusk...would be nice if it was open until 10pm.
* Rick's Reef closes at 10pm, would be nice if open until 11 or 12 on Friday and Saturday.
* Provide towels for pool/beach. We flew from Dallas...difficult to pack beach towels for a long stay.

Room Tip: Closer to ocean front the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Heather,

Thank you for leaving the Plaza Beach Hotel – Beachfront Resort a Five Star review! I’m glad you and your daughter enjoyed your time here in one of our exclusive Gulf Front Suites. I wanted to note that we do provide towels for the beach and pool at the front desk. Since we are more family oriented and not a party atmosphere, the tiki bar does close at 10pm to ensure the comfort of all guests after quiet hours. I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    326
    67
    29
    18
See reviews for
459
448
43
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Not a bad hotel and not too expensive for St Pete's Beach. I chose it because of it's high rating on tripadviser. We had a side on view of the sea. The room was a good size but the 2 x double beds were small especially for US standards. We ended up setting up the sofa bed. When we got the bedding for the sofa bed it was a little damp. The room was made up every day but I wouldn't go as far as to say it was clean. There always seemed to be sand on the floor and so not sure if it was swept each day. The rooms look a little dated and it definitely feels like a motel rather than hotel.

Try breakfast Beverly's -YUM.

Reception staff were helpful but nothing special as seems to be suggested by other reviews. I understand that the hotel gets a lot of repeat guests who rate it highly. I didn't spend any time at the bar but there seemed to be a regular crowd there.

There are quite a few nice touches regards external appearance but it looks contrived and amateur/diy'ish.

It seems that I appear to be saying it was bad, it wasn't but I am trying to balance the fact that, in my opinion, it is far from anything special as some reviewers seem to suggest. I would reiterate that it definitely looks and feels like a motel rather than a resort hotel which sounds somewhat more grand.

Would I recommend it, yes if you want a reasonable priced room but nothing special apart from the location which is fab. It's right on the beach and near to bank, supermarket and shops. Would I go there again, no.

Room Tip: When booking check whether the room is full sea view or partial. We requested sea view but git a sid...
See more room tips
Green Features: Usual request re towels only being put out to wash when they are really dirty which also conveniently saves the hotel money. Coming form the UK we are much more in to recycling but there is no sign of this at the hotel. US needs to catch up with Europe.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Derek,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m glad that you found us reasonably priced, but I have to say I’m disappointed that you would not return. You booked our Superior Gulf View Suite, which does offer only a partial view, and you were in the one closest to the beach with the best possible view. Our records show we informed you about our Gulf Front with Balcony Suite, but you didn’t think that had enough room for your children, so you booked a larger room instead. We do offer many eco-friendly initiatives including recycling plastic, glass and aluminum, water conservation, linen reuse, providing reusable shopping bags, monthly beach clean ups, and so much more. I’m very surprised you did not notice all of our signage kindly asking our guests to be kind to the environment. All in all, I think you were looking for a larger resort rather than a smaller boutique resort. This experience is not for everyone, so maybe it simply was not for you. We do offer the same amenities available at big hotels, but without the extra resort fees tacked on, and a much more personal experience. I do welcome you back if you decide to visit the area again.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed at the Palza Beach in May/june and found it to be exatly as described. Family friendly, excellent choice for ocean front on a budget! Staff wee extremely helpful and polite. the only negative I have is the beds could use an upgrade, but otehrwise great location, pool and beach! Love the pool side bar with music!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here for four nights with our 5 year old and we could not have been happier. Great pool, great beach access, and the location is perfect. Everyone on the staff was helpful and cheerful. We felt right at home.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Loved the location with short walk to sand. Would have enjoyed a room closer to the pool with elderly grandmother but it was a manageable walk. Quiet and safe, clean. Grocery store across the street and loved eating at crabby bills. Short drive to Johns pass. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pool/beach also 4 oceanfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. I’m glad you enjoyed our close proximity to the beach, as well as stores and restaurants. We have amenities sure to please guests of all ages. I hope to see you again soon!

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Family of 3 with 10 yr old son for weekend stay at the beach. Hotel in good shape and clean. Older property but remodeled and spacious rooms. Comfortable beds. Staff friendly and offered good advice for local restaurants and activities. Along with the pool we enjoyed the foosball, mini golf and shuffleboard games all complimentary. Beach and sunsets were just as we had hoped for. We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My 10 year old son and I stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of summer break . We had a great time. St Pete Beach is a beautiful beach no matter where you stay on it, but it's hard to find a quaint little place like this one, it's mostly covered in high rises. We didn't use all of the amenities that were available, like the free beer and wine happy hour, but we did enjoy the pool, the outdoor games, and the hammocks on the beach. The room was clean and it was nice to have the convenience of the kitchen in the room and a grocery store so close by. I booked with Hotwire.com, but would definitely stay there again if I could get a decent rate. I was considering adding another night since we were having such a good time, but was glad I didn't since it stormed the entire day that we left. We met a family from Britain who had been there a week and another from Toronto who were there for a three week stay. They all seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Room Tip: Only four rooms have a beach view with balcony. The rest face the parking lot or the side of the ho...
See more room tips
Green Features: They seemed to be pretty "green", and I appreciate that.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent getaway. I’m glad you enjoyed the beach, pool, and games. We do offer a Low Price Guarantee, so if you find a lower rate on any of the various booking sites, we will match and beat it by $5. I welcome you back any time for another great stay.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Address: 4506 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is an award winning boutique resort of only 39 suites on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach was voted #1 Beach in America by tripadvisor and is famous for its sugar white beaches. Plaza Beach Resort is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking orange/purple sunset melt into the gulf. All rooms are spacious studio apartments with full kitchen; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking and FREE Fishing off of our private piers just across the street. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants, and shopping are just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Saint Pete Beach
Plaza Beach Saint Pete
Plaza Beach Resort
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.