We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Beachfront Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4506 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$5.00 BEST Rate Promise
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Beachfront Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at the Plaza Beach Hotel and had a great experience. The hotel was not only spacious and clean, the location was perfect. The beds were clean, the floors were tiled instead of carpet which was nice when coming in with sandy shoes. The pool offered a nice change from the beautiful beachfront during our long days in the sun. The appliances were very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an affordable, clean, convenient stay. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    352
    69
    28
    18
See reviews for
490
481
51
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tujunga, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a very relaxing, comfortable vacation at St. Pete Beach, Florida at Plaza Beach Resort - Beachfront Hotel. If you like high rises and luxury with prices to match, this is not your hotel. But if you love being right on the sand of the beach, this could be your place. It felt more like our own little beach cabin with the kitchenette adding so much to our comfort. A full size refrigerator, two burner cook-top, coffee maker and toaster. Surprised at how clean and nicely stocked the kitchen supplies were, matching dishes, glasses, cups, silverware, cutting board, and even a teakettle. There were nice touches throughout our room and resort. It was reminiscent of a 50's motel, and the price left no room for complaint. They have made the most of the layout with games and authentic Tiki huts near the pool and on the Bay side docks, and the entire resort is very well-kept. The staff were all smiling and friendly, but efficient, and very helpful with questions. We had fun doing beach cleanup with the owner Robert and his wife, Mari, and their two darling children. I appreciate an environmentally conscious business, and they have taken thoughtful steps to limit negative environmental impacts. We also appreciated the 32 inch flat screen television that was mounted on a swivel so we could watch sports all over the room. We really enjoyed the daily "Happy Hour" where we had the opportunity to meet and talk with couples from many U.S. States, Canada, and European countries. It's kind of like Vegas in that the joy of the place is not staying in your room, but accessing the Gulf beach as well as the Bay, and exploring the many entertainment venues up and down St. Pete Beach and Pass A Grille, not to mention all the great things to do in the area outside St. Pete Beach, too. I appreciated the hotel not having any bars or restaurants as we were able to come back to a quiet place to rest and sleep. I thought the bed was the best I have ever slept on in a hotel, although I do recommend earplugs if the noise of an air conditioner bothers you. The bathrooms are small, and if you are a large person, you might not be comfortable with it. But it reminded us of home. And we loved the convenient shopping just within the block. Overall, I would say it satisfied my tropical beach vacation wish perfectly with no financial regrets.

Green Features: Soap, shampoo and conditioner dispensers appreciated; recycling containers available
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Debra,

Thank you for the great review of your stay at the Plaza Beach Hotel – Beachfront Resort. I was so pleased with the guest participation in our monthly Beach Cleanup effort. We are always looking for new ways to be eco-friendly and appreciate you and other guests who took the time to volunteer during their vacations. I’m glad you took advantage of all of our amenities in the room and around the property. We hope you come back again for another relaxing trip!

Robert Czyszczon, General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
"Traditions Start Here"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first time visiting Florida so our first time at this hotel. We found the resort very clean, the staff (Tami and Zijada) were very friendly and helpful and our accommodations were excellent. It was very windy when we arrived but my husband was determined to 'play' in the surf and swim in the ocean. The waves were too strong for me so I opted for a swim in the beautiful pool. We loved being right on the beachfront so we could walk the beaches. We loved this resort and we would definitely come back!!

Room Tip: You could chose just about any room from right on the beachfront or back from the ocean. Any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Joan,

Thank you for a Five Star review of your stay at the Plaza Beach Hotel – Beachfront Resort. We are honored that your first time in Florida was experienced here in St Pete Beach at our resort. Thank you for mentioning two of our staff members who provided your with exemplary service, Tami and Zijada. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to both of them. We hope to see you again on your second trip to Florida!

Robert Czyszczon, General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
"Traditions Start Here"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Staff was beyond courteous and helpful. Amenities were slightly dated, but still very nice.
The ownership takes great pride in the property.
Bathrooms are very small, but beds are extremely comfortable. Make sure you ask for room cleaning between days or none will be given.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Maybe there is something to the saying “Traditions Start Here”, because we have just completed our fifth year vacationing here. It is right on the beach, there is a lovely pool, and the atmosphere is serene and quiet, just the place to de-stress. There are plenty of chaise lounge chairs by the pool, and towels can be picked up at the office. There are colorful chairs on the beach sand, some adirondack style, some lounge chairs too. The view is beautiful, and we saw many dolphins swimming by. Sunsets are marvelous, everyone can see and enjoy.

Our room has a flat panel TV, kitchen area with 2-burner stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, sink, dishes, pots/pans, flatware, cups and drinking glasses, and table and chairs for 3. There’s a ceiling fan, A/C, 2 closets, and things like shampoo, conditioner, soap, kleenex, are all supplied. Free W-Fi. The bathrooms may be small, but are well equipped, and have grab bars in the bathtub/shower and by the toilet. The floors are tile. There are charging plugs for your phones on both sides of the bed. There is a safe, large enough to fit my laptop, which is 13.5” x 9”.

There’s even a reusable grocery bag for shopping at Publix Grocery store across the street. They have little wheeled carts you can borrow too. There’s also a Walgreens, a bakery and a Pizza place across the street. Chick-Fil-A delivers to the hotel. If you walk 2 hotels down, there is a Tiki Bar on the beach if you want some adult beverages.
They do have a social hour from 4 - 5, with free beer and wine.

This is a family owned hotel, small, and friendly. Anything you need, just ask. Everyone, including the cleaning staff, is very warm and helpful. (Special thanks to Zijada, who took good care of us this year!) The owners take good care of their hotel, and every year there are constant upgrades and improvements. We have fun spotting what’s different each year that we come.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are on the shady side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

To celebrate my wife & my 45th anniversary, I called two weeks in advance to rent a room for this past weekend. I told the desk clerk of the occasion & said I wanted a nice room to celebrate. We had stayed here a few years ago & had a great time. Located right on the beach we enjoyed the beautiful sunsets. We checked in & were almost shocked at the room they gave us. It was small & cramped. The room was also located along street side so traffic noise was annoying. The bed was very hard & not conducive for a restful sleep. When I voiced my concerns to the desk clerk she said there was nothing they could do as they was booked up. What was disappointing was that they knew it was a special occasion & instead of telling us that this was the only room left, they gave us their most undesirable room. They were more interested in putting bodies in their room. We would have delayed our trip had we been informed. Our $311.00 was not well spent. Needless to say we will not be going back.

Room Tip: If you have the money to blow, be sure to clarify the size of the room close to the pool.
See more room tips
Green Features: This resort practices many environmentally friendly. The have recycling bins outside the rooms.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I apologize that you were not happy with the room during your most recent stay. Upon looking into it, you booked a Deluxe Efficiency Suite and there was a request listed for one bed instead of two queen beds, due to the special occasion. Room locations are not guaranteed or determined at the time of booking, and unfortunately all rooms are not beachfront. As evidenced by our wonderful reviews, we are not in the business of simply filling rooms. I’m very sorry that you felt that way. I can’t apologize enough about this past experience, but I would like to invite you back and offer a complimentary upgrade to the next level of room category when you re-book. I sincerely value your business and would appreciate the opportunity to provide you with another positive experience.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

tripadvisor is creating a new hotel economy, no longer do you have to roll into town and play hotel darts. If you choose a top ranked establishment you can be almost certain that the hotel staff will bend over backwards in hopes of a great review. This motel is tripadvisor centric and is no exception.

What a fantastic little "motor motel" of yesteryear. While properties such as this have been razed and replaced with 30 story condos "The Plaza Beach Hotel" thank goodness was not. Instead the obviously quality conscious owners chose to invest in updating the rooms allowing familes to enjoy the pristine St Pete Beach at a reasonable price. This is a very well run hotel, the rooms were spotless ( we stayed in two different rooms) cabinets full of dinnerware and cookware with a kitchenette and a Publix just across the street if you don't care to eat out. The pool was exceptionally clean, a garden chess area, a "mini mini golf area" and covered picnic tables were examples of how no space is left unused. With a parking lot of 50's cars this hotel would be an extraordinary James Dean movie set.

Folks that have complained about the Plaza not being a "resort" should have stayed just a few blocks down the street at the "Don Cesar" where they of course would have complained about rates and probably lack of service for what they paid.

If you are nostalgic or if you value "value" and service you will absolutely love The Plaza Beach Resort. No question we will go back to support a business that is so customer focused.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Bill,

Thanks for taking the time to leave this detailed FIVE STAR review of your stay at the Plaza Beach Hotel – Beachfront Resort. Many prospective guests look to reviews to choose a property that fits their specific needs. As you stated, we provide an excellent value and a boutique resort experience with a focus on nothing but the best customer service. We are often called a ‘hidden gem’ among large hotels and condos, which many travelers like you appreciate. I look forward to welcoming you back as a repeat guest!

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Address: 4506 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is an award winning boutique resort of only 39 suites on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach was voted #1 Beach in America by tripadvisor and is famous for its sugar white beaches. Plaza Beach Resort is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking orange/purple sunset melt into the gulf. All rooms are spacious studio apartments with full kitchen; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking and FREE Fishing off of our private piers just across the street. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants, and shopping are just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Saint Pete Beach
Plaza Beach Saint Pete
Plaza Beach Resort
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.