We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Clean, Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4506 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$5.00 BEST Rate Promise
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean, Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Pluses:
- Beach - beautiful sandy white beach next to the hotel
- Sand toys, pool toys, beach loungers for free
- Free WiFi in your room (actually works)
- Small but adequate kitchen
- Clean
- Pool - good size, heated
- Emphasis on reducing waste/environment: recycling bin by the pool, soap dispensers on the wall by sink, shower, kitchen,

Minuses:
- uncomfortable/springy bed

Other - Traveling with a 4-year old. We booked a room that had a pull-out couch and having that extra space with the couch and coffee table was great. Lots of room to build Lego structures.
The bathroom and kitchen are small but have everything you need. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your Wonderful Review of the Plaza Beach Hotel-Beachfront Resort. I so happy that you enjoyed yourself and that your room was spacious enough for your family and your sons Lego structures.

I appreciate you mentioning the bed; we are working on replacing all the mattresses this year to improve the comfort of our guest. I am also glad you mentioned the WiFi, we just completely upgraded our services and increased strength and speed. And I appreciate that you helped in our conservation efforts, as we are a Green lodging property.

Thank you again for your review, in addition the mattress upgrades we also have many more great improvements set for 2013, so we look forward to seeing you and your family again next year to enjoy all our new efforts.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts- St Pete Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    385
    78
    34
    19
See reviews for
548
520
55
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

After reading the reviews of Trip Advisor, we definitely expected more of this hotel.
Here are our honest pros & cons:

Pros:
1) Location on the beach is great! The beach is clean with miles of beautiful sand.
2) Pool was clean, heated & salt water (which we prefer). Lots of available chairs to lounge in.
3) Close to grocery store.
4) Geckos for our son to "hunt".
5) Full size fridge.

Cons:
1) Small rooms
2) Small beds (although I have read the hotel is planning to upgrade to real queens, which would be a good idea!)
3) Small bathroom - there was no grout in the tile around the tub so there was a bunch of dirt/dust collected in the cracks (yuck!). The cheap, stained bathtub has air or water under it so it was like standing on a bubble. Appears it was retrofitted during the "reno".
4) Small kitchen - although it was convenient to have an area to cook, there was no space for preparation or drying dishes, etc. The corkscrew was the cheapest & most useless corkscrew ever & there were broken knives in the drawer.
5) Housekeeping - was mediocre; although our beds were made & towels replaced, the tub & sink were not cleaned.

We did not partake in the happy hour because the beer is so cheap in the US (compared to Canada), we didn't feel the need for free beer, but it was a nice offer. We also didn't have much communication or interaction with the staff, so cannot provide much feedback on the service. The small amount of interaction we did have was fine & we have no complaints.

We would consider this hotel low value & low end. We would not recommend this hotel or return to it. We do not feel we received value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I want to apologize that you were very disappointed with your stay. We really do work hard to exceed and ensure that all our guest have comfortable accommodations. I thank you for your suggestions and we will review them at our next staff meeting and see how we can improve on them.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our beachside pool and convenient location to many restaurants and miles of white sandy beach.

To all our future TripAdvisor guest reading this review; please let us know if there is something we can do to improve your stay while you are still at the hotel. Many times we can fix an issue on the spot. No one and no hotel is perfect, and unless you let us know, we don’t know. We can’t move walls, or make a bathroom bigger on the spot, but we can definitely provide you with a better corkscrew or a newer knife. Please always let us know while you’re here, we want to meet and exceed your expectations.

Look forward to seeing everyone here.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is just so friendly and welcoming! I think St Pete Beach is the best beach ever. It is not rowdy and full of college students, which I believe they would be bored here haha. The staff are very accommodating. I've been here multiple times and each time I come there are more updates to the property keeping it modern and attractive. The social hour is an extra bonus. You can meet people from all over the world. Very cool!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent a long 3 day weekend at the Plaza Beach Resort in January and had a wonderful time! It was a great 3 day escape from agonizing Illinois winter weather and the Plaza Beach Resort was the perfect place. The location on the beach is perfect, the room very comfortable and clean and the staff freindly. Since we fly out of Rockford, Illinois and Allegiant Airlines flies to St. Pete airport we can be in Florida in a little over two hours for a great weekend escape. We will be going back to the Plaza Beach Resort soon! Dockside Dave's is right down the street for great seafood!

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be great. Ours faced the parking lot but was still beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your Excellent review of the Plaza Beach Hotel-Beachfront Resort. Our family being from Chicago, I know exactly what you are talking about when you say “agonizing Illinois winter” , I’m glad that you discovered our beach paradise. You are right about Allegiant Airlines, they are Awesome and fly in and out of the smaller airports, St Pete Airport is so convenient and so easy to get in and out.

Next time you’re shoveling snow, remember that in just over two hours you can be shoveling sand and building sandcastles instead of snow piles. I look forward to seeing you back again and Thank You for the great pictures too.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts – St Pete Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frauenfeld, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent 3.5 weeks in the USA last summer, travelling through Florida, Knowing St Pete Beach from previous holidays, we looked for a place to stay and luckiliy found this wonderful place.
Very clean and cosy roooms, very kind staff.
We're a family of 2 adults and 3 children between 10 and 15 and spent 2 nights and 2 wonderful days at the beach.
We all slept in one room (2x Queens bed + 1 on the sofa). There was enough room for everyone.
The hotel is very well located, really a stone-throw from the beach : open the gate next to the pool, that's it, you're on a sandy beach on the Gulf of Mexico !
There is a very nice Italian restaurant (more to this in a next review ;-)) which can be reached by foot from the hotel. There is at the same distance in the opposite direction a Publix which can be reached by foot too.
Due to our schedule (we were due to Miami by the end of the week), we could not stay longer..
This place was the highlight of our trip through Florida and there is no doubt, that we'll return..

Room Tip: The whole location is quiet, 2 rooms are on the sea side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I usually stay in the chain hotels to take advantage of loyalty programs as well as to have a consistent, predictable experience. With out one of my usual hotels in the area, I tried the Plaza Beach Resort based on other Trip Advisor advice.

My wife and I were both very happy with the property. This was not a typical vacation trip, but instead, was a working trip for both of us. The property was close to the client she was meeting with during the day and I was able to work using my laptop and hotel WiFi. The advantage I had was that I could take my laptop to the snack bar area near the pool and have enough shade, AC power, and WiFi signal to work just feet from the sun and sand. I was able to walk the beach, dip in the pool, and walk to a variety of place for lunch.

Once work was over, we found the Publix grocery store across the street to get a variety of foods we could prepare in the kitchenette (microwave, full-size fridge, cooktop, no oven) and eat with the plates and utensils in the room. Very handy and saved us money over eating out every meal.

We had a king room. There is one recliner chair (no sofa) and several chairs for the the kitchen table. Living area here was fine, but the bathroom is very...compact... It is one person-at-a-time in the bathroom.

The room was very clean which is an accomplishment for housekeeping given how sand ends up everywhere. Tile floors make it easier for them to clean. Fit and finish of the room was fine, but remember, this property was probably built in the 70. The owners have done a nice job keeping the paint colors and decor somewhat modern.

We really appreciated having beach chairs for guests rather than having to rent them. Were we there with small children, the collection of beach toys, shuffleboard, mini-golf, and other amusements would have been a very nice compliment. Given how we were traveling this time, we just didn't have time to take advantage of them.

While we will most likely stay here again in future trips to the Gulfport/St. Pete Beach area, there are few things to keep in mind:
- Gulf Blvd is the main road in front of the property and any noise at night from loud motorcycles or cars is going to bounce off the condo next door and carry into any of the south facing rooms. Probably the same issue with the north facing rooms. If you are looking for a very quiet room, this probably isn't the property for you, however, we did sleep with the windows open since that part of Florida was having a heat wave while we were there.
- We had a "pecking" sound above and behind our room that no one could figure out. It wasn't loud, but at 3:00am, it was noticeable and just random enough to make it hard to fall asleep. Might have just been our location.
- There is no housekeeping on Sundays. I think this is perfectly fine and prefer a minimum of service during my stays. No one changes the bedding and towels every day at home, why should I make that big a deal on the road? If you expect that kind of service, just know that you can change your towels at the desk on Sunday.
- You get a single, old-style punched hole key. A second key is a $10 cash deposit that you get back upon checkout.
- Runners will like going south on Gulf Blvd into Pass-a-Grille and then running back. About 5+ miles round trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This a great place to stay. Rooms very clean and well kept. One of the front office staff, Kaitie, made it easy for me to get reservations for 4 families getting together and being close in rooms next to each other. I would recommend this to all my friends and plan on staying here again in the near future. You will love it.

Room Tip: We liked the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
1.0 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#25 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,883 reviews
0.9 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Address: 4506 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#1 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is an award winning boutique resort of only 39 suites on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach was voted #1 Beach in America by tripadvisor and is famous for its sugar white beaches. Plaza Beach Resort is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking orange/purple sunset melt into the gulf. All rooms are spacious studio apartments with full kitchen; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking and FREE Fishing off of our private piers just across the street. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants, and shopping are just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Saint Pete Beach
Plaza Beach Saint Pete
Plaza Beach Resort
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.