We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's About the Beach !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4506 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$5.00 BEST Rate Promise
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Youngstown, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's About the Beach !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Nicely maintained, super clean, motel right on one of the country's best
beaches. We stayed here several times in the mid 1970s, and the place is still family owned (different family), and has been modernized and upgraded. Rooms are large and well laid out with kitchenettes and refrigerators. A/C is modern and effective. Floors are nice tile, which is great, since being right on the beach means sand is present. Bathrooms/showers are small, but well thought out with nice fixtures.
Good sized heated salt water pool overlooks the beach.
Small hotel snack bar by pool is open during busy season. Nice beach bar about 100 yards down the beach.
Staff was friendly and eager to please. This motel is good value for the money. You can't beat the beach. White sand, wide, safe, very long for walking if you wish, clean water right on the Gulf.
There are plenty of restaurants and attractions nearby, if you can tear yourself away from the sand , sea, and sun.
We've rediscovered St Pete Beach and the Plaza Beach Hotel after 35 years of travelling all over the world. We will be coming back.

Room Tip: Upper floor avoids hearing footsteps on tiled floors above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    361
    71
    29
    18
See reviews for
503
492
51
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for a couple of days at the end of August and we had such a lovely time:) From the road it we were not so sure if I was going to like the place, but it turned out to be absolutely lovely. The rooms were clean and large enough. the pool was nice. But it was RIGHT on a beautiful beach. Staff was super friendly and there was a cute hot dog stand on the site. Here's a tip an old timer told me: There is a beach bar just about a 100 feet up the beach where we got beers and sweet cocktails while taking a break from swimming and hanging on the not very crowded beach. We were only there for 2 days, but next time we come back we'll stay for a whole week!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 6 days over Thanksgiving and we would definitely go back.
Everything that has been mentioned---location, size, beautiful beach, cleanliness, accessible groceries, friendly staff and family owned is definitely a plus. We had a room on the courtyard side and it was quiet. We used the kitchenette daily. There was plenty of hot water and water pressure was fine. One thing that I haven't noticed being mentioned is how nice the lighting in the room is. There is ample reading light for both beds. The recessed lighting in the ceiling is perfect---much better than in much more expensive hotels. I thought it was nice to look up to a freshly painted ceiling with new molding and not have to face ugly fluorescent lighting. A little thing maybe, but if you like to read, you know what I mean.
I regret that we did not get to visit with the owners, but I would like to tell them thank you. Katy gave us a great reception when we checked in and was very helpful with her advice.
It it heartening to see a place, a little oasis among the giants, that continues to improve and genuinely wants to serve their clients well. The only thing that I would suggest at this point is to add some new pillows for those of us who don't yet travel with their own.
Hope we can visit again next year.

Room Tip: The courtyard side, upstairs is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great little motel / hotel right on the beach. It's on Gulf Boulevard too, which is fairly busy, but we didn't hear any road noise from our room, which was only one room away from the street. Great value for the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I spent five nights here including Thanksgiving. This was our third time back to this hotel, and it did not disappoint. We arrived after midnight the first night, and they were very accommodating. Staff was very helpful, and friendly. We also like the small kitchens which are in every room. Great for making meals, or just keeping snacks and drinks. Also Publix is basically right across the street for groceries. The beach is great, and they have a few beach chairs for use. One suggestion may be to have a blender or two that could be checked out to guests. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay...again, and I am sure we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Grove, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This establishment embodies everything that is so wonderful about a family-owned small hotel: friendly and helpful staff, quaint and thoughtful amenities and repeat guests. My family and I had two rooms for the Thanksgiving weekend, and enjoyed the clean and spacious rooms, as well as getting to know the other guests at the daily wine/beer reception.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the non-parking lot side for more privacy. And the units on the end with balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time. The staff were friendly and accomodating. Our room was very clean and had space to move around in. The kitchen in the room makes your stay even more pleasant if you plan to stay longer than a few days. We really appreciated the fact that we could open the windows in this hotel since it was 73 while we were visiting, not to mention the ceiling fan over the bed. They also had tables outside most of the rooms where you could sit and relax if you didn't feel like going anywhere. They have Happy Hour from 4-5 everyday and while there we met a group of retirees who visit every year, at the same time of year, and stay in the same rooms. They were very nice people who we enjoyed talking too. My only complaint (and this is minor) is that there wasn't any water pressure in our room. Regardless of this, my husband and I have decided we will be going back next year sometime. WE CAN'T WAIT!!!! Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Address: 4506 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is an award winning boutique resort of only 39 suites on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach was voted #1 Beach in America by tripadvisor and is famous for its sugar white beaches. Plaza Beach Resort is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking orange/purple sunset melt into the gulf. All rooms are spacious studio apartments with full kitchen; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking and FREE Fishing off of our private piers just across the street. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants, and shopping are just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Saint Pete Beach
Plaza Beach Saint Pete
Plaza Beach Resort
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.