We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5250 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
hundon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed 3 nights after flight from Gatwick. Had booked a suite (I believe there's one on every corner of each floor) as we were celebrating a special occasion. Tired after a long flight our first impression wasn't great, not sure why but I suspect tiredness played a part,. That said the reception was excellent and when we got to our room we were impressed as we had a view (417) overlooking the beach. Popped to Bongo's Beach bar immediately and ordered food |& drink and found the service was superb - nothing was too much trouble - ice cold beer and some great food. Next morning we woke to a fabulous view out onto the beach and into the Gulf. One of the best views I've experienced, first thing we took was a load of photos before heading down to breakfast which was okay. One nice touch was the complimentary coffee in the lobby 24/7- excellent idea. We tried to book the Spinners restaurant at the top of the hotel but it was busy (and we were a party of eight so, no surprise however we did eat at Madfish next door which made up for it, I would recommend a visit. Parking at the hotel was tight but we always space so overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    529
    199
    117
    77
See reviews for
469
917
75
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Overall a nice hotel. Most of the staff very nice and accommodating . Some a bit impersonal. Had reserved partial ocean view , which was as advertised. However, undergoing construction and our view also had a wonderful view of the construction site and crane which partially obstructed our partial ocean view. Bongos and Spinners were nice restaurants with good food and great views.

Room Tip: Try to reserve full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked this through the app Hotel Tonight and saved A LOT. Prior to booking, I called to see what they were charging and I saved over $100 using the app. We were met by Amber Rose and after being in the car for 8 hours, she was a breath of fresh air. She was so bubbly and energetic and clearly loved her job.
She upgraded us to have somewhat of a view. She then told us about the bar outside that provided free shots at sunset. It was close to sunset so she hurried so we could make it.
A bellman helped us get to our room. We found out at that point that one elevator was out and two weddings were being held at the resort so lots of people were there.
We got to our room and it was nice. You could tell is was older, but clean and fairly big. It had a mini fridge and microwave, coffee maker, balcony, free wifi, and a pull down bed that was stored against the wall. They also had Bath & Body Works toiletries. We unpacked and went straight to the bar where we saw a gorgeous sunset. We got our free shot and had dinner there at the bar. The guys were great that worked behind the bar.
We had breakfast at the hotel the next morning and it was great. The buffet was only $12 a person which was very reasonable.
The elevator situation was a hassle, but the hotel did allow guests to use the service elevator which did help. We walked down the stairs as much as possible.
We would definitely stay here again. It's directly on the beach and all the staff we encountered were extremely nice.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First I must comment on the professionalism of the staff, especially Amber Rose and Tracey, they were so helpful. The room was spacious and well set out, the balcony was nice. Bathroom was quite small but I think it is an older property and is the norm for them.it is located on a beautiful beach. food was quite good an reasonable, would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our stay was very nice. Our room was lovely. The bed was comfortable. The beach was right outside the back of the hotel. I loved our unique room. Because the building is round, the "corner" rooms are not rectangular & have lots of windows & an odd shape. It was fun to see how they managed to put furniture in there. The kids loved sleeping on the Murphy bed - I'm not sure how comfy it would be for adults though. The age of the hotel shows in the really, really slow elevators, but overall I think there is much charm in the unique building structure. My only complaint is the daily housekeeping is a little lacking. They nearly missed us one day. We had to ask at dinner to have our room cleaned. This would not have been an issue if we didn't have full trash cans & dirty floors from tracking sand back from the beach. I don't believe the floors were swept the whole time we stayed, which made for some dirty white sheets by the time we left.

Room Tip: The beach views are nice, but even with a parking lot view, you can see water on both sides of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family and I stayed here for a short spring break vacation at the end of March/Early April. I really agonized over the choice of hotels in St. Pete - since most hotels seem to have a real mix of reviews. The Grand Plaza hotel was a nice, decent hotel. My family enjoyed our stay here. A few notes about the property - we were on the 3rd floor on the ocean front south side - every evening the music from Bongos was playing - our kids are heavy sleepers, but if you had a sensitive kid - or were yourself sensitive to noise - choose the north side of the hotel.

On a Wednesday morning, we were at the pool at 9:15am and all 30+ beach chairs had towels on them, reserving them for later use, with no guests using them at the time. While I have experienced this at other hotels - it seemed particularly bad here because there were so few chairs on the pool deck.

One other thing - they will not let you charge anything to your rooms without an ID - which sort of defeats the purpose of charging things to your room (ie, so you don't have to carry ID and or credit cards around) - yeah, not the end of the world - but when we checked-in, we should have been told about this so we could plan accordingly. Very annoying to order food and drinks only to have to go back to my room to get and ID and credit card to pay for them.

All in all a decent hotel - appreciated very much that they didn't nickel and dime you to death with parking, resort and wifi fees - everything was included!

Room Tip: Lower level rooms on the south side WILL hear music from Bongos in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'll start with the good: the staff was friendly and accommodating. At the beginning they gave us a corner room with an ahkward shape, we requested a rectangular shape room instead and they granted our request, that was very nice of them. The corner rooms are okay for a couple without kids. The king sized beds are confortable. Bongos restaurant at the beach is a plus with live music, the food is okay and the prices are reasonable. If it wasn't because I booked late and I pay too much I would have rated 4 stars. The bad: someone else mentioned the fact that the place looks like a handyman do it yourself type of business, and is true. There are a lot of things that could look a lot nicer if the work had been done by professionals. The window shutters are a nice touch but they don't keep the light out. You can't make your room dark during the day and they light from the balcony shines through the window at night. The wall air conditioning units are loud. The mini fridges are loud. They have commercial toilets and they flush loud. The bathrooms are small. The furniture is old and outdated, it is time for a renovation. 2 persons without kids are okay on a corner room. 2 adults with 2 kids are okay on a rectangular room. A family with young kids or a large family definitely needs a suite.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5250 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel is located directly on the beach and Gulf of Mexico. The Resort features a wide selection of luxurious guestrooms with furnished private balconies and all the best full service resort amenities for the leisure or business travelers. No hidden resort fees. At NO further charge you get FREE use of Fitness Center, FREE Unlimited Wireless Internet Access with your own computer, FREE Electronic Safe in your room, FREE Parking, FREE Coffee & Tea 24 Hours a Day, FREE Local Phone Calls. Featuring 3 Restaurants - Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro & Lounge, Bongos Beach Bar & Grill, and the Palm Room Restaurant. 2 Lounges, Heated Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Splendia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel And Conference Center
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Grand Plaza Beachfront Hotel
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.