We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2014 Anniversary Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5250 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Troy, Michigan
1 review
“2014 Anniversary Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

For our anniversary, we made reservations at the Grand Plaza Hotel. My wife’s daughter and husband were there last year for their honeymoon and loved it, so we gave it a try. The hotel is older but renovated very nicely. Our room was bright, clean, and comfortable with a great view of the beach from the multiple windows or from the balcony. One of the best rooms we have had in quite a while! The staff was very friendly and helpful, absolutely a great team from top to bottom. The food was excellent, especially the breakfast buffet. The evening meals at the outdoor grill were very good as well, especially the fish! You will not leave hungry! The hotel specialty drinks and music at the outdoor bar were very good and to our liking. There were plenty of Palm trees providing shade, but not obstructing your view of the beach. The beach itself was manicured daily and was a large area, so you never felt crowded. Overall we would rate our stay as excellent and will return soon.

Room Tip: Spend a few dollars more and get the beach view, it's great espcially in the morning and at suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    495
    183
    113
    70
See reviews for
444
859
71
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed recently for two nights during the week and had a nice time. The resort is very clean and well kept. There are several vending machines downstairs which is nice. Our room was clean when we arrived. I booked the "partial ocean view" room, and luckily we were on the corner of the building so we had a nice view of the beach from the windows near the bed. The balcony, however, sat over a rooftop, but that wasn't terrible. The room wasn't huge, but also wasn't super small and we had plenty of space for the two of us. The bed in our room sagged a little on both sides, which made it a bit tough to sleep. Everything else was great.

As far as food, the menus for Spinners, Bongos, and room service are virtually identical. The room service menu does have a few additional options to choose from though, including drinks and desserts. I have seen lots of reviews about how expensive the food is, and I have two things to say about that. First, you're staying at a resort, and should therefor expect to pay a little more for pretty much everything. Number two: not all the food is crazy expensive. The first night at Bongos I ordered a panini that was $11 and came with a generous portion of potato salad, and was more than enough for $11. Seafood and steaks will run you up past $30, though. We did not have the chance to eat at Spinners, but to be honest, sunset at Bongos for dinner was incredible (they even give out free shots at sunset).

For the most part, the staff was very friendly. We were greeted warmly at check in and most of our servers were pretty good. Parking can be a bit rough, but there is also an underground parking garage (which you may want to park in anyway to avoid the heat). We didn't make use of most of the other amenities, such as the pool and fitness room. The fitness room and laundry room are tucked away in the level just below the lobby, and it is quite dingy and dark down there. When you check in, you will be charged for the remainder of your stay (if you paid a deposit to hold your reservation) or for the full cost of your stay. Then at check out, you will be charged for any add-ons such as room service.

Overall, we had a great time and I would recommend this resort to friend and family. The resort is right on the beach, with direct access to beach cycles, waverunners, cabanas, etc. The beach was pretty quiet most of the time, though we did stay during the week and before kids let out of school for the summer.

Room Tip: If you get a "Partial Ocean View" room, see if you can't get a room on the corner of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Shores, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My bride and I attended a family wedding event this past weekend at the Grand Plaza. A block of rooms had been set aside for family and friends of the bride and groom. We had secured one of the hotel’s “…Bay & City view guest rooms offer[ing] fabulous views of Tampa Bay and the city of St. Pete Beach.”

The room was about the size of a cruise ship junior suite with a balcony. The room was comfortable up to a point. The AC unit had an annoying clacking sound whenever it started up and then again when it shut down. Those two clacks were not obvious during the day, but in the quiet of the night they were disturbing. We found that heavy drinking at wedding parties did mostly eliminate the noise.

Heavy drinking also assisted in sleeping in our well lit room. Our room looked out over the parking lot, Gulf Boulevard, and eventually the bay. Since the hotel wanted to ensure the property could be seen really well at night all the way to Tampa, Orlando, and points beyond, the entire front of the building was awash in lights. The in-room shutters on the other hand could not be closed tightly enough to fully block that light. This made sleeping (without copious amounts of alcohol) difficult but getting to the bathroom in the middle of the night
was a breeze.

We dined at all three of the property’s restaurants. The food choices were neither inspired nor inspiring and nowhere near to what is offered on cruise ships which is really saying something. There was nothing on any menu that said, “Florida.” There are far better dining choices up and down Gulf Boulevard that are lower in price, yet higher in quality and variety.

Now for a few observations for those planning a wedding at the Grand: The one we attended occurred around five in the afternoon on the beach. The bride, groom, and wedding party were situated so we were all facing head on into the blazing sun. Those without hats, really dark sunglasses, and probably SPF 5000 were more than slightly uncomfortable. The positioning of the party and the sun should be taken into consideration when planning this glorious event.

After the ceremony, we all were directed to the penthouse ballroom facility. This was a very bright (key word here) and airy room where hors d'oeuvres and cocktails were served before dinner. The dinner tables had fantastic views of the Gulf of Mexico looking through huge windows…that were totally devoid of any moveable curtains or shades.

If you had your back to the windows you only had to contend with the heat and the sweat running down your back and into your butt-crack. Heaven help the poor bastards on the other side of the table. That intense afternoon sun was blinding…even with sunglasses.

One other annoyance occurred during our attempt at check-in around two in the afternoon. You can check-in anytime you want, but you won’t be getting a room until four. I asked the desk clerk for our discount. “What discount?” she asked. I pointed out that we were paying for 24 hours of room usage, but we are only getting 8 hours. I thought a 2/3 price deduction would be in order. She did not.

Were it not for the wedding, I doubt that the Grand would ever be a choice for us. We have had better experiences just up the beach at the Tradewinds…not so much in the restaurants, but the accommodations were better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I honeymooned in St. Pete Beach in May 2014 and chose The Grand Plaza Hotel as our place to stay. The hotel was nice and the staff was very freindly and always helpful. The bed in the room was very comfortable and you couldn't beat the view of the Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners restaurant on the roof is a nice atmosphere with an incredible view, though the menu could use some work and the food was average at best. The drinks and desserts were very good however. Great place for a nightcap if you're not into the Bongo's scene down on the beach.
The Palm Room was good for breakfast for a couple of mornings and Bongo's had good drinks and decent live music every night. I was concerned that the music may keep us up at night seeing as Bongo's stays open until well past midnight, but the rooms are well enough insulated that as soon as you close the balcony door, the music was a soft background muffle, and you can't hear it at all with the a/c running.
Minor disappointments with the property include the difficult parking situation (lots of weddings were being held and there is not enough parking to accomodate hotel guests and wedding guests together) and the extremely slow/unreliable wifi.
Overall, our stay was pleasant and relaxing and we would consider staying at The Grand Plaza Hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Gulf. You just can't go wrong with that decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our stay at the Grand Plaza was as usual excellent,from booking in at reception the staff were attentative to our room requests,the rooms are lovely and have been upgraded,the beds are very comfortable.
We have come to this hotel twice a year for the last 12 years and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We would recommend the beach view rooms,lovely to wake up to seeing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The front desk was accommodating and kind at check-in. Anything we needed during our stay, they had a concierge and if it was after hours, the staff knew where to send us, restaurants, museums, sites.
The rooms were large, comfortable and clean. The mattresses were comfortable, which is important. We had a balcony and a view. We could see the parasailing while having coffee outside.
They have a restaurant and outside a bar/restaurant area.
The lobby is clean and inviting. We had many guests there and we had room to sit and chat. It will be fun going back ourselves for a vacation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the midrange room, with a partial gulf view. Gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I have mixed feelings about this place. The location right on the Gulf is perfect. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. There is free wi-fi, HBO, parking, fitness room, beach towels, etc. Every room has a balcony and a view (ocean, bay, or combo). The decor has been updated (hotel was built in 1971), but there is still some evidence of its age (cracks in ceiling).
We arrived much earlier than our 4 pm check-in time, but got a room right away. Our room was facing north but had views of both the ocean and the intracoastal. Room had the usual amenities and nice TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot.
Hotel has a fitness center (no, we didn't even look at it), nice pool with good lounge chairs, the Spinners revolving restaurant on top floor (reservations a must; and it's $$$$), a nice breakfast buffet on main floor ($12) with inside or outside dining, and a nice outside Bongos bar/cafe with lots of tables and chairs (some in the sand and some on the boardwalk). Food in Bongo's is good but over-priced (It's a resort after all), and the drinks ($8+) have very little alcohol.
We had a problem with our mattress being very lumpy and complained the next morning. Almost immediately they replaced it with a nice new mattress.
Maid service was slow (mid-afternoon), and I did complain upon check-out that maid hadn't done any cleaning, just changed the linens. The service manager agreed and comped our second night.
If you sign up for the Grand Plaza Beach Club membership (free), you get 10% off your room, food, and drinks. We called the hotel directly to book our reservations and negotiated a slightly better rate than first quoted and got up-graded to top floor, nicer room.
This is a noisy place as it is next door to the Sirata Resort and Tradewinds, and the loud music and revelry goes on till 1:30am. (Yes, I took my ear plugs with me!)
The beach is wonderful here. Renting a "cabana" (lounge chairs and umbrella) is $25, and you'll need this if you plan to be on the beach for more than an hour.
Watch out for sting rays (April-October) and sea lice (miniscule larva of jelly fish). Shelling is not good here , just lots of penny-sized ones and broken pieces.
You can rent a paddle board, jet ski, and go para-sailing here. We chose to swim, eat, nap, eat, and drink and eat. A nice get-away for a couple of days and only an hour from our home. Next time, no thanks.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5250 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel is located directly on the beach and Gulf of Mexico. The Resort features a wide selection of luxurious guestrooms with furnished private balconies and all the best full service resort amenities for the leisure or business travelers. No hidden resort fees. At NO further charge you get FREE use of Fitness Center, FREE Unlimited Wireless Internet Access with your own computer, FREE Electronic Safe in your room, FREE Parking, FREE Coffee & Tea 24 Hours a Day, FREE Local Phone Calls. Featuring 3 Restaurants - Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro & Lounge, Bongos Beach Bar & Grill, and the Palm Room Restaurant. 2 Lounges, Heated Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel And Conference Center
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Grand Plaza Beachfront Hotel
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.