We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing long weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5250 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
ny
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing long weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights ( Friday through Monday) two weeks ago at the Grand Plaza.
Very relaxing. Nice pool. Beach is great, Gulf water just wonderful ( except there were two ray stings on our last beach day Sunday right in front of the property). Many good restaurants within walking distance, we ate next door at Crabby Charlies one night, also Snappers & Mad Fish other nights, all were very good. Property clean and well maintained. There were many weddings at the hotel on the beach ( 2 on Friday night, 2 on Saturday and one Sunday), property was busy but still low key & wonderful. Bongos Beach bar was good for an afternoon cocktail or a quick bit to eat. Each day in both the afternoon and then the evening, live music, nice touch. Highly recommend. We stayed 2nd floor, room had balcony with side view of beach & Gulf.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    490
    181
    111
    70
See reviews for
438
851
71
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Plaza for family wedding in September 2013. (25 of us to be precise) On arrival we were greeted by an older gentleman who insisted carrying a mountain of suitcases up to the Penthouse suite (which to say the least was rather awkward as he seemed to struggle).
The hotel was very outdated, reminded me of 'Whitney Houston in the Bodyguard Era'. There are signs everywhere informing guests that the hotel is currently being updated, however the place does need a lot of work!
Penthouse suite was nice, nothing to shout about, however the view was beautiful. Other rooms in the hotel where family stayed were quite small and didn't have the breathtaking views.
The pool outside is quite small considering the size of the hotel, however the beach makes up for all the hotel's faults. The beach is truly beautiful and the sea was lovely to splash around in. There are quite a few Manta Rays that brush past you and they are quite nosy, lots of fish, however all of which are harmless!
Great beach front for a wedding purely for the photographs.
Jet Skis are available, however when about to hire one; we were informed that we would need to be born before 1987 to be able to operate one, or we would need a special licence. He suggested that we sit and take an exam involving 70 odd questions regarding Jet Ski safety for $3! To be honest I would rather have gone on the Banana Boat which seemed much more straight forward!
To conclude, hotel was rather disappointing, the only reason this hotel is on the map is purely because of its location on the beach.. P.s My stay was only for 2 nights.. thank God!

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite has the best views (obviously) Suite Room was second best, good views, large space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Oh where to begin. My husband and I booked this hotel for our wedding weekend. We got married off site. We arrived at noon on Saturday and the desk clerk told us the room wasn't ready yet. No big deal. But said it would be closer to 4 p.m. Not ok as we were getting married at 5:15! The clerk showed no concern and just said she will call when the room is ready. Finally they called us and we asked for a bell hop cart. The bell hop was on the phone and continued to carry on a personal phone call for another minute before telling us they had no carts available. So the desk clerk hands us our room key, doesn't say the room number, where to go, where the elevators are etc. Customer service was not a priority.
We get up to our third floor room and it absolutely stinks like fresh paint. We were partially facing the gulf but the music from Bongos was absolutely ridiculous. We never got a break from the loud music downstairs.
From there we went outside to check out the property. We noticed several weddings going on, tons of elevator traffic and areas roped off for the weddings. There was garbage and cigarette butts all over the beach. I walked by an empty water bottle laying in the sand right by the pool several times as did the very own hotel staff and nobody picked it up!! I wanted to see how long a hotel that was setting up for a wedding would allow garbage to sit on the ground. So glad we didn't opt to have our wedding there.
The most disappointing aspect of our stay was when we went to Bongos for dinner and it was set up for a private party. We have dined there previously and enjoyed a dance on the dance floor but it was blocked off from one of the SIX weddings that occurred in 48 hours. If they were at all interested in customer service they would notify their guests of all the weddings. We never would have stayed there knowing how chaotic it was. My parents attempted to send champagne and strawberries to our room as a congratulations. After faxing over their credit card authorization and dealing again with poor customer service, we never received it!! The next night the hotel sent us a bottle of champagne on the house. We'll thanks...but it was no longer our wedding night and where are the chocolate covered strawberries?
I'd also like to add the $25 to rent beach chairs is outrageous. What are we paying for when we book the room?? I think using your beach should be inclusive of that price. I compare that outrageous charge to airlines charging for luggage.
The only positive was our dining experience at Spinners. The food was delicious, large portions and good service. We got lucky to get a table considering they don't take reservations.
I will never stay here again. The noise, garbage, wedding factory, poor customer service is not what I desire on a vacation. Plenty of other hotels to choose from down the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After researching all of the properties listed here and reading the reviews on trip advisor, my husband and I decided to book a King room here at Grand Plaza for two nights. The price was right (not an oceanfront view) and no extra resort fees or parking fees to increase the price of our stay. The Wi-Fi service was also included and free HBO if you really had to watch TV on the new flat screen . The room was clean with nice new king mattress, sheets and pillows. There was so much to do just right here, too. We rented a beach cabana for $25/day and two jet ski for $40/ea. The weather was perfect despite a threat from tropical storm offshore trying to develop into hurricane. This made for the most beautiful sunset viewing at Bongos outdoor beach bar and grill each night. Try the coconut chicken skewers (yumm!) as an appetizer with any mixed drink on the menu. We tried several and each one was as good as the last. Good live music to listen too as the sun goes down and into the night. Overall a great stay, with no complaint

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
in August 2013 it was my 60th and my Husbands 65th birthdays so we thought we would go somewhere special. The Hotel has a revolving restaurant and the views are spectacular. The food was very good .We stayed there for 14 nights our room was a seaview room and we loved it,but the beach bar below us could get very loud at times. We had glorious weather through the day (beach out of this world all white)but we had Thunder Storms every night (nothing like our storms at all) the lightening used to light all the sky up, absolutley brill.There were Turtles Nest on the Beach, and Stingrays swimming past us in the sea mind blowing.Would we go back yes but in a few years time because there is a big old world out there and there is still plenty places we need to go.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel are quieter,if you like listening to music and singing as you drift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and had a lovely time. Free parking and wifi, friendly staff, pool area and easy beach access make it a great location. We had a fourth floor room on the side with views of beach and bay. Lovely white shutters in the rooms which are otherwise a little dated in decor, but clean and spacious. Went to Spinners revolving restaurant on twelfth floor for a drink and to see the view, but preferred Bongos beach bar for atmosphere. Went there three times on the trip, highly recommended. Hotel also close to a IHOP and many other restaurants, included Snappers which did great seafood.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the stay. Service was excellent and staff very friendly. Parking spaces in front very narrow and hard to get into or out of a full size car. The revolving resturant was nice and food was very good with moderate pricing. Room was nice with ours having beach view.

All in all I give it 4 STARS?


Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5250 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel is located directly on the beach and Gulf of Mexico. The Resort features a wide selection of luxurious guestrooms with furnished private balconies and all the best full service resort amenities for the leisure or business travelers. No hidden resort fees. At NO further charge you get FREE use of Fitness Center, FREE Unlimited Wireless Internet Access with your own computer, FREE Electronic Safe in your room, FREE Parking, FREE Coffee & Tea 24 Hours a Day, FREE Local Phone Calls. Featuring 3 Restaurants - Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro & Lounge, Bongos Beach Bar & Grill, and the Palm Room Restaurant. 2 Lounges, Heated Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Splendia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel And Conference Center
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Grand Plaza Beachfront Hotel
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.