We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very fun stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5250 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very fun stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently and were very happy with it. The location is great and very close to everything you might need. I will say this is a "beach hotel"...not a 5 star resort. Some of the decor in the lobby is a little dated and worn but definitely did not effect our stay at all. This will be the only real negative I have about this hotel, we got to the hotel slightly before check-in, about 3:45 pm and were hoping they would let us have our room a little early but they told us we would have to come back as they had no rooms ready. The employee that helped us was not very attentive and was talking to other employees while "checking us in." Other than this experience we had no other issues. The lobby includes a scenic elevator to the "Spinners" restaurant and you get a fantastic view of St. Pete beach area while riding up. We ate at "Spinners" the first night there and it was very good(I highly recommend the clam chowder soup if it's available.) It was a great atmosphere and such a cool experience. The floor revolves 360 degrees(very slowly, you will barely notice) and you get a beautiful view of the sunset and beach.

We stayed in the standard Bay View room and it was not a disappointment. The view of the ocean was fantastic, didn't even need the beach view room. The room was basic but clean and cute. It included a desk, mini fridge, TV, wall bed and private balcony. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and everything was very clean. I have a small complaint on the towels...they were very, very rough to the point of irritating our skin, so maybe bring your own if you are very picky. We did Bongos beach bar and found it to be a just average beach bar. It seemed slightly small to me compared to other beach bars we have been to in the area but still a good atmosphere. I had a pina colada that was not good, but the crab cake appetizer was great.

We did the breakfast buffet in the downstairs hotel restaurant and it was your standard hotel breakfast eggs, bacon, pancakes, etc. but very affordable $9.95 person I believe. Overall, this hotel delivered much more than our expectations. The restaurants were good, beach was beautiful and room was comfortable and quiet. I will say their customer service could have been a bit better. But this hotel is definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    494
    183
    113
    70
See reviews for
442
857
71
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
valrico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times. I tried another hotel when I couldn't get a room here. BIG MISTAKE!! . The staff are very friendly and the rooms are always clean. Great beach access, pool and views from the room. Bongos is great too. I will be going back to this hotel everytime I go to Saint Pete!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side (5th floor or higher) have great views of the gulf and sunrises. I always s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kasey526
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed from 7/9-7/11 and were very pleased with the property and staff. The hotel is older but don't let the view of it from the street discourage you. They are in the process of painting and sprucing it up. The rooms are large and well appointed. We were upgraded from a bay/city view to a partial ocean view and really enjoyed the balcony. The bathroom in the guest room could be larger but that was the only negative on the accomodations. The staff was solicitous and friendly from the start, especially Sharon at the front desk and Mike the bellman.

The pool area was large and the beach beautiful and clean. We did not dine at Spinners or The Palms but did eat a Bongo's a couple of times. The Cuban sandwich was fantastic! The tables are actually on the sand, so laid back and casual.

All in all it was great. We would definately come back.

Room Tip: I would definately go for an ocean view or at least partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed from 7/4-7/9 and had a blast! From the time we got there til we left it was awesome. Spinners and Bongos was a delight from the food, drinks and employees! Fell in love with Andrea the manager of Spinners. After work she even enjoyed a drink with us! The guys at Bongos were funny and fast! Basilio was especially a hoot! We loved our view, the room was fine. Not a lot of kids and there was five weddings while we were there and you would have never noticed. There was live music every night and just so much to do and take in. Everyone we met was so friendly. Can't wait to go back. Do not leave anything of value out....our made scooped the change on the night stand. Other than that it was so worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Grand Plaza for 3 nights, and we loved it. The hospitality was great, and the service was wonderful! We visited the revolving restaurant the first night we got in. The view was AMAZING! I had the grouper with the mashed potatoes and asparagus, and I would eat it again.

We almost did an activity on the beach like jet ski, parasail, or even this cool new jetpack apparatus called the JetLev. But we thought twice and ended up just relaxing. I would recommend going to one of the Tampa Bay Rays games. The games are very laid back. No heckling fans. No worry about the weather because they play in a dome.

The Grand Plaza was a place where we could just relax and no one would bother us unless we needed room service.
The room service was also very exceptional. The room service manager made sure that everything they could do was done. I dropped one plate of food on the floor, and despite their policy the manager allowed the kitchen to make us another plate. Things like that put this place over the top and very much worth the stay!

Room Tip: Call ahead for a beachside view room at least 2-3 weeks in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place right on beautiful St. Pete Beach. We stayed three days during the July 4th holiday and everything was great. The hotel definitely stands out as it stands ten stories on the beach. Nearly every room has a great view. We were in one of the penthouse suites and was amazed of the size but even better was the view. We were able to see fireworks all the way from Clearwater Beach and Treasure Island right from the comfort of our room. The hotel has three restaurants that are excellent, with one being the famous revolving Spinners. Bongos is right on the beach and offers a great beach bar atmosphere with good food. Every single hotel staff member was very friendly and attentive, and the hotel should be commended for that. Although the hotel doesn't have all the activities that the neighboring hotels may have, it makes up in great service with great rooms.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Chose a room with a "partial beachfront" and you got a glorious long view of the beach. Very clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Room was big enough, though not a suite, but has small couch in addition to King Sized bed, so plenty of room to move around. Plus, lovely balcony.
Good deal for the money. Would return.
Only complaint is about gym equipment -- either broken altogether or in poor condition.
Food good at beachfront restaurant, Bongos, but not very good at all at the revolving rooftop restaurant. It is worth it anyway, especially at sunset, just for the view, but recommend just drinks and apps...get your dinner elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5250 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel is located directly on the beach and Gulf of Mexico. The Resort features a wide selection of luxurious guestrooms with furnished private balconies and all the best full service resort amenities for the leisure or business travelers. No hidden resort fees. At NO further charge you get FREE use of Fitness Center, FREE Unlimited Wireless Internet Access with your own computer, FREE Electronic Safe in your room, FREE Parking, FREE Coffee & Tea 24 Hours a Day, FREE Local Phone Calls. Featuring 3 Restaurants - Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro & Lounge, Bongos Beach Bar & Grill, and the Palm Room Restaurant. 2 Lounges, Heated Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel And Conference Center
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Grand Plaza Beachfront Hotel
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.