We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in Balcony” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5250 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 32 hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Ashland, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed in Balcony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Even though they advertise "Accommodations offer city, partial ocean, or pool views.", this is not exactly true (plus, when I looked at this hotel on line and again in their lobby when printing my boarding passes, the web said all rooms have gulf view). The room we had was on the second floor. We had no view. Our balcony had a +5' concrete wall. I mentioned this when we checked out. He said he would check this out immediately. I have to admit I was disappointed w/our view. After asking housekeeping to clean three different areas, the remaining stay was spotless and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a gulf view, if that is what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    864
    450
    165
    110
    68
See reviews for
408
800
66
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We will stay there again, they gave us the wrong when we checked in they gave us partial ocean view when we booked full ocean view, but they switched us the next day. Only other complain is parking so many people come for the resturant and the actual guests have to find a place to park they should have a different place for non guests to park. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel back over 25 years ago and again this weekend. It is still great. Wonderful outside bar area to sit and listen to music while you watch the sun set.. everyone should go to Bongo's at least for the sunset!

Room Tip: Nice breakfast buffet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is awful. Since the hotel is round, the rooms are pie shaped. We had a suite on the 9th floor. We had a ocean suite. This consisted of two odd shaped rooms that did not have central air and had a lot of beds. We were unable to open the blinds (shutters) because the ceiling was lower than the top of the shutters. According to the front desk, this is what they intended. The air-conditioning barely worked and the music at the bar plays well into the night. The hotel is not cheap and it is awful. There are a lot of smokers so the hotel smells like smoke. There is not enough seating at the pool. There is no fresh cream or milk for the coffee. I could not wait to leave and move to the Don Cesar Loews.

Get an ocean room. The view is the only positive attribute of the hotel...even is you cannot open the shutters.

Room Tip: an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We tried to book a table for 10people in spinners for a wedding dinner at 8pm as we were intending to stay at the hotel. Impossible. After an email from the sales manger with Banquet menus for over 50 people, we finally got a reply from the Assistant GM stating "The only time of the day that we could make an exemption will be at 11:00-11:30 am lunch time. We do thank you for your interest in dinning with us, let me know if the earlier time will be possible for you."
So now we are not staying in the Grand Plaza or having dinner there...
Very helpful indeed. How can we have a wedding Dinner at 11am?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here from March 7-11 and were very pleased. We are well traveled so we have been many resorts, hotels and motels. This resort is very clean, staff is friendly and beach is beautiful!! it is an older hotel but they keep it clean and updated as it needs to be. I have stayed at the Don Cesar down the road several times and this hotel is no older than the Don. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet on the first 2 days and the 3rd morning we opted for room service. It was very reasonable and the service was very quick. We ate at Spinners Saturday night and it was FABULOUS! Definitely a must if you stay here. HINT - in order to see the sunset while you are eating, get to the restaurant about 5:30 (6:30 daylight savings time), because there are no reservations and sunset is the most popular time and fills up fast. We both had great steaks and service. Bongos beach bar is awesome...you can sit at the bar or a table or even a table in the sand to put your feet in! Service is great, food is to you quick (15 min or so) and there are tons of drink options. great music at the bar every day & night. Excellent atmosphere, and best beach bar on St Pete. Parking here is a bit tricky, but there is a garage under the main parking lot in front that is probably best to park in when its hot in Florida. There were several beach weddings while we were there and we got to watch most of them while lounging at the pool. The nice thing about this resort is there are NO resort fees, no parking charges and they do provide free wireless internet in rooms, although I will say when the hotel is full on the weekends, the service is spotty, but how do you complain if its free? We brought our mobile hot spot as a backup just in case. One side note - the resort can be a bit noisy in the evenings with the music from the Sirata next door and the outside bar music or band playing if your room is on the North side of the hotel, or the South side may get noisy from Bongos music as well. The floors in rooms and hallway are all ceramic tile so you can hear everything from the hallways. Late at night (especially with wedding parties on site) people tend to let their doors slam shut and I got woke up at least twice from it, but it wasn't the end of the world. I would advise this hotel to put some sort of contraption on the room doors so they don't slam shut so loudly. This would help for the noise issue a bit. Get a room with an ocean view or ocean front, as the view is spectacular...well worth the extra few bucks! The balconies are a good size with a nice table and two chairs to relax on. Beds were in good shape and pretty comfortable. Bathrooms are small, but again, that is not a deal breaker as we weren't in our room much. I would recommend staying here, unless you are very picky about "moderness" of rooms you stay in. They need a bit of updating but not bad. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor water view room or water front room...the view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The big perk of this hotel is the location--it is literally right on the beach, with a cute beach bar (Bongos) where you can eat with your feet in the sand. There were neither a lot of families nor spring breakers there during our visit, so we had a relatively quiet stay (as we were hoping for).

That said, it was also both more outdated and 'cheesier' than we wanted; the room was indeed no frills, the bathroom really small (as in there wasn't enough room for our toiletries on the vanity), and it took FOREVER to get an elevator up or down. The breakfast buffet was just a step up from what you get at many complimentary breakfasts at your run of the mill Holiday Inn type hotels (here, $9.95/pp), and the beautiful cabanas pictured on the website had to be rented for $20/day. We also had an issue with housekeeping; they didn't come at all one day, and then we had to ask 3 times (and wait 4 hours) for new towels and extra coffee.

It wasn't a bad hotel (at all) but we were expecting something that felt, well, "grand"--and this didn't quite do it for us...and for the price, we expected more.

Some tips:
-We stayed in room 600, a partial ocean view on the north side. It was quiet and had a great view from the bed or the balcony. It was also immediately in front of the elevator, but we didn't have a problem with noise.
-The coconut chicken fingers at Bongo's are divine!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 600, a partial ocean view on the north side. It was quiet and had a great view fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5250 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel is located directly on the beach and Gulf of Mexico. The Resort features a wide selection of luxurious guestrooms with furnished private balconies and all the best full service resort amenities for the leisure or business travelers. No hidden resort fees. At NO further charge you get FREE use of Fitness Center, FREE Unlimited Wireless Internet Access with your own computer, FREE Electronic Safe in your room, FREE Parking, FREE Coffee & Tea 24 Hours a Day, FREE Local Phone Calls. Featuring 3 Restaurants - Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro & Lounge, Bongos Beach Bar & Grill, and the Palm Room Restaurant. 2 Lounges, Heated Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel And Conference Center
Grand Plaza Beachfront Hotel
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.