We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Fish

Mad Fish
5200 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
+1 727-360-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 123 Restaurants in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Fusion, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newport, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We ate here twice - which is rare for us since we like to try a variety of places. It is inside of an old silver diner and didn't look like a hit. We were wrong on all counts. The service was great and all of the servers treated us as if they had known us personally. The food was creative and outstanding. The onion rings dusted in powdered sugar were terrific as was the "Drunken Shrimp" - both appetizers. My wife got a filet mignon the first night - it was perfectly done and very tasty, and I got a seafood platter that was a special - seafood was fresh and tasty, outstanding and filled me up (which is sometimes hard to do - I'm fat and love to eat). The next night, my wife got a grouper sandwich which was fresh, perfectly done and huge and tasty, and I got the Grouper & Shrimp Sauté which was outstanding. This restaurant was right next door to our hotel (Grand Plaza Beach - a separate review), and we wish we would have tried it sooner. I highly-recommend the Madfish as clearly the best seafood I have had anywhere.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    123
    54
    30
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Possibly the best seafood we have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was absolutely shocked that this restaurant was not busier on a Tuesday evening. It is a very unique building and we probably would not have chosen it if it hadn't been so well reviewed. I cannot say enough good things about the food AND the service. We dined here while on vacation and the food was the absolute best we had all week. The server was very helpful and knowledgable. The grouper special was quite possibly the best fish I've ever had. The green goddess dressing was most assuredly the best any of us had ever tasted. The appetizers arrived promptly and our drinks were always full. Everyone enjoyed their entree. We wanted to try the key lime pie but were all so full that we could not order dessert! The chef was kind enough to send out mini servings of the key lime pie so we could try it and of course it was delicious! I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant. We wanted to return during the week but it did not work out. We will most definitely return the next time we are in the area! Don't miss this place!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't let the silver outside walls deter you... it's good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

On our second trip to St. Pete Beach we found this to be a restaurant we would go back to anytime. The Drunken Shrimp appetizer is great, we followed with scallops and a fresh fish it was all really good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superior Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Seafood is our favorite and based on suggestions from a couple of locals, my wife and I chose to give Mad Fish a shot. The place has the appearance of a diner and is fairly casual. However, the dining experience is a bit more upscale. The salads, bread with olive spread, and specials were top-notch. I had the mango grilled grouper and my wife had the Neptune Platter (grilled lobster, scallops, and shrimp). Both were good sized portions with nice presentations, that tasted even better than they looked. We topped it off with a yummy chocolate lava cake and called the meal a winner. Definitely worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service and delicious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you are at the beach this place is a must go to. Absolutely wonderful. Try the wasabi egg roll, unique combination. Get there early to save $.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Fish also viewed

 

Been to Mad Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.