We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Fish

Mad Fish
5200 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706-2428
727-360-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We are four locals who dined here for the first time last night. Rather small, but nicely refurbished diner with more upscale interior than the diners of the 50's - some upholstered booths plus nice dark wood tables and dimmed lighting. They also have a couple of nice aquariums. We got two appetizers - the Drunken Island Shrimp and the Ahi Poke - both were ample and delicious and the presentation, especially of the Ahi, was very impressive. The drunken shrimp came with two large pieces of toasted cuban bread which was wonderful when used to soak up the delicious sauce. Unbeknownst to us, we were there for early bird time (currently ends at 6:30 pm), so we ordered from that menu as it had quite a few options to choose from with a variety that includes chicken, beef and seafood dishes. Our meals included the fried shrimp, the shrimp scampi, the chicken marsala and a blackened chicken dish (don't recall exact name) in a cream sauce; the fried shrimp came with french fries, the other three entree's came with angel hair pasta. The entree's also came with a delicious house salad of greens sprinkled with nice amounts of dried cranberries and crumbled blue cheese and a nice dressing drizzled over it. The quantities were all very ample, something not expected for the cheaper early bird prices, and we all four agreed that everything was delicious! Our server, Laura, was new to this restaurant (came from another local restaurant) and did a terrific job and was very pleasant. We did not have dessert as we were too full! In summery, setting was very nice, service was great, food was great and we all look forward to going back soon, whether or not it is "early bird" time, as we felt the quality of the food was well worth the price (even the regular menu prices)! As an aside, the menu on their Website does not appear to be current nor is the early bird menu posted. Also it states they are open for breakfast and lunch but I believe they are now only open for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    103
    48
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Seafood dinners at the Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had passed Mad Fish several times during the week and noticed the parking lot was always busy at dinner, so we stopped in one evening around 8pm and there was a table available. It is not a large restaurant, so reservations would be advisable, especially for a dinner at prime time. We were greeted and seated promptly and our server was excellent with assisting with the menu. They have beer and wine available and a 6-8 seat bar, if you are waiting for a table. We chose the Twin lobster tails and Gulf Grouper Tomato Fondue for our entrees. The grouper was the best I have ever had and you could tell it was very fresh. The lobster tails were a nice size and very tasty. The dinners were served with bread and a salad with green goddess dressing, which was excellent. We ended dinner with a slice of apple pie, with vanilla ice cream, roasted pecans and caramel sauce drizzled over the warm pie. An overall excellent meal and a restaurant we will definitely return to on our next visit to the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We made reservations for dinner at Mad Fish at the advice of an employee at the hotel where we were staying. The service, appetizers and dinner entrees were excellent. We had a wonderful experience and will definitely return on next trip to St Pete. Wonderful experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Seafood at Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Ate at Mad Fish Dinner last year and it was just as good this year. Our party of 3 adults had a variety of food. Steak, scallops wrapped in bacon and shrimp with garlic. Each dish was tasty and filling. The décor is a old 50's style silver diner outside. When you come in their is a fish tank above the bar with beautiful colorful tropical fish. The good thing about this diner is it is open late on some nights till 11pm. Call and double check the time before you go but it is a great late night meal if your out on the beach and want to have some wine, cocktails and food later in the evening to end your perfect day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mad Fish best seafood on St. Pete Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

food was excellent, quirky setting in a diner but don't let that discourage you from eating here. Well worth the price.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Fish also viewed

 

Been to Mad Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.