We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snappers once, Mad Fish twice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Fish

Mad Fish
5200 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706-2428
727-360-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Colorado Springs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Snappers once, Mad Fish twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

So excited to be at the beach for a week. Checked Tripadvisor and found the top 5 restaurants we wanted to visit. Snappers was our first choice and it was truly amazing. All of it! The curb appeal, the mood, the decor, the vibe was right on! Dara was our server and she was fabulous, friendly but not too much. Just real. She was well versed on the menu and gave us the short and sweet of it all. We both got the Neptune Platter and the lobster tail and bacon wrapped shrimp, scallops, and salad were the best we have ever had. We took 8 major trips last year and this seafood couldn't be beat. OHHH! but wait! The next night we went to 12000 Chop House, same owner, and the same executive chef overseas the menu here as well as Snappers. Had the Chop Chop salad with shrimp and scallops. Great portions and could be split by a couple. Beautiful ingredients, fresh and well presented in beautiful plate. Well done!
Next night...Mad Fish. A cute old diner turned elegant dinner experience. All interiors in these 3 restaurants are top notch. Roz was our server and she is now a friend. WE loved her friendly manner an attention to detail. I had a salmon dish with maple glaze that was superb. My partner had the pasta white sauce with shrimp and scallops. Fabulous. The bread was again well done and served hot and buttery. Love what is happening with cuisine at these top 3 places. A must for the seafood lover...that enjoys a true dining experience! If visiting on the weekend and Snappers is busy just jump down the street to Mad Fish...you will not be disappointed. Will be back again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    103
    48
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hurst, Texas
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Appearances Can Be Deceiving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

When you drive by and see the shiny aluminum exterior of a 60's style diner, don't be fooled by the exterior, as appearances can be and are deceiving. This is a very nice restaurant that serves high quality, fresh made food with a lot of variety and some unique signature dishes (and it has a kid's menu, too). My wife and I went there last week after being somewhat intrigued enough by the outside to stop by Trip Advisor to double check before going. By the way, on their front door is a 2012 Award sticker from Trip Advisor, so I knew we were in for a treat.
My wife had the mussels and their [signature] dinner salad, both of which were just delightful. I had a Blackened Grouper sandwich, which was loaded with flavor and cooked to perfection. Just for fun we tried their [signature] Deep Fried Snickers Bar for dessert and were blown away by how wonderful it all tasted. Rest assured we'll be back again real soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, IN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“prepare for an experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had seen this restaurant featured on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives. The food was different than any other type I've tasted. Very unsure as to what to order so took the advice of another diner...smoked mullet( I have NO idea what a mullet is). We ordered the lunch portion that includes only the fish, lettuce, tomato, and onion, and crackers. The server will show you how to pull out the backbone and where to watch out for other bones. Fish was excellent! We also ordered their 'fish spread' which seems to be a local favorite. It is cash only, and closed on Tuesday. They close at 7:30, which we found early, so you need to plan accordingly.
Really an institution of St Petersburg.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WOW, soooo good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Now, first....yes it is a little pricey but man oh man it is so worth it! I loved my twin lobster tails and my husband's snapper we fabulous! We did start off with their caprese tower and shrimp...both spectacular! Nick our waiter was so much fun! If we could.... We would spend our remaining nights exploring the rest of the menu at MadFish! I was not surprised when we heard the same owner also owned Snappers...our other favorite eatery on St Pete Beach!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ULVERSTON
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great little Restuarant many years ago we visited here and it was a little diner. When we went looking for it we found it had changed into an evening dinner spot. The fillet mignon was excellent and my husband scallops and shrimp was also excellent the dessert of apple cake and ice cream was split between us and we had a free salad to start. It was really reasonable and unlike many of the American restaraunts they did not rush you it was very relaxed,cannot fault it in any way. Staff were superb.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Fish also viewed

 

Been to Mad Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.