We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor reception” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Fish

Mad Fish
5200 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706-2428
727-360-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“poor reception”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We heard some good things about this place, but struggled to find them on our visit. Our arrival was met with the owner very unwelcoming and a poor attitude. Not sure he liked Brits? The waitress was pleasant enough but forgot the order, having not written it down. The food was average, will not be revisiting.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    103
    48
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lutz,Fl
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't be Fooled By The Exterior!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

When we pulled up we thought we had the wrong place! From the outside it resembles an old-timey diner but inside it's a rather casual upscale kind of place. It was a pleasant surprise to find that it had both great seafood and super tender prime rib.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique setting, unbelievable food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A pretty limited menu, but everything they served us was a 10. My friend had the grouper. I had seared tuna. Both dishes were presented beautifully and tasted fabulous. I would go back in a second.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very small restaurant, not comfortable, we had our friend who is 6ft 6 with us and its just so tight in there it's hard for anyone much less someone like him to sit down. Food was expensive and just okay. I do not recommend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Asiago Pasta!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Four of us went to MadFish on St. Pete Beach from our conference, and we had to be back at the conference within about 75 minutes. Our meal was served very quickly and the waitress had no problem working up four separate checks, keeping them all accurate. Asiago Pasta with chicken and the house Chardonnay made a terrific meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Fish also viewed

 

Been to Mad Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.