We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asiago Pasta!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Fish

Mad Fish
5200 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
+1 727-360-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Fusion, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Asiago Pasta!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Four of us went to MadFish on St. Pete Beach from our conference, and we had to be back at the conference within about 75 minutes. Our meal was served very quickly and the waitress had no problem working up four separate checks, keeping them all accurate. Asiago Pasta with chicken and the house Chardonnay made a terrific meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    122
    54
    30
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Agree with most reviews just off a 5 come on mad fish a little push on the rushing & noting the comments & the five will be ther”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The food & choice is great just needs to stop the feeling you get of being rushed need to generate a little more connection with the clients. apart from this they would be a 5 all round

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Looks Different... But Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

MadFish was just off St Pete beach. We got there just at opening so there were only 5-6 people there at the time. But it shortly began to fill. The restaurant is in a replica diner but it is surprisingly roomy inside and very comfortable. My wife and I had grilled grouper and a shrimp/scallop item. Both of them were great, and there was a lot of food on each choice. For dessert we had an apple pie with pecans and brown sugar topping with ice cream. It's not necessarily the cheapest place to go, but it certainly was great food. Parking was easy and free, and you can take a free walk on the public beach just a few feet away.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had dinner at MadFish last night and the food was delicious. I had angle hair pasta with asiago cheese and shrimp and my husband had the group with fish cake. Both dishes were very good and the portion was just right. We also had their cold seafood plate, which included shrimp, mussels, snow crab, and oysters. It was served with a frozen seafood cocktail and vinegar with shallots and black pepper. The service was fast and our server was very friendly. MadFish used to be a diner many years ago and the owners transformed it into a fine dining establishment. It is definitely a must eat at when you are visiting St. Pete Beach.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Small cozy restaurant with a unique menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

It doesnt look like much from the outside but give it a try; we were pleasantly surprised. We went on a Sunday evening, originally for appetizers but ended up staying for dinner. No draft beer or liquor with minimal selection of bottled beer with average wine list. We had the oysters Rockefeller with a wasabi mashed potato egg roll, which convinced us to try an entree. We split a pasta dish and there is a split fee of $6.50, but this is more than worth it as there are larger portions and salads. We took an additional portion home for later. Fresh cooked bread with olive tampenade was fantastic. Their house salads with blue cheese and Green Goddess dressing were surprisingly good. Would recommend trying dinner to friends.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Fish also viewed

 

Been to Mad Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.