We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Tammy Review” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Parrot

The Blue Parrot
85 Corey Circle, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
727-368-9619
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 123 Restaurants in St. Pete Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tourist Tammy Review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Location wasn't bad close to the water. Food less than average - all fried food options. Chairs all mismatched. Although the Wednesday night band wasn't bad and people danced all night. Drinks were cheap. Far from one of my favorite spots in this area.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    14
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winona, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We came from Minnesota last year and stumbled across this place, best pulled pork sandwiches! This year we ate there again, this time the cod sandwiches and it was by far the BEST cod we have ever had!! The bartender works his butt off and is still friendly and happy to see the customers:) will be back again next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slinger, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Imagine a beach bar/restaurant with a nice varied menu and an 18 piece orchestra. The food was good and music was unbelievable! We ate, drank, danced and visited. What more can you ask for when out with friends. This was a great experience, so we went a second time during our stay in the area. So much fun and nice people frequent this place.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Better than the reviews!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 via mobile

So, we read the reviews and decided (in spite of them) to try the Blue Parrot on a Monday night when the "big jazz band" was present. We are "snowbirds", but we brought the average age down considerably! The post 70 yr. crowd was present and they thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment. So did we!

First of all, contrary to earlier reviews, there is no $12 cover charge! There is a $12 per person minimum charge at the tables if you want to sit down. It is easy to spend that amount in food and drink. But if you do not mind standing at a bar or perching on a bar stool, there is no entrance fee. Come early, because the place fills up by 7 pm.

The food generally did not get food reviews online, but our experience was delightful. On the recommendation of the server, we ordered fish (cod) and chips which were excellent. Not overcooked and very tasty. We have seldom had better. Other dishes looked good, but we did not try them.

Our only concern for the evening was the lack of overall cleanliness in the establishment. The floors looked dirty, the tables were not clean and a peak into the kitchen did not give us a better impression. This place is old and needs a clean up. That said, we really enjoyed our evening there. The server was friendly and helpful, food arrived on a timely basis, and the entertainment was excellent. Food prices were reasonable for a pub type eatery.

So, take what you will from our review. I am sure that some folks have had less impressive results. But on the basis of our own experiences, it was a great evening. We will return, hoping that a clean up has happened in the interim.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty dining”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

My sister and i decided to try this restaurant on a whim. This restaurant was so disgustingly dirty when I looked at the floor under our table I told my sister I wouldn't eat food from this place. If it's this dirty out in the dining area I can't imagine what the kitchen is like.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Parrot also viewed

St. Pete Beach, FL
St. Pete Beach, FL
 

Been to The Blue Parrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Parrot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.