We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Porch Cafe

Sea Porch Cafe
3400 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
(727) 360-1881
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sea Porch Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
sueq575
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The frozen key lime dessert was heaven! The Puerto Rican tapas were delcious too. I don't recommend the pizzas -- was about Little Caesars quality.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    43
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
1,058 helpful votes 1,058 helpful votes
“Pricey, Pushy, Pretentious”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Sea Porch is located on the lower level of the inimitable Don Carlos hotel, pink, grandiose, in all its glory. Parking was unnervingly across the street in a paid lot – validated by the restaurant we later learned. There was a long delay between our arrival and welcome by our server. After I inquired, it was clear there had been a mix-up, and nobody knew who should serve us. The waitress who finally took our order showed impatience when we asked clarifying questions on the dishes. She didn’t have the time to wait a couple minutes for us even though we had just waited 20 minutes for her. Her demeanor was downright condescending when we dared ask about the size of the Jerk Chicken Quesadilla. “It’s an appetizer just like every other place that serves one”, she announced as if we were imbeciles, when in fact it was she who was spewing misinformation. Their quesadilla was, just like others we’ve eaten, plenty for our son’s main course.

Overall, my Orange Habañero BBQ Gulf Fish (mahi with pineapple salsa) was an eclectic combination of textures and tastes that ultimately failed to impress, especially at $27. The $10 Farmer salad was alright though, and the infamous quesadilla was decent but nothing special. During the dinner, a strong storm developed and blew sand over our food. We moved ourselves inside, but the waitress never offered to help out with the compromised meal. In fact, it took two requests to get our bill and validated parking ticket, and both were preceded by her trying to sell us desert as if we had been forgotten. Finally, after we tendered a Restaurant.com voucher, she took the liberty of giving herself an 18% tip without our consent. It was an obnoxious gesture from a waitress who was at best having an off day, at worse dealing with an attitude problem.

Prices were high, environment was fake. Everything felt snooty. Food wasn’t worth writing home about. Not recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“So much better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Maybe it is because I had low expectations but my wife and I had a most delightful meal. She had Red Snapper that was great I had short ribs that were good. Great assortment of really good bread and marvelous key line dessert. Our service was outstanding. This is not the fine restaurant in the hotel more the coffee shop so expectations were not high but were exceeded in every way. Great presentation and outstanding food. Try it you will like it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Food and Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Food was very good, priced higher than we prefer however, we had a coupon so it made it a better value. We had breakfast with a beautiful gulf view!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awful! Tourist rip off trap.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We came here for my birthday celebration. I ordered the chicken salad with asparagus. It was served with green beans, not asparagus! One of my sister-in-laws orderd the open faced steak sandwich as did my husband. The meat that arrived was a cut of brisket on a Cuban bread loaf, maybe it had been marinated for 15 minutes in soy sauce. It was tough. My other sister-in-law ordered a pizza. It was a Cisco pizza crust, maybe either Cheney or Cisco sauce. Some cheap cheese was on top. No flavor, just mass produced food. The bad news was the bill! We had no wine, beer or alcohol, just iced teas. The bill was $108 prior to tip. Jason the server was ok so we left 20%. So thats $130 or $32.50 per person for a lousey lunch! This is a tourist rip off joint! There are so many better places on the beach to celebrate a b'day. Sorry we picked this one!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Porch Cafe also viewed

 
Saint Pete Beach, FL
 

Been to Sea Porch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Porch Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.