We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect luxury, then you shouldn't be disappointed...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blind Pass Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blind Pass Resort to your Saves list
Blind Pass Resort
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7901 Blind Pass Road, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Don't expect luxury, then you shouldn't be disappointed...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We searched for a last minute place to stay for Memorial Day weekend. Any place right on the beach wanted a 3-night minimum and insanely high daily rates. Not to mention, everything was booked. I found the Blind Pass Resort through a Craigslist ad and we were pleasantly surprised. If you enjoy staying at "hotels" that have 24/7 service from the front desk attendant, daily housekeeping, requests answered at your whim, restaurants and bars onsite, multiple pools to choose from, and other amenities...don't stay here. You should be able to tell from the daily rates, you will not find that type of service in this place.

The Blind Pass Resort is a fabulous place for a family on a budget. You can stay at the beaches but you will have to drive to the beach itself. You will have to hop on the trolley or drive to go out to eat (unless you want a quick slice of pizza and they have fabulous pizza at the place right next door).

The rooms were a little dated. You will find some chipping paint and some dingy tile. The rooms are very spacious. We rented a one bedroom unit and it was fantastic for me, my husband, and our 4yo daughter. She could go to sleep in the room while my husband and I stayed up to watch TV or play some cards. The rooms come with a small kitchenette with dishes and pots/pans to do some light cooking. There is a stovetop, microwave, fridge and freezer. The furniture in our unit looked new, or very recently steam cleaned. It was spotless and in very good shape.

The pool was very clean, heated, and quite pretty with the waterfall and rock structure at one end. There are plenty of tables and chairs on the deck for a nice setup. It is "right on the road" as some other reviewers posted but it never seemed too loud or obnoxious to us.

Historic Corey Avenue district is just a few blocks south (walking distance, even with kids) which has a few cute shops and restaurants. We happened upon a festival on Sunday which was a fun surprise. There are several good brunch spots right there on Corey Avenue too, but expect to wait for your meal. They all had lines out the door waiting for a table, but you will find that in every brunch spot from Clearwater Beach all the way to Pass-a-grille. WE had a fantastic brunch at "Steam" over at the corner of Gulf and Corey Avenue.

For the price of this place, it was a fantastic getaway. When my family gets a place at the beach, it's merely a place to go to sleep since we are out and about enjoying the sun, surf, and sand. We don't like a lot of interference in that family time, don't want daily housekeeping (we typically put up the "do not disturb" sign and re-use our towels each day), and like the laid-back feel of Blind Pass Resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    35
    13
    17
    11
See reviews for
35
44
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were in the area to see relatives and planned only a two night stay. This is one of the few places we found where we could share a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit with an elderly relative at a very fair price. Yes, it was small -- but there were, indeed, 2 separate bedrooms and 2 separate baths plus a common living space with table and a modest kitchen w/coffee pot, microwave, cooktop (with teakettle), sink, some glasses and cups, and typical motel refrigerator. Positives: it was clean, the air conditioner was new, easy to control, and not noisy, there were enough towels/wash cloths, etc, the staff was friendly and the pool looked sparkling and inviting. Having grown up in the area, it was great to see how a typical '50s era motel had been adapted to 21st century travellers' needs. Free wi-fi was provided, but we had a poor signal in our location, which we attributed to those thick 1950s walls separating us from the router. No big deal -- we checked email on our phones. Our towels were changed after the first night, but the coffee pack was not replaced, nor the beds made. We assumed that the "efficiency" nature of the unit accounted for that. However, the one big negative is that the guests are requested to wash their glasses and cups before they leave. Everything seemed clean, but I can't imagine that this is ok with the health department. I can understand this requirement while guests are staying in the room, but definitely not between guests. Glasses and cups should be sterilized or disposables should be provided. Would we stay there again? It was convenient, clean, friendly and affordable -- so yes, but we'll bring our own glasses and cups!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

the resort/motel was a good three star the location is great ten minute walk to the beach two
min. walk to all stores and restaurants, the rooms were clean, the pool area was clean and large enough, the staff is helpfull but not in your face. Stayed for two weeks with my wife the room was cleaned once a week didn't want them in there any more then that anyway, I could walk to John's pass 2 to 3 miles do not need a car as the trolley stops near the front door, you can get an all day pass and take it all the way to Clearwater for only $4.50. I would stay there again, this place does not claim to be a 5 star but good value for the money

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

First, I want to say that George S.'s review is on the money. I stayed for 4 nights and not once was my bed made or my room cleaned. I had to go to the office to get towels, toilet paper, etc. And I was greeted with the feeling that they were doing me a favor. As far as the room itself, the sleeping area was fine-no real issues there, except for the fact that this is the first place I've ever stayed that didn't have a clock on the nightstand. The bathroom was a bit old and not very functional. There wasn't so much as a hook on the back of the door to hang towels and I've never seen a shower/tub without a soap dish. The toilet had to be held down to flush and you had to make sure it flushed all the way, or it would be clogged. The sink area is just a pedestal-fine for one person, but could get a little tight for a family (there is a window ledge where you can keep toiletries). The ceiling paint was peeling and the fan vent was caked with dust.

As far as location, be aware that this motel is right on the main road. The courtyard photos on the website are actually a small area that is right on the main road. Rooms on the courtyard aren't more than a few yards from the road. Also, the beach is not in walking distance. There are several beautiful beaches nearby, but they are all a drive away (only a few minutes, but definitely a drive). Most hotels in the area are on one side or the other of Gulf Dr., the main strip along the beach-this one isn't. It's on Blind Pass Road-you can map it to see where it is in relation to the other hotels in the area.

Another odd thing about this property is that the office is only staffed from 9:00 a.m.-10:00 p.m. So if you need anything before 9 or after 10, you're out of luck. Also makes an early checkout difficult.

One last note--it seems that there is a group of related people who appear to live there permanently-it's kind of a strange situation. On a positive note, the pool is actually nice, although the pool area is smaller than it appears in the photos. Again, while there is a wall to block it from the main road, it's still very close and you can hear the traffic whizzing by. You also have to walk out on the main road to access the pool.

The shame is is that this would not be a terrible place if some minor changes were made like staff attitude and availability and some minor investments in room amenities. Overall, I would not recommend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't choose one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This property is anything but a "Resort". The rooms are tiny.
The first day we returned at 5:00 p.m. to find that housekeeping had "missed" our room. When we complained, the staff member replaced two towels and made the bed. (Nothing More)! She didn't even empty the trash.
The second day we returned around 4:00 p.m. Again we discovered that housekeeping had not cleaned our room. When we complained, we were told that there were three "checkouts" and she didn't have time clean our room. She then replaced two towels and made the bed. We had to ask her to empty the bathroom trash can.
The TV was very small and seemed to "blip".
The attitude of the one person on duty was poor. She didn't seem to enjoy her job.
The price was reasonable. I guess 'you get what you pay for'
There are a lot better places in the area. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

this could be a decent hotel if a little energy was put into cleaning.lorenzo's recent review is right on.if you aren't wearing slippers your feet will be black 2 steps after exiting the shower.i doubt the floors are ever washed.my friend dropped something under the couch.there was debris under there that had been there for months.same for under the bed.bring your own soap and coffee as they seem to run out every other day.sofa bed had to be 20 years old-stained and dirty.

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecanto, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We were looking for a nice little place to stay at for a quick weekend getaway. This was perfect! Although not ON the beach, it is at the beaches, and close to everything. The price was exceptional! We had the one bedroom, two bath apartment poolside, and couldn't ask for more. Room was clean, place was quiet, and staff was helpful. Will definitely recommend.. Check out the Sea Critters Cafe... Awesome!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#26 of 31 in St. Pete Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#24 of 31 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#7 of 31 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#12 of 31 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#3 of 13 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blind Pass Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blind Pass Resort

Address: 7901 Blind Pass Road, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blind Pass Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blind Pass Resort is a quiet, family friendly resort-motel located on the island of St. Pete Beach, Florida. We are just a half mile from the beautiful beaches. Our rooms are updated, featuring flat panel TVs, kitchens, tile flooring. We have a gorgeous pool area for ultimate relaxation. Prices are affordable and rooms are meticulously clean! Friendly staff and management always on duty! We are here to make your stay in St. Pete Beach as comfortable as possible. Free Wifi, free parking, no cleaning fees or resort fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Blind Pass Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blind Pass Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Blind Pass Motel
Blind Pass Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blind Pass Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.