We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sirata Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sirata Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sirata Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Got there during a cold spell which is only relevant to note that the hotel was nearly empty. The location and the beach are great. All of the beach rental equipment went unused due to the weather. There were several disappointing things. First, as already mentioned, the $8 a day parking charge while most other businesses around there offered free parking. There was a parking attendant station but it was not staffed. It seems that during the off season with empty parking lots they could drop the charge. For parking spaces we competed against construction trucks, since some heavy construction is taking place. The other issue is the daily nearly $10 charge for internet for which they "blame" AT&T. Nobody told them to use AT&T and for sure they get a kickback. In the class they want to be, the internet should be free. They do however provide two free terminals in the "business center" which is a very small room. We had a very large room with a small balcony facing the beautiful sandy beach. However between us and the beach were some very tall grasses which should have been trimmed. From the second floor they were not an issue but assuredly they hampered the view from the guests on the ground floor. The very large room had a popcorn ceiling and several open spaces. It did have a small fridge but no microwave for which there would have been plenty of space and which is pretty standard even at Motel 6. I imagine it was a conscious decision to promt guests to eat at their restaurants. However there are plenty of other nice looking restaurants a short walk away, and within half mile there is Dolphin Shopping Center with a Publix supermarket which has a prepared food section. The same center has a Chickflix, a Dairy Queen, and a Thai, Chinese, and Pizza restaurants.
Compared to the room the bathroom is very small. The sink is actually outside the bathroom. The ceiling inside the bathroom is so low that the inside tub curtain drooped severàl inches within the tub. We took showers but it would be pretty disgusting if you were to want a bath.. The cheap tub squeaked as we moved to take the shower, indicating that it lacked the proper foam support under it. They screwed a couple of grip handles to the wall which hung over into the tub area and because of the tight space it was easy to hit them as we showered. The towels, on the other hand, were beautifully folded. It was nice to have the free safe.
If you drive into the area pack a lot of quarters because there are toll charges of about 50 cents each way. You can go through the change line but it's faster to just throw quarters into the recipient in the exact change line.

The price was very reasonable for the hotel, but there are so many other choices right there along the strip, so I hesitate to recommend it without looking at the other options.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    864
    421
    190
    151
See reviews for
777
726
55
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Really nice resort. Beds need upgraded. Food was good at Compass. It was nice to get snacks & food while at the pool and Rum Runners. Waiter, Eric was very good at Compass. Jarrod & John were a lot of fun at Rum Runners. The hotel has about a dozen iguanas that they heep that were rescued. Staff tends for them. They have lottery sales there in gift shop, but not many employees know too much about it. I also felt the parking fee was absorbant. We would go there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

My Son and I stay at the Sirata Beach Resort 2-3 times a year.
For about 8 years now.
We had another great stay with them 11-25 through 12-2.
Just perfect, beautiful room at an excellent rate.
The beach bars and pools are awesome, and the beach is absolutely beautiful.
You have to see the amazing sun sets each night!

The Sirata also has the friendliest staff,
as well as great house keeping services.
Also,
the food at the beach bars is excellent.
We recommend the Jerk flavored chicken wings.
They are awesome!

No need to look at any other hotels when you are looking at staying in St. Pete Beach.
You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, Merseyside
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Pros - Location great right by uncrowded beach, geat place to chill
The Sunsets, must book a gulf view room
Friendly staff

Cons - $8 per day parking, similar places don't charge
The decor of the hotel rooms is starting to look dated, didn't bother me personally
but I can see why others have taken issue
As other reviews have mentioned the Hotel gets busier at the weekend there
appears to be more of a spring break/college crowd knocking about, however
can't say we were disturbed as a result.
But I can imagine it can't be to everybodys taste, my dad went back to his car for
something and saw the local police escort a handcuffed young woman out of the
hotel lift and into a police car, what that was about I've no idea........

Maybe a mid-week break is the best approach for this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siratabeach, Guest Ambassador at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Currently we are in the process of updating rooms on the property. As a Resort located directly on the beach we offer amenities that other properties may not have, such as 2 outdoor Jacuzzis, 3 pools, 1 restaurant, 2 beach bars, a lobby lounge bar, fitness center, gift shop, games room and laundry and we do not charge a resort fee. Most of the Resorts in the area impose a ‘Resort Fee’ which includes wifi, parking, and other amenities. We chose not to keep it as an all inclusive fee, allowing the guest to see each fee transparently and allow them to assess their individual needs rather than impose a fee that may include something that they may not desire.
During low season the resort does get busier during the weekends. Our resort has 24 hour guest security, and accordingly they respond to incidents to the best of their abilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

I was disappointed in my stay at the Sirata. My room was clean, but it was very, very old and it showed its age. My bed was up against an outside wall overlooking a parking lot and the noise was constant. While the hotel does not allow smoking in the rooms, it seems that others staying in the hotel had no problem smoking from their room balconies. I was at a conference at the hotel and for the price I paid for the room, I had expected a nicer room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siratabeach, Guest Ambassador at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Thank you for your comments, we welcome constructive criticism as it helps us to get better. Sirata Beach Resort has many different room types that cater to guests’ budget and requirements. There are some rooms that have property view, but we have many rooms that are ocean view. Whilst we do not allow smoking in any of the rooms at the resort, we have guests that specifically request a room with a balcony so they are able to smoke outside. If this disturbs another guest we do ask that they let us know in order for us to accommodate their requests also. Currently we are in the process of updating rooms on property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

My wife and I have visited St.Pete's Beach on past occasions. This was our first time at Sirata.

We had a room with a gulf view, just a few steps away from the sea. The resort provided everything we could have wanted. The atrtractions of the beach, heated pools, choice of two beach bars, cocktail lounge, fittness centre and Business Centre.

The hotel restaurant (The Compass Grille) providies breakfast, lunch and dinner and we found the food to be of good quality and reasonanbly priced. A selection of food items are available in the resort shop or you can use the Publix Supermarket on the opposite side of Gulf Boulevard.

Our tip would be to make sure you book a "Gulf View Room". The rooms in the tower block also have a kitchen if you really want to do your own cooking - we didn't!.

We chose not to drive in tghe USA but this did not stop us from getting around. A Bus (single fare of 2 doillars) passes the door approx every 30minutes and local beach trolley to Clearwater every 15 minutes. Tampa International Airport is only some twenty miles away with an excellent airport/hotel shuttle service.

We were delighted with the resort and have already made a provisional booking to return in 2011.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

This resort is the perfect place to stay if you want to be located in the center of St. Pete yet enjoy a quiet vacation. We walked everywhere, and we were within reach of anything we could want to do day or night. The rooms are slightly small but very comfortable and always cleaned on time. The hotel offers beach cabanas on the sand and chairs by the pool to relax. Also, there is always staff working at the pool bars throughout the day and the lobby bar into early evening. I wouldn't recommend drinking or eating at the resort because of the prices, but the service was excellent. My only complaint would be the front desk upon arrival. We were welcomed by a girl that spoke no English, she had to be assisted by another woman in order to check us in (which ended up being a half hour long process), and could not tell us where our room was located. Although this was frustrating when we arrived, this would not prevent me from choosing this resort again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sirata Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirata Beach Resort

Address: 5300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sirata Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 13 privately owned beachfront acres directly on the Gulf of Mexico. This St. Pete Beach resort is family owned and operated for three generations. There are 3 beachfront pools, 2 whirlpools, fitness center, kid's play area & arcade and many water sport options. Compass Grille is a casual dining restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rum Runners Bar & Grille is located poolside and beachfront for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Harry's Beach Bar is a local institution featuring a casual menu, lounge setting around a fire pit directly on the beach. Both beach bars feature live entertainment on the weekends. There is something for everyone from a pool cabana, a beach cabana or hammock and the sunsets are are always amazing in the Sunset Capital of Florida located on the #1 Rated Beach is the US. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sirata Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirata Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Sirata Beach
Sirata St Pete Beach
Sirata Beach Resort Florida
Sirata Hotel
Sirata St Petersburg Fl
Sirata Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirata Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.