We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sirata” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sirata Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sirata Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sirata Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sirata”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2005

I have to say we enjoyed our stay here. The place is value priced for the area and is just that right above average resort feel thats not too stuffy but warm and friendly. The beach is spectacular, you wont believe how much of it there is.

I couldn't for the life of me understand a few reviews regarding dining. There are TONS of choices within walking distance or a couple minute car ride.

IF you don't want to rent a beach cabana a beach mart is across the street, chairs are dirt cheap. You'd make out buying a chair and leaving it there. Or get one at publix you'll make your money back after the first day you use it. we didn't need it as we mostly hung by the pool and only took amazingly long walks on the beach.

I saw several of the rooms of diffeent levels.

If you can get the new building, ocean facing, a couple of the rooms are 2 balcony deals. Those rooms are amazingly big for the dough, one of the members of our party was upgraded to one, again amazing. We stayed in a regular suite and it was great. We shoped at the publix grocery just 1 minute car ride away, got breakfast stuff and snack stuff, microwave popcorn, it made the stay less expensive.

The staff was friendly and courteous.

You want to go to the pool in front of rum runners, (there are three, the other two are very small) this one is by far the largest with the most scenic view, planting and no parking lot looming behind you.

There's a mini golf place you can walk to, exit right from the hotel. it was a nice activity to do.

Our favorite restaurant was Sea Critters, go right, about a mile and a half down the main road, past don cesars, on the left. Its the only place i saw that had "on the water" outdoor dining. we really liked the place. And fed fish from our table, thats how close to the water.

Pass on craby bills,(short walk away) its overpriced and, well, crab is really sparse on the menu. The service, and food were all drab and not worth it.

There's a diner thats about a 2 minute walk and breafast there was a value for sure.

My only complaint with the sirata was they are hosting cirque de solil staff there, 140 of them while they are putting a show on in tampa, i'd stay away until Jan. when they leave. You'll like the place a lot more, some of those folks were...well, lets just say don't go there till they leave. Then, you really should go there. We had a few problems with them, lets leave it at that.

Somone said in one of the reviews to go to Tradewinds, I toured it. I wouldn't. It was so big and so many people, it was like a city in there all crammed in. Sirata has a much more relaxed feel to it.

We did a day trip to tarpon springs, that was fun. We did a walking food tour of this wonderful greek town.

Hands down, find Mama's, THAT is the place to eat.

The small but really great aquarium was a hit with our 10 and 12 year olds, they stamp your hand, you can come back as often as you like in one day,we went back three times. The kids loved feeding the rays by hand, and and the sharks too! neat place, at first you'll go this is it? but it grows on you and very worth it. Again a value. Plan to spend at least a full half day there strolling, drinking wine and sampling a dish here and a dish there. Mama's is on one of the side streets, worth the diversion.

Sunsets at sirata are not to be missed, we caught one every night while they had live music playing.

the guys were nice, I play harmonica and they let me jump in for a song or two. And,,,everyone lived from my playing. All in all, just a nice place.

And the parking fee, well, just live with it, you know it in advance, just factor into the overall price, yes it's a dumb policy to break it out. Other places charged it too. Plus the cabana price that people have moaned about, was actually more $ at other hotels, i asked when we went a took walks.

regarding the sirata club memebership and alledged deals on combo parking and cabana mentioned in some of the reviews. I asked several people there. They are very one off deals. You might get a package with them at certain times of the year. In general that stuffs all al la carte. Sirata club only gets you discounts at special promotion times so don't count on it. Not a big deal as long as you know it going in.

You'll enjoy your stay here we'll come back, definitely.

Stayed November 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    998
    459
    204
    157
See reviews for
902
810
58
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McHenry, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2005

Thank you to all TA travelers...we booked the Sirata based on your reviews, so here's payback!

We stayed three nites at the Sirata, following five nites at Disney. Our travel day to the Sirata was a two hour drive following a full day at a crowded water park, so we were exhausted.

We arrived at the Sirata and was greeted by Jeremy, who hands down made our stay. Right away, his genuine courtesy put me at ease, as he gave us directions to dinner, ensured us we had the room we reserved (Gulf View Pres Suite), and mad arrangements for our bags.

We walked into our room at 6PM to open curtains exposing the most beautiful sunset...that was why we were there.

The room was OK...crowded for 5, but comfortable. 2 of the 3 bedroom lites were burned out, the slide lock didn't work, and our safe didn't have a key. We just wanted to relax tho.

The bars are good...prefer the one on the north end.

The restaurants were hit and miss. Durango's was the best value we had on our eight day trip. We ordered carry out twice and ate at the pool...very nice. We went off-site one nite to eat to Captain Al's in Treasure Island. That was the worst food I've ever eaten, and that includes grade school cafeteria food. Absolutely the worst restaurant ever!

The beach is OK at best. The sand is half sand half shredded shells. As you get closer to the water, there are shells everywhere and the water kinda smells. We walked all the way down past Tradewinds, and that's as good as it got.

Reviewers were whining about the $15 cabana rental. Well, when we were there, there were only 5-6 cabanas out of 100 that were being used, so I felt kinda ripped off. But oh well....capitalism at work. Aston is pretty cool, and gave us an extra cabana one day.

We went parasailing one day thru Captain Dave's and that was a trip...we'll never forget it.....400 feet above the water!

Here's the bottom line. If we were going there for a week, we would have been stir crazy by day 5. But we were going for change-of-pace R&R for three days, and we got it. I have no doubt that we picked the best place along that entire 15-20 mile island (okay, maybe Sand Key gets another look). If you don't get a Gulf view room, forget it. Hope this helps!!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2005

We stayed 6 nights in a one bedroom suite in Building 1 (Conference Center). The only negative was the hallway noise around 8am when we slept in most days. Otherwise, it was terrific. Clean, modern, reasonably priced (AAA discount), good view of the bay (city view was fine). Great Sunsets, enjoyed it.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2005

Hotel very clean and staff friendly and helpful. Wonderful location. Felt the rooms were somewhat motel like and would benefit from net curtains so that you can have your curtains open during the day but still have privacy from people walking by. Amenities were very good and well maintained. Even though there were functions going on whilst we were there the rooms were well sound proofed and we were not disturbed. Was rather disturbed on arrival to find an $8 per day parking feel was being charged as we had not been advised of this by our agent. I feel this is unfair and have never been to a before where we have had to pay for parking. Durangos Steak House really good - try the fajitas. Thanks to Ron in the Lobby Bar - great barman.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2005

We stayed four days for a family wedding. The trip also doubled as my honeymoon. Our stay was very enjoyable. The beach was gorgeous by day, and even more so at sunset. There are plenty of activities nearby, however, we chose to stay put. Although disappointed in the Mnagrove Grill, we were thrilled with Durangos Steak House.
Our room, overlooking the beach, was the perfect size for two, howver, would have been a bit small if my kids were along.

Overall, we were thrilled with our stay, and will return.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Sirata for four days. It was the most relaxing place! We sat on the beach in the cabana for hours. Mike from beach services was so nice! Then we went to Harry's for some afternoon drinks and lunch. The food and the drinks were very good and the bartenders Jo and Kristen were so friendly! We had a blast! The room we stayed in was very clean however it could use some updating. When it was party time we went back out to Harry's for some live music and then to the lobby lounge where we wound down the night until 1:00a.m. There were two weddings there this past weekend and our room was right next to that area and we never heard them! I would highly recommend the Sirata for its Exceptional Service and Fantastic Ammenities! Right on the beach you can rent paddle boats, kayaks, go parasailing, rent waverunners, and there is even a playground for the kids. Stay at the Sirata!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2005

We stayed for a long weekend 11/11/05. I found the hotel on line and was a little worried because of some of the negative reviews. The staff was fantastic, friendly and accomadating. The exterior of the hotel is EXACTLY what you imagine when you think of a Florida Beach Resort. The grounds were tropical and well maintained. We had no trouble finding parking and appreciated the extra security of a 'gaurd' at the gate. Our room was fine, it was a standard 3 star hotel room. There were 2 weddings and one barmitvah this weekend...and we would not have known if we did not actually see the celebrations because the resort was peacful at bedtime. Don't miss the romantic sunsets, hammocks on the beach and some good eats from Mangrove Cafe-whose staff was EXCEPTIONAL! Eventhough it was just a long weekend, we felt like we just returned from a long vacation thanks to Sirata really living up to it's title of a "beach resort" and the smiling staff. We will be back and have already referred the resort to our friends!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sirata Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirata Beach Resort

Address: 5300 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sirata Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 13 privately owned beachfront acres directly on the Gulf of Mexico. This St. Pete Beach resort is family owned and operated for three generations. There are 3 beachfront pools, 2 whirlpools, fitness center, kid's play area & arcade and many water sport options. Compass Grille is a casual dining restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rum Runners Bar & Grille is located poolside and beachfront for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Harry's Beach Bar is a local institution featuring a casual menu, lounge setting around a fire pit directly on the beach. Both beach bars feature live entertainment on the weekends. There is something for everyone from a pool cabana, a beach cabana or hammock and the sunsets are are always amazing in the Sunset Capital of Florida located on the #1 Rated Beach is the US. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sirata Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirata Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Sirata Beach
Sirata St Pete Beach
Sirata Beach Resort Florida
Sirata Hotel
Sirata St Petersburg Fl
Sirata Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirata Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.