We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but dated!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sirata Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sirata Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sirata Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
All Inclusive for Two at
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean, but dated!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We live in Tampa, but came for a reunion that was held at the Sirata.
Our check in experience was fabulous-very friendly-and plenty of places to park!
We had a suite which as a very fair price: when we got to the room, I found out why: We stayed here 18 years ago and I believe it has not changed a bit! Clean but really dated.
You entered by way of the bedroom then passed the bathroom, then the family room. I feel that they set it up this way so that you could enjoy the view from the relaxing area, but it was quite awkward for my daughter and her friend to come in later in the evening through my husband's and my room.

We certainly enjoyed the beach - absolutely beautiful--it's why we live in FLORIDA!--the pool was very crowded (there were 3-but all crowded). It is perfect family place with smaller kids and teens that can run around use the beach, game room, pool etc, but not what I would call romantic.
I was impressed with the grounds.

If they could fix it up a little--in the rooms and definitely in the elevators, it would really be off the charts family get away!

The service was great--especially at the Rumrunner's restaurant! Our waitress was wonderful and happy with our big group!

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the beach and away from pool area where band plays at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    877
    428
    191
    154
See reviews for
788
739
56
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philly
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Been visiting this Hotel for 25 years. Each year I am not disappointed. The friendly atmosphere makes you feel at home, while you are away. Everyone from top to bottom goes out of their way to please you.

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Winocat,
Thank you so much for your excellent ratings across the board. We appreciate your long time repeat patronage. We were happy to read you loved our friendly atmosphere. We hope you will come back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Firstly I must say that the Sirata Beach Resort is set on a beautiful beach, one of the best I have ever seen. I have set out the good and bad points that we found, to make easy reading of this review.

GOOD:
Check in was quick and easy, chappy was pleasant enough and congratulated us on our honeymoon (don't expect any little extras for celebrating honeymoons etc!!!!)

Beds were comfy and rooms were roomy enough.

Always managed to find a place to park, be it during the day or the night. Those people who couldn't find a spot are probably the people who couldn't find a space outside of their block and couldn't be bothered walking.

Hotel is right on the beach and there were always beach cabanas available. We had a cabana included in our package however I read they were approximately $20-$25 to hire for one day.

I must give Kara who works at Rum Runners (one of the restaurants on site) a big shout out. This lovely lady really did make our holiday. She was so happy, bubbly and friendly and was such a pleasure to see every morning at breakfast. She always made sure we were comfortable, she engaged in conversation with us, always made an effort with our nearly 2 year old son and showed him how to colour in and keep him away from the food-pinching seagulls!!! Kara is such a credit to this hotel and I truly believe she deserves recognition from the management. All the staff at the run runners were very friendly and pleasant also.

There is the Publix supermarket 3 blocks away, approximately a 5 - 10 min walk away and prices were very reasonable.

Our one-bed king suite had a fridge, microwave, toaster etc which were very convenient.

Food at Rum Runners was very good, and prices were reasonable.

BAD:
We were really disappointed with the room service at this property. We stayed for 7 days and on 3 days the maid did not turn up until 5pm!!!! We found this appalling as she was unable to hoover, dust, clean, change bedding etc on these occasions as we were getting ready for our evenings as we left the beach approximately 4pm. On another occasion the maid knocked on our door and asked whether our room 'really needed cleaning'. On the morning of check out (check out was 11am) we had a knock on the door at 10:50 advising us that we really needed to leave. We found this to be quite rude considering it was not yet 11am.

The free internet was soooooo slow!!! Upgrades are available for $15 for 24 hours which is a true rip-off. The free internet is barely worth using even if it is free. Hardly accessible.

The pools were so small and busy and at times it was very difficult to swim as there were too many people in the pools. Sirata really should think about extending their pools.

We felt there was a lack of entertainment. From previous reviews we expected there to be some form of entertainment as people had commented saying that the hotel was noisy etc, however there was never anything going on in the evenings? The only entertainment we came across was someone playing steel drums at Rum Runners on Sunday morning.

There is not much to do for families with young children outside the hotel in St Petersburg. We travelled to Clearwater on a couple of evenings which we found to be fantastic entertainment wise. We also travelled to various malls including Tyrone Square and International Plaza, both very good. International Plaza was more on the pricier side. Tyrone Square was approximately 15 minutes away whilst International Plaza was a bit further away being 40-45 minutes.

We had emailed 2 months before with a room request and had received no response. I found this quite rude. We asked to be upgraded (at a charge) to a sea view however every day we were told there was nothing available. However when my husband enquired pretending to be a walk in he was advised that rooms were available. The hotel probably didn't want to clean and set up a new room...I cannot think of any other reason as to why they would not upgrade us if we were willing to pay.

I could also hear a scratching noise in the room as if furniture was being moved around above us somewhere, and I could hear this the majority of the time. Didn't really bother me but I was very curious as to where this noise was coming from!

Would we return? To the area yes, but not to the property. Although we primarily came for the beach, the hotel decor/facilities do not live up to the same high standards. We didn't spend much time in the hotel room but it would have been nice to have a better standard of room for the price you pay to stay here. The bedroom part of the room seemed to have been modernised but the suite part was like something out of the 1950's! We also found that the property was lacking customer service from the majority of staff, apart from those working at Rum Runners.

The good and bad points mentioned may not not bother some people as others have different needs/wants, but I hope this helped!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay here. Love the pools, beach bars, game room. The kids suite was perfect for us. Though I expected a full kitchen and packed for it. But we made it work. The room upon entrance was not very clean, saw old pretzels and Cheerios in kids room. Our housekeeper Allesa was out of this world. So friendly and took care of all our needs. My three year old loved her too❤️ Overall I would stay again because of the friendliness of staff and surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just returned from our summer vacation to St. Pete Beach. After careful research we chose the Sirata Beach Resort. Probably the best vacation ever for myself. Resort, pools, restaurants, housekeeping and comfy beds to name a few. Keep in mind this is an older resort as is all other resorts in the area but well maintained in my opinion. There are only three in our family so we chose the King Ocean View Suite (#4547 located in building 4 close to Harry Bar and Grill) with a sofabed and also with a full size refrigerator and microwave. Ate at Harry's once and it was great as was our two visits to Rum Runner's Bar and Grill located on the opposite side of the property. Service was a little slow during our second visit but not too bad and the food really made up for it. Our housekeeper "Kizzie" was AWESOME and took really good care of all ours needs. After having a conversation with her you felt as if you've known her all your life. We will for sure choose the Sirata when returning to St. Pete Beach. ALL the restaurants we chose to eat in the area were awesome as well so check them out while there. Sea Critters, Crabby Bills and Silas Dent's Waterfront Steakhouse. Tip: If you plan to fish during your stay and keep your catch you're welcomed to take it into Sea Critters and they'll prepare for you. Crazy I know but true. Our table next to us did just that during our second visit. ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear fishman84,
Thank you so much for your AWESOME comments. We are so happy you had the “BEST VACATION EVER”. We agree, Harry’s Beach Bar and Rum Runner’s are the best. Vacationing is all about getting away. I am so glad we were able to make your summer vacation wonderful. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We booked 1 bedroom suite with full kitchen, courtyard view.

We arrived at night and the guys on the front desk were friendly, patient and helpful: we were not satisfied of our suite and the receptionist gave us keys to couple of rooms to choose from.

The suite by itself was nice: spacious living room with comfortable sofa-bed and small bedroom with queen bed (also very comfortable). No real balcony, only the very narrow French one, where you could stand and enjoy the view of huge parking area.

Beach: white sand, VERY SHALLOW (knee level), dull ( no trees or palms); very calm, crystal clear water. You could go for miles in either direction. A lot of umbrellas and cabanas -$20 per day. There are 3 free palapas (beach huts) by the entrance/exit of the beach with a table and 4 chairs. Pool umbrellas are also free of charge.

Pool: small, nothing in particular, with very noisy bar.

Our main concern was terrible NOISE : very loud music till almost midnight and then screaming of tipsy people till sunrise.

The service in the hotel was excellent and stuff was always very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tally
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Nice size rooms, a little outdated. Pools were very nice, lots of lounge chairs. The restaurants on site were pretty good, but there is a little restaurant to the right of the hotel that serves Greek food. It is really good! Over all, it was a nice stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sirata Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirata Beach Resort

Address: 5300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sirata Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 13 privately owned beachfront acres directly on the Gulf of Mexico. This St. Pete Beach resort is family owned and operated for three generations. There are 3 beachfront pools, 2 whirlpools, fitness center, kid's play area & arcade and many water sport options. Compass Grille is a casual dining restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rum Runners Bar & Grille is located poolside and beachfront for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Harry's Beach Bar is a local institution featuring a casual menu, lounge setting around a fire pit directly on the beach. Both beach bars feature live entertainment on the weekends. There is something for everyone from a pool cabana, a beach cabana or hammock and the sunsets are are always amazing in the Sunset Capital of Florida located on the #1 Rated Beach is the US. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sirata Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirata Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Sirata Beach
Sirata St Pete Beach
Sirata Beach Resort Florida
Sirata Hotel
Sirata St Petersburg Fl
Sirata Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirata Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.