We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sirata Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sirata Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sirata Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The staff make this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here as part of a group of people that used other hotels in the area. The Sirata compares favourably to some of the other hotels we saw.

First off, you get what you pay for. The Sirata ain't the most expensive and that perhaps reflects the dated rooms but that doesn't make it a bad place. Its clean, it was fairly quiet (you couldn't hear other rooms but outside people could be heard as they walked past your window, wasn't a problem for us, as it was only noticed mid morning and didn't hear anything at night). The a/c is old and is a bit noisy but we got used to it, so wasn't a problem for us.

Rum Runners bar is a nice spot but drinks are a bit pricey but not bad considering its a hotel. The food ain't bad either, not the best in St Pete Beach but by no means the worst and the slightly higher prices is reflected in the portion sizes.

Where this place does excel, is their staff, excellent, all of them. We had problems with luggage not making it off our flight. After the first night and no sign of our luggage, we asked if we could move rooms to be next door to our friends, so we could borrow clothes, toiletries etc. Not the hotel's problem but they arranged for this to happen and it made our lives that much easier. The room also had a great sea view that we did not have in the previous room. Due to many trips to reception, they knew we were anxious about our luggage (we were getting married the next day) but as soon as it arrived, it was sent to our room at 3.45 in the morning, which was at my request, so I didn't have to stress about it any more and therefore, get a better sleep!! They would have stored it for us, for it to be delivered at a more sociable hour! There was many small things that the staff did, that made our time their more enjoyable but I could be here all day.

Overall, this place probably wont be everybody's cup of tea but its really only the dated rooms that lets this place down and if you aren't going to spend all your time in your room, then this place is clean and has a lot going for it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Chris R,
Congratulations on your marriage and thank you for spending your honeymoon with us. We appreciate your detailed comments. We were very glad to read you thought our prices reflect value and that we compare favorably to our competitors. I will share your kind comments to our staff regarding their friendliness and responsive attitudes. We agree it’s the small things that count. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    834
    410
    187
    143
See reviews for
752
700
51
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great location, a little outdated but still great amenities. The staff is great as well. The rooms could use a little updating and you can hear people walking down the hall at night. Overall I would recommend. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

From the moment we contacted Sirata and talked to their reservations staff to the moment we had to leave our experience was amazing!! I contacted Heather in booking several times asking multiple questions - she was courteous and helpful every single time! We checked in and within minutes John our Bellman had our luggage loaded and was cheerfully escorting us to our 8th floor magnificent room with an amazing view of the beach! (Every single time we saw John throughout our weeklong stay he went out of his way to say hello, check on us and make sure all was well!!) Our room - a suite with 2 queens in one room and a kitchenette with queen sleeper sofa in the other. The balcony was large with 2 chairs and a small table - the doors to the balcony opened up the full length of our room - it was breathtakingly beautiful. My husband and three grown children (21, 19 and 17) were quite comfortable for our weeklong stay! Our room was clean, well appointed and newly remodeled.
We bought the saver package with the cabana, parking and internet (we felt it was worth the price). Our first morning we walked down to the beach, checked in at the stand and were basking in the sunshine within minutes. The sand, the sun (it was cloudy and sunny but 75 throughout our stay) and the waves - it just doesn't get much better than that! The sunsets (we only got to see two as it was cloudy on the other days) were beautiful - breathtaking! That is the main reason our family decided to come to the Gulf side during our Florida visit! Oh yes - and the hammocks on the beach - they are everywhere and so very nice to lounge in with the ocean and the waves - wish I was there right now!!
We LOVED the fire pit and sat around it every single evening making new friends and enjoying quality family time! The pools were warm - the hot tubs were hot and clean. Pool/Beach towels were abundant (do not feel you need to bring towels from home - there are plenty of oversized beach towels for you to use) and always available. Harry's & Rum Runners were buzzing with live music (even on the weeknights as it was through the holidays - December 28 - January 4). Just a tip: the fire pit at Rum Runners was usually available even if the giant fire pit at Harry's was full - that area held our family of five quite nicely. We ate at every restaurant on property. Rum Runners was our favorite. Pauline, our server at Rum Runners made our visit complete - absolutely delightful and just so happy to help us with whatever we needed. She is a gem!
The area restaurants are within walking distance (Crabby Bills had the best grouper we could find - casual dining and absolutely delicious and just two doors down from Sirata!!) and the trolley stops right in front of Sirata (we only rode once as we had a car with us). There are lots of good shopping areas (local souveniers) within walking distance as well. We felt it was a great location all the way around - right in the middle of the strip.
Everywhere we went on property we were greeted - from the grounds people to the concierge the climate of the resort is just a happy place to be. We were so sad to have to leave to return to frigid Oklahoma!
The only area of weakness we found was the beach staff - they just did not seem happy to have to come out and do their job each day. The rest of the staff's cheerful attitudes made up for the weak beach staff but there is definitely room for improvement there.
Overall the Sirata was a 5! Just a wonderful, wonderful place to visit. Comfortable, clean and an amazing beach! My family cannot wait to return to this beautiful oasis!

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor possible in building one. Be sure to splurge for a balcony if possible an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear 5in Oklahoma,
Thank you for the glowing comments! We agree that our property is the “ABSOLUTE BEST”, from our delicious food, to the relaxing hot Jacuzzi tubs, amazing gulf views and convenient beach cabanas. Exceeding guest expectations is the top priority of our staff, and I am pleased to hear your individual expectations were not only met, but exceeded. We are looking forward to repeating this experience for you and your family the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc and scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

It you want to enjoy a pristine beach with non intrusive, first rate services, look no further. Though slightly dated, Sirata provides value and amenities of a top hotel. The services are the clincher. We visited for 4 days before Christmas and stayed in the oldest part of the hotel. Didn't bother us a bit. Rooms were comfortable with smallish bathrooms. The price made up for it. We will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were at the Sirata Beach Resort for Christmas and had the very best experience we have ever had in a vacation. The hotel was everything the website said it was and more. Alan at the front desk was so helpful and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. John the Bellman gave us suggestions of local places to eat. The room and grounds were very clean and taken care of. We learned that the Sirata was a family owned resort and it really did have a wonderful family atmosphere. Chelsea at Harry's Beach Bar was one of the best servers we have encountered at a resort. My family plans to continue going to the Sirata and I would highly recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: We had a room with a stove and refrigerator. This was great and I would definitely get the same kind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Overall we thought the place was very nice, but it would have been overpriced had we not had a groupon for the stay. The resort's infrastructure is older but the furnishings are new. Our fridge was broke in the room and they had a guy immediately look into it and gave us a discount coupon at the over priced gift shop for the inconvenience. Needless to say we didn't use the coupon. The rest of the staff was also very helpful. Bernard was immediately available to assist with our luggage when we arrived, and had some info about the place.

There were three different venues to eat or drink, priced slightly more than average. The food was pretty good, but not a lot of atmosphere in any particular place but I guess it wasn't necessarily needed since the hotel is right on the beach.

Overall, I'd stay again if we got the groupon again. It was nice but I'm sure the Sirata is on par with all of the other resorts in the area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We booked a regular room for New Year's Eve, and were upgraded to a Gulf-view room upon check-in. The view is fantastic, with hammocks right outside of the patios! The room is safe, quiet, and well-appointed with all amenities. Everything appeared to be clean & in good working order. Be aware that internet connectivity is an extra fee. The reasons for not giving this property a "5" rating: parking was difficult to find near our building; and the room service staff was rude with me when I ordered food to be paid with a debit card. "WELL! You DO know that you can charge this to the room!" I replied, "Yes, but the room is not in my name, and I would like to buy dinner." (She seemed quite put-out with this.)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sirata Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirata Beach Resort

Address: 5300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sirata Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 13 privately owned beachfront acres directly on the Gulf of Mexico. This St. Pete Beach resort is family owned and operated for three generations. There are 3 beachfront pools, 2 whirlpools, fitness center, kid's play area & arcade and many water sport options. Compass Grille is a casual dining restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rum Runners Bar & Grille is located poolside and beachfront for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Harry's Beach Bar is a local institution featuring a casual menu, lounge setting around a fire pit directly on the beach. Both beach bars feature live entertainment on the weekends. There is something for everyone from a pool cabana, a beach cabana or hammock and the sunsets are are always amazing in the Sunset Capital of Florida located on the #1 Rated Beach is the US. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sirata Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirata Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Sirata Beach
Sirata St Pete Beach
Sirata Beach Resort Florida
Sirata Hotel
Sirata St Petersburg Fl
Sirata Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirata Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.