We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BUGS!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sirata Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sirata Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sirata Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Crown Point, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BUGS!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We took our family to the Sirata for New Year's Eve........We left after two days. There were bugs in the kitchen area as well as the bathroom. I tried killing them the first two days, but couldn't take it any longer. The hotel did offer to let off a bug boom.

Room Tip: Check room before you decide to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear KellyCP,
Thank you for choosing the Sirata Beach Resort. It is only through the observations and recommendations of our guests that we are able to evaluate our performance and advance our quality of service. We are so sorry you encountered a problem with insects in your room. You can rest assured this is an isolated incident. Florida is a warm weather paradise, but you will be happy to know we have a very aggressive and successful pest elimination program.

We sincerely appreciate your comments and do hope you will return for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    845
    417
    188
    147
See reviews for
761
711
53
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé, my parents and I spent five day at this resort over the Christmas holiday. It was great! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The beach was beautiful and laid back. They had two beach bars one on each side of the resort. Three large pools. Out room was nice. It was older but had been updated. The bathroom was small, and there was no fan. However, everything else was great. The public areas of the resort were very clean, and nicely kept. We had an ocean view room which had a great view. The bars had live music, fire pits and fire places going and were nice. The food we had in the beach bars was good, drinks were great. All that said my favorite part was lying in the hammock on the beach with my fiancé . There were lots of great nice private places to just relax.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Sirata three times in the past two years. We really enjoy the beaches, atmosphere and the location. This time we stayed in one of the suites on the top floor of the north building viewing the pool and the ocean. There were two sliding glass doors that both opended to allow the breeze to come through. The room had two queen beds which were both comfortable. The bedroom area had recently been updated. The bathroom and living area were not updated. The suite was large enough for people to gather and celebrate! My only complaint which I have stated in my other review is the rooms being outdated. The price that we payed to stay for 5 nights in a suite was expensive and we were hoping that it would have been updated! Some of our wedding guests also stayed at the Sirata and they would have liked to had updated rooms!!!! Oh and a no daily parking fee and free intranet access would be awesome to incorporate for guests! Great service, clean rooms, live music and of the course the beautiful beach area make Sirata a wonderful place to relax. An added benefit for us would have been a discount on hotel rooms or gift card of some sort for encouraging our guests to stay at the Sirata to attend our wedding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was my first trip to St. Pete beach; I was there for a family reunion. The beach is beautiful. The Sirata is a huge and very dated hotel. The rooms reminded me of a Howard Johnson's motel from the early 70s. The only thing missing was the orange roof! While the rooms were clean, they were in desperate need of an update. The mattresses were very soft; the blanket looked like the top of a polyester mattress pad; the toilette/tub area was so small that you actually had to go behind the door to close it. The drop ceiling in the bathroom was either moldy or rusty.
When we checked in, I had to initial something and noticed the $8.00 per day parking fee, which the clerk did not mention. So unless you notices what you a re initialing, you will be surprised upon check out. The parking fee is not disclosed on the website. It is disclosed on the resort map. However when I checked out I could that they add a room and occupant tax to the paring space so the daily charge is $10.00. I felt the"resort" could have been more up front about that. By the way, there is also a $15 per day charge for beach chairs. I would not go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that is not facing the street (Gulf Blvd.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear ctsailor1,
Thank you for choosing the Sirata Beach Resort. We have been a family owned property for over 50 years and pride ourselves on being honest with our photos and advertising. We have a huge repeat customer base. We have dozens of photos of our property on our website and have a picture of each specific room category. On our website we have a frequently asked questions section (FAQ) and it states the following: Do I have to pay for parking? Answer: We have a low $8.00 overnight parking fee. There is a limit of one car permitted per room. Trailers, boats and motor homes are not permitted as parking on property is limited.

Most of our competitors charge a substantial Resort Fee whereas we charge items like parking and cabana fees separately. Most guests appreciate this method. We do offer a Resort Saver Package that is inclusive of Parking, Wi-Fi and Cabana rental. We strive for perfection in everything we do and I am so sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Thank you for your candid feedback and we do hope you will reconsider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I had a very pleasant experience at this hotel. The service was very good. Especially with dining, the waiter, John McCoy, was very friendly. This a very nice hotel. The rooms are clean and neat. It is relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I wanted to hate this place. A beach resort in Florida. How ordinary. But from checkin to checkout I have nothing but praise. The rooms were great, and when we asked for a change (because we wanted a bigger bed) it was accommodated without any trouble. Housekeeping was great, efficient, and friendly. Pools, hot tub and beach were clean and nice, and beach towels were readily available. Our room had a 'fridge, 2 burner stove, microwave, and lots of dishes and utensils. My only complaints are that the towels could have been better, and the pillows were too hard. Good location on the beach strip.

Room Tip: There are multiple buildings, I can only speak to bldg 4. The oceanview rooms overlook the pool, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear pbear,
We were very happy to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about our friendly check in staff and clean efficient housekeeping team. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

From the first "welcome to sirata" we were blown away !! Amazing staff here.. Food at compass grill and rum runners is tasty,fresh and a great value.. We booked 2 kitchen suites with a court yard view .. We were nervous bout getting adjoining rooms(traveling with kids) so I called just to be sure .. Well when we got here we found we were upgraded free of charge to 6th floor ocean view .. Simply to accommodate our need for adjoining rooms !!! I loved this place and can't wait to come back!!!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sirata Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirata Beach Resort

Address: 5300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sirata Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 13 privately owned beachfront acres directly on the Gulf of Mexico. This St. Pete Beach resort is family owned and operated for three generations. There are 3 beachfront pools, 2 whirlpools, fitness center, kid's play area & arcade and many water sport options. Compass Grille is a casual dining restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rum Runners Bar & Grille is located poolside and beachfront for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Harry's Beach Bar is a local institution featuring a casual menu, lounge setting around a fire pit directly on the beach. Both beach bars feature live entertainment on the weekends. There is something for everyone from a pool cabana, a beach cabana or hammock and the sunsets are are always amazing in the Sunset Capital of Florida located on the #1 Rated Beach is the US. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sirata Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirata Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Sirata Beach
Sirata St Pete Beach
Sirata Beach Resort Florida
Sirata Hotel
Sirata St Petersburg Fl
Sirata Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirata Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.