We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of hotel websites with few photos” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sirata Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sirata Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sirata Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
All Inclusive for Two at
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Newtown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beware of hotel websites with few photos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was my first trip to St. Pete beach; I was there for a family reunion. The beach is beautiful. The Sirata is a huge and very dated hotel. The rooms reminded me of a Howard Johnson's motel from the early 70s. The only thing missing was the orange roof! While the rooms were clean, they were in desperate need of an update. The mattresses were very soft; the blanket looked like the top of a polyester mattress pad; the toilette/tub area was so small that you actually had to go behind the door to close it. The drop ceiling in the bathroom was either moldy or rusty.
When we checked in, I had to initial something and noticed the $8.00 per day parking fee, which the clerk did not mention. So unless you notices what you a re initialing, you will be surprised upon check out. The parking fee is not disclosed on the website. It is disclosed on the resort map. However when I checked out I could that they add a room and occupant tax to the paring space so the daily charge is $10.00. I felt the"resort" could have been more up front about that. By the way, there is also a $15 per day charge for beach chairs. I would not go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that is not facing the street (Gulf Blvd.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear ctsailor1,
Thank you for choosing the Sirata Beach Resort. We have been a family owned property for over 50 years and pride ourselves on being honest with our photos and advertising. We have a huge repeat customer base. We have dozens of photos of our property on our website and have a picture of each specific room category. On our website we have a frequently asked questions section (FAQ) and it states the following: Do I have to pay for parking? Answer: We have a low $8.00 overnight parking fee. There is a limit of one car permitted per room. Trailers, boats and motor homes are not permitted as parking on property is limited.

Most of our competitors charge a substantial Resort Fee whereas we charge items like parking and cabana fees separately. Most guests appreciate this method. We do offer a Resort Saver Package that is inclusive of Parking, Wi-Fi and Cabana rental. We strive for perfection in everything we do and I am so sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Thank you for your candid feedback and we do hope you will reconsider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    902
    433
    192
    154
See reviews for
807
754
57
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I had a very pleasant experience at this hotel. The service was very good. Especially with dining, the waiter, John McCoy, was very friendly. This a very nice hotel. The rooms are clean and neat. It is relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I wanted to hate this place. A beach resort in Florida. How ordinary. But from checkin to checkout I have nothing but praise. The rooms were great, and when we asked for a change (because we wanted a bigger bed) it was accommodated without any trouble. Housekeeping was great, efficient, and friendly. Pools, hot tub and beach were clean and nice, and beach towels were readily available. Our room had a 'fridge, 2 burner stove, microwave, and lots of dishes and utensils. My only complaints are that the towels could have been better, and the pillows were too hard. Good location on the beach strip.

Room Tip: There are multiple buildings, I can only speak to bldg 4. The oceanview rooms overlook the pool, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear pbear,
We were very happy to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about our friendly check in staff and clean efficient housekeeping team. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

From the first "welcome to sirata" we were blown away !! Amazing staff here.. Food at compass grill and rum runners is tasty,fresh and a great value.. We booked 2 kitchen suites with a court yard view .. We were nervous bout getting adjoining rooms(traveling with kids) so I called just to be sure .. Well when we got here we found we were upgraded free of charge to 6th floor ocean view .. Simply to accommodate our need for adjoining rooms !!! I loved this place and can't wait to come back!!!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

St. Pete Beach does not have big chain hotels, so it is hard to select a property to stay if you have never been to the area. As a travel agent, I had booked clients to the Sirata Beach Resort, having stayed there with my husband and two year old grandson... I would not book clients to stay there in the future. I never pull the travel agent card when visiting any property, I use the approach of a mystery shopper instead. That being said, I would give the Sirata Beach Resort a 4 out of 10.

We were very disappointed with the Sirata! We did not have a warm and inviting experience at the front desk. The elevator up to the room was slow and did not have any air circulation, it is glass facing the sun, so we were sweating by the time we got to our floor. We had a room with a view overlooking the parking lot and Harry's Beach Bar. We had a balcony room which made it easy to enjoy the music, sunsets, etc. The room was a nice size with a kitchenette and a living room area, this was nice with a two year old! However, we paid resort prices and upon arrival we discovered that the rooms and property needed major upgrades. It wasn't very clean and lacked ambiance. I have stayed at Holiday Inn Expresses with better amenities!!!

When we ordered food from Harry's the food was slow and the bartenders were not very friendly. We enjoyed all the food we ate at Harry's, Rum Runners and Compass Grille and the prices are fair to anything you get off the resort. However, we were completely disappointed in the service we received the entire time.

Sirata Beach Resort is conveniently on Gulf Blvd. It is within walking distance to shopping, liquor store, surf shop, restaurants, 7 Eleven, etc. If you do not have a car, you can rent a car at Sirata Beach Resort or there is an Enterprise down the street. However, there is a trolley/bus stop right in front of the resort and there are free shuttle taxis running all the time. www.stpetetrolley.com or www.jimmiefreebeachrides.com

If you travel and you have a specific image and expectation that comes to mind when you hear the word "Resort", you will be disappointed in the Sirata Beach Resort.

*** That being said, Many thanks to John (Michigan) the bellman, Melissa in housekeeping, and Derrick the security guard for always being upbeat, warm & fuzzy, and talkative. You three made our stay more pleasant than any other employees and we are grateful!!!! <3

Tanya Roberts

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Mauibabe,
Thank you for your kind comments about John, Melissa and Derrick. We were saddened to read you did not enjoy our beautiful property last July or our wonderful beach and vast recreational amenities. It was nice to see you liked your oversize suite with a kitchenette and your balcony was great for listening to our entertainment at Harry’s. We pride ourselves on having the most friendliest and responsive staff on the beach. I am so sorry we did not live up to your expectations. We thank you for your feedback and do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilton, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We decided to upgrade to a gulf view suite... Glad we did as we got a lot of sun. The suite had two rooms (not including the bathroom). The bedroom had two queen beds... Very comfortable... The front room was a combination sitting room/dining area. This area had a counter with three chairs for eating, another counter w/sink and cabinets with glasses and dishes... The unit had a small microwave and under counter refrigerator - all of which mets our needs. There was one upholstered chair (not comfortable) and sleeper sofa (also not comfortable to sit for length of time). The lighting was not very good if you wanted to curl up after dark to read anything that is not on an e-reader. The 13 acre facility has three restaurant/lounges and another bar in the lobby. Overall a good facility... I would go back.

Room Tip: Check out the room and view before you move in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in a beachfront room 2nd floor, the direct beach view was awesome!
The room was lacking, no refrigerator, no hair conditioner, windows were not cleaned well, the shower did not even have a shelf to put your soap and shampoo....... you had to put it on the floor in the shower???
No wifi, $9.95 extra per day, you also have to pay $8.00 per day to park in the hotel lot.
The staff working at both bars, Harry's and Rum Runner were not friendly at all, and the drinks were nothing special. Very disappointing as we were there the week before Christmas when the staff should be happy and welcoming to out of town visitors.
We usually stay at the Grand Plaza next door, we have always been happy with their service and accomodations. We thought we would try to save a few $$ and stay at the Sirata....that was a mistake.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Renne R,
Thank you for staying in one of our beautiful gulf front rooms. We were happy to read you thought the view was awesome, but sad to hear you had some issues with cleanliness and shelf space. We appreciate your feedback. The room does have a refrigerator as do all of our rooms in the entire hotel. Please accept our apologies for not living up to your expectations. We strive very diligently to make all our guests happy with a great gulf front resort and outstanding guest service. I am sorry we let you down. We do hope you will reconsider and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sirata Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirata Beach Resort

Address: 5300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sirata Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 13 privately owned beachfront acres directly on the Gulf of Mexico. This St. Pete Beach resort is family owned and operated for three generations. There are 3 beachfront pools, 2 whirlpools, fitness center, kid's play area & arcade and many water sport options. Compass Grille is a casual dining restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rum Runners Bar & Grille is located poolside and beachfront for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Harry's Beach Bar is a local institution featuring a casual menu, lounge setting around a fire pit directly on the beach. Both beach bars feature live entertainment on the weekends. There is something for everyone from a pool cabana, a beach cabana or hammock and the sunsets are are always amazing in the Sunset Capital of Florida located on the #1 Rated Beach is the US. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sirata Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirata Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Sirata Beach
Sirata St Pete Beach
Sirata Beach Resort Florida
Sirata Hotel
Sirata St Petersburg Fl
Sirata Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirata Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.