We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment and bitten by bedbugs!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sirata Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sirata Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sirata Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Big disappointment and bitten by bedbugs!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here for a week after a busy week in Orlando. Massive disappointment in the room, it stunk! Musty old and damp, went back to reception to change but they said hotel were full and we would have to wait until Sunday and then pay to move to another room! This holiday was being done on a budget otherwise we would have gone and checked in somewhere else.....We made the best of the room that we could.
Hardly any sleep was had for the week, the very old fashioned air conditioning unit that is attached to the window is very very noisy and god knows when the filter was last changed in it; it even had a bar of soap sqashed into the vents....probably someone's attempt to make the room smell better. We went to cvs after the first night to buy earplugs as with the noise of the unit and being next to the lift shaft it was really really bad.
The so called kitchen in the room is very old with very dated equipment to use (what little equipment there was) the only good point was the big fridge. The bedding was awful just sheets and a thin blanket covered by the 80's topper which stunk and had seen better days. Towards the end of the week my husband and I thought we had been bitten by Mosquitos or such like around the neck and lower leg area, we put bite cream on and thought no more of it. It was only on our return home that a relative pointed out that they looked like bedbug bites! We googled it and they matched perfectly yo the photos and descriptions on the Internet! Yuk yuk yuk....
I understand that bedbugs travel with people via hotel rooms but after reading other reviews on here I feel this is something that the hotel are not dealing with properly. This has to be a hotel problem, thankfully I didn't see the cockroaches that others have!
The room was absolutely the worst part of this old fashioned hotel, the pools and seating were good although very few umbrellas so no shade (people put towels out by 8am to secure the prized umbrellas even though signs say not to it was not enforced at all).....not fantastic by any means and the public toilets need some serious attention ...... Yuk! The only bonus of the pool areas was being able to take our own food and drink to them, there are signs telling you not to but nobody takes any notice. People were getting pizzas delivered to the pool area and bringing Macdonalds! We ate at Harry's bar for lunch the first day, $80 for four small meals and a drink each the food was ok but nothing fantastic.
The hotel also has no soul....no reception area just a check in place it feels much more like a motel than anything else.
Beaches as lovely as always, the location is the only thing this hotel has got. The must be 1000's of hotels along this beach and other like it I would advise you to go and research another one as you will be be very disappointed in the rooms here!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank ManchesterFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siratabeach, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
As mentioned in previous reviews Sirata Beach Resort is in the process of remodeling the rooms with new furniture, bedding and sleeper sofas. The suites in the main building have been completed and we are currently working on the other rooms, which will be completed by the end of the year. Due to the tropical nature of our location bites can be made by a variety of insects, including sand flies, especially on the lower leg area. We are contracted with a professional pest control company who manages our property on a regular basis and deal with issues as they arise in a very professional manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
NYC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

First of all the rooms are so outdated it's a bit shocking. We ended up switching rooms after the first night because our room was pretty sucky. For example, the bathtub was broken and had a plastic covering the broken section. The bed spreads looked like they were from another decade. I called American Express Travel services and asked them to talk to the hotel for me. Amex helped me get another room. When I went to the front desk the lady at the front desk asked me why I called Amex instead of calling them first. I thought that was a bit akward. If I wanted to deal with the hotel management I would have spoken to them first, instead I wanted something easy and of course it's always easier when Amex takes care of things. Anyway, the location is nice. The pool areas were great and the outdoor seating area also had a great set of bartenders that raced around with drinks. I think this would be a good place if you had kids, you're right on the beach and have access to nice pools. Otherwise, I think you might want to look elsewhere if you're looking for a semi-fancy to fancy hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCtraveler33Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I really like this place but there always seems to be issues with being overcharged when we stay here. The staff always takes care of the issues, but it takes time to straighten these issues out. I'm guessing that it is an issue with their software. I got my gripe out of the way, so on with the good. The staff here does a great job of taking of the guests. The front desk, the security guards and housekeeping were all pleasant people to deal with and seemed to be happy to be there. The staff at Harry's treated us very well. Paris was very kind to us and tended to our needs. The whole staff at Harry's is outstanding. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone, just double check your bill at checkout and check your credit card balance a few days afterwards.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuitarBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida'sSpacecoast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Had a nice stay at the Sirata, until we got home. Stayed the weekend and enjoyed the pool area with bar (rum runners was great, with friendly staff). Overall a nice resort, would have returned back. However, after a nice relaxing vacation...returned home to unpack, only to find bedbugs CRAWLING ON OUR LUGGAGE. Absolutely disgusting, horrifying, and unnaceptable. Immediately took the bags outside, searched the car, shook out all the clothes and scowered the room that the bags were in to make sure none were brought inside. I have NEVER stayed at a hotel, much less a resort and found bedbugs. Totally disgusting and frankly, scary. You have been warned.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmann929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siratabeach, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Due to the global movement of travelers it sometimes becomes inevitable that on occasions bugs are found in a hotel room. Our staff are trained to look for signs of bedbugs and if found will immediately contact our pest control company. We are contracted with a very reputable pest control company who are knowledgeable and experienced to deal with such issues. We sincerely apologize that you had to experience this and it is unfortunate that we could not have dealt with the situation while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed one night as a break from being in Orlando. Arrived at hotel at about 2.30pm to find that room wasn't ready, but headed to Harry's Bar for an enjoyable drink and lunch. Once we had finished went back and found that the room was available to check into.

We were only able to book a standard room through Virgin Holidays over here, but had contacted the hotel in advance and had managed to upgrade to a suite which had bunk beds for the children, to give us a break from them. The room was very light and airy and clean.

The suite was comfortable and clean, although the decor in the children's room could have been better, ripped wallpaper, but as only there for one night it was not a problem.

Overall good value for money for what we paid with parking being included within our package.

Would recommend to anybody for a short stay. As I said, location, location, location is a strong draw for this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a suite with bunk beds if travelling with children as it gives them their own space and the adu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Checked in at 4p one day and out at 730a the next! That's all I could stand. Hotel is an old property which is not the complaint. It's the uncleanliness. Obvious, the maintenance budget must have been cut. Bathroom too small to move around & not sanitary. Tub had been covered with a liner that was slick & flimsy. Room felt generally dirty. Sheets thinning and did not smell clean. Very old AC unit. Not sure when filter had been cleaned. Pools are small and all the more reason to discipline/monitor children especially the small ones with diapers. UGH! Did not have a desire to try the restaurants, never felt property was clean. Had a wonderful dinner at MadFish, only a couple blocks away and highly recommend! Hotel staff at check-in friendly but did not volunteer any helpful information for our stay nor engage in conversation. The check-out was frustrating. Tried to tell rep the room was not clean, he had absolutely no interest nor a concern. Offered no comment as if I was not speaking. Makes me think he hears this regularly. SO glad I only had one night booked! The location is on a beautiful beach area. Which I guess is what the pricey rates are for- not the product. The Sirata has the potential to be very nice if smartly renovated and managed!!. Unfortunately, I have no desire to go back!

Room Tip: ? Not sure of other room inventory
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cosmicsole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very large suite, on beautiful beach.
Room was meticulously clean and bright.
Kitchen suite was very useful, and the suite coud have slept six in a pinch. Restaurant was so-so, and pools were small, but we werent there for the food.
Would defintely recommend ithis hotel, especially if space is a priority

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rooney10Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.3 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#9 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach
0.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#25 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#27 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
17.3 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Resort
Coconut Cove All Suite Resort
#17 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirata Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirata Beach Resort

Address: 5300 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Sirata Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 13 privately owned beachfront acres directly on the Gulf of Mexico. This St. Pete Beach resort is family owned and operated for three generations. There are 3 beachfront pools, 2 whirlpools, fitness center, kid's play area & arcade and many water sport options. Compass Grille is a casual dining restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rum Runners Bar & Grille is located poolside and beachfront for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Harry's Beach Bar is a local institution featuring a casual menu, lounge setting around a fire pit directly on the beach. Both beach bars feature live entertainment on the weekends. There is something for everyone from a pool cabana, a beach cabana or hammock and the sunsets are are always amazing in the Sunset Capital of Florida located on the #1 Rated Beach is the US. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, Low Cost Holidays and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sirata Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirata Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Sirata Beach
Sirata St Pete Beach
Sirata Beach Resort Florida
Sirata Hotel
Sirata St Petersburg Fl
Sirata Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing