We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay-cation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
Inn on the Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1401 Gulf Way, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay-cation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

OH man, Inn on Beach felt like it was 100 miles away, even though it is only 7. Location is awesome- several places to eat & drink- we never got back in our car. Oh yeah- the beach is awesome too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    39
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
117
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Petersburg FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This has been my/our third stay and each one has been very good. Sheila is wonderful and the only thing this Inn is missing is a pool. Our room was nice and we spent all our time at the beach. This little community is fun and eclectic. I will definitely come back. Soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

In June, my partner and I were going to be in St. Petersburg for a high school graduation, and we decided we'd like to stay in the St. Pete Beach area, right on the gulf. We looked on the Internet at quite a few different places, condominiums as well as small hotels, and we ended up making the best possible choice -- the charming, comfortable Inn on the Beach in Pass-a-Grille. We called and talked with Sheila, the knowledgeable and ever-helpful innkeeper, and we were fortunate enough to be able to book the Spoonbill Room upstairs. This was perfect for us, quiet but with a small balcony overlooking the gulf (which is across a street, but nevertheless close by and beautiful).

When we checked in, Sheila made us feel very welcome and asked if she could help with anything. When we said we thought we'd like to see a movie, she looked on the Internet and printed out for us the schedule for a movie house up the beach. She also told us about a marvelous Mexican restaurant called Agave, up near the movie theater. So our first afternoon and evening there couldn't have been more enjoyable -- a warm welcome, an extremely comfortable room, a delicious meal, and a good movie. After we got back to the Inn and had parked for the night, we walked over to the beach and took a stroll in the moonlight, with a very welcome breeze off the gulf.

The rest of our week there was equally fine, and we particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit for breakfast on Saturday and Sunday. So do yourself a favor. If you are looking for a place in the St. Pete Beach area, look no further than charming Pass-a-Grille and the excellent Inn on the Beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNonBeach, Manager at Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, Kailuum, and we appreciate the time you took to submit such a detailed account of your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon on our oil-free beaches here in Pass-a-grille!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Visited the Inn for our anniversary of July 4th weekend. While the weather wasn't the best, the Inn was great. Nice little boutique hotel more than a B&B. Stayed in the Pelican room. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean - can't ask for much more than that Location was awesome. Less than a minute to the beach - right across Gulf Way. Short walk to all the Pass-a-Grille restaurants. We've been coming to this beach for years for the day, first time we stayed over. Will definitely do it again and stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We have been coming to Pass a Grille for a about a Year. This was first visit to Inn on the beach. But definitely not our last. Shelia was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The beach is beautiful and so easy to get to. The room very clean and everything you could want. We are planning to be back again in July.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

This place is located right across the beach in Pass-A-Grille so you can really forget about your car and walk to the shore or to restaurants, bars, etc. We stayed in the Hibiscus room, which is on the ground floor and has a small shared patio. It has a well-equipped kitchen and small dining area as well. The bed was pretty comfortable but the A/C unit is very loud so that posed a problem at night (even with earplugs). Staff was nice and helpful although one of the days our room didn't get made/cleaned but we did not complain about it. Their wi-fi is pretty fast and free and they offer coffee in the mornings. Another plus was having beach chairs and beach towels available for guests. Overall a great place to stay in Pass-A-Grille. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNonBeach, Manager at Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2010
we are glad you enjoyed your visit to Pass-a-grille, and thank you for choosing to stay at our Inn. We are also happy that you would consider us for a future visit - repeat visitors are very important to us. Please accept our apologies for the missed daily maid service you experienced - this is not up to our service standard, and we would love to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend and we had a perfect stay. The room was spotless and the price was right. The Inn is directly across from the beach, and a quick walk along the surf brings you to a number of nice restaurants - the perfect way to travel.

The interior courtyard was a nice touch and a great place to close out the evening with a glass of wine under the stars. Above all, we were surpised at how quiet it was; not even any cars.

I highly recommend the Inn and will definitely return.

By the way, we stayed in the Periwinkle room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Beach

Address: 1401 Gulf Way, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, beach-casual, friendly Inn with updated, comfy rooms located in the historic community of Pass-a-grille, southern end of St Pete Beach. Daily coffee service, weekend breakfasts, beach towels & chairs, BBQ grill, parking, and WiFi provided at no additional charge. Peaceful, walking and biking-friendly area, beautiful beaches, good restaurants, boutique shops, and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Inn On The Beach Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.