We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pink Little Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
Inn on the Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1401 Gulf Way, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sagamore Hills, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Pink Little Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful, relaxing week at Inn on the Beach and couldn't have asked for a better place! So close to the beach and within walking distance to cute little shops and restaraunts. We stayed in The Egret room with a nice view of the Gulf. On the weekends the Innkeeper puts out a nice variety of pastries, fruit, mufiins, etc and each morning there is fresh coffee brewing. Sheila the Innkeeper and Dee the Assistant Innkeeper were very friendly and so helpful, always asking what they can do for you. We loved our room, and I highly recommend getting a top floor room if you can. We had a nice little kitchen, and the bed was super comfy (king sized). The bathroom shower was really nice too. We have stayed at other places before up the street, but after staying here, we would not choose to stay anywhere else. The other guests were very friendly, and other than some loud voices a few times that we heard during the evening hours in the courtyard, the place was really quiet. There is very little street noise as well. There is a grill in the courtyard too, if you would choose to grill out. It was really nice having a balcony to sit on in the morning as we had our coffee, and then in the evening for drinks. We had several guests come to visit us there and they also really thought is was great! There was no pool, but it really didn't matter to us. It's just a 2 minute walk to the beach. Thanks Sheila and everyone else there for a great week!! The Taddeos/Cleveland, OH

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    39
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
121
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

My husband and I spent two days at Inn on the Beach at Pass-a-Grille, St. Pete's, Florida. We loved the location as we were right across a quiet street from the beautiful beach and the Gulf. Great sunsets. We were pleasantly surprised to have stumbled upon this Inn in a great quiet location. The Innkeeper is very nice.

There is complimentary coffee in the morning in a small public area outside which is a nice touch. You can also use beach chairs and beach towels for guests. There are no bicycles or pool. We stayed in the Orchid room and we were impressed with the size of the room - two double beds with a nice fully equipped kitchen. This was a bonus as we didn't realize they were efficiency units.

But upon staying there the first night we quickly realized this room was not sound proof. We were on the ground floor and could hear EVERY little noise from the unit above us - and I'm telling you some noises we did NOT want to hear. The furniture was being scraped on the floor. We could hear the people walking around and even snoring!! Plus other things !!

The beds should be upgraded and also the TV and the linens. The unit was very clean though.

We really enjoyed the surroundings, gardens and little courtyard but found the room to be a bit overpriced considering some of the negatives we experienced with this unit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on second floor so you don't hear noise coming from units above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNonBeach, Manager at Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you so much, Shar0nOntari0, for taking the time to review your stay at the Inn - we appreciate your constructive comments. Glad you enjoyed spending time in our central courtyard, and the beach area in which we are located. I'm sorry you were disturbed by some noise above you; if I would have been aware of the situation I would certainly have attempted to do something to take care of it. It hasn't been a regular occurrence. Upgrades are an ongoing process for us, and its true the Orchid Room, along with a couple of other rooms, still has an older-style television, unlike most of our other rooms which have flat screen TVs. We also take a lot of care to use 100% cotton linens and our sheets are selected for their thread count and color, among other considerations. I'm sorry you weren't happy with yours. The mattresses and box springs in the Orchid Room are 5 years old or less, but I understand that mattresses don't always feel the best for everyone, so I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the sleep experience at the Inn. If you get another opportunity to visit the area, we hope you will give us a second chance to help you enjoy Pass-a-grille - and good luck with your future endeavours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn on the Beach during the week leading up to our wedding. We have a fantastic time and nearly two years later we wanted to return to experience Pass-a-grille again. We stayed in the Blue Heron room and had a fantastic sunset view from our balcony. The balcony makes this room! The Innkeeper, Shelia, was as always so friendly and the room had everything that we needed along with comfort. I will definitely be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: The Blue Heron has a great balcony with a wonderful view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNonBeach, Manager at Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
It was so nice to have you and Alan back to visit, Andi - I can't believe its been two years since your beautiful wedding! Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with others, and for continuing to be special guests at the Inn. We appreciate you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Pass A Grill offers all of the beauty of being a stone throw from the surf, great restaurants, trendy shops and art stores, harbors, but none of the traffic and crowds of St. Petes. The beach is gorgeous and steps from your room. But, perhaps the single best thing about staying at Inn on the Beach is Sheila's (and her staff's) ability to provide a sense of guest privacy while also providing prompt service/assistance when required.

Room Tip: All rooms open directly onto the courtyard. If you plan to spend much of your time in your room, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNonBeach, Manager at Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
We are happy that you chose to spend part of the holiday season with us, IowaUrbanPioneers, and very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Pass-a-grille. I appreciate your kind comments, and will pass them along to our hard-working staff - they are the best!! We hope to see you back very soon:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This is a small inn across the street from the beach. The street is meaningless; there is more traffic in some hotel parking lots. We were steps from the ocean and actually much closer than we have sometimes been when staying in ocean-front places. Chairs and towels are available for guests.
There are only 15 units, with 12 opening off of the central courtyard. We stayed in an efficiency that was a few steps separate from the courtyard. It was very clean and well-maintained. There was maid service twice the first week and then weekly there-after, but towels are replaced every day.
We will be back. We love Pass-a-Grille and now we love the Inn-on-the-Beach, too.

Room Tip: The pictures on the website are a good representation of what you are getting. The Love Shack is ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I have been going to Inn on the Beach since the year before we were married at this very spot. Once we found the charming and welcoming community of Pass-a-Grille, and Sheila and the Inn's hospitality and good care, we were hooked.
This year will be our 5th anniversary and guess where we will be? At this charming Inn, a stone's throw from the beach. We are so excited to have family joining us this year for a few days..... as well as our special friends from afar.... again.
Our room (as we have claimed it year after year), has a kitchen, windows on three sides and ceiling fan, king size bed, plus a balcony that provides us more living space and allows full view of the lovely sunset every day. And, we fully utilize the courtyard for grilling out and many a social gathering. Thank you Sheila for being the best!
Inn on the Beach here we come!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband & I were looking for a nice place to rent at the beach to celebrate our 17th anniversary & feel very fortunate to have found 'Inn on the Beach'! The inn is well located in the Pass-A-Grille area of St Pete Beach and is within walking distance of many shops & restaurants. The property is located directly across the street from the beach w/a beach access ramp. The innkeeper, Shiela, was great! Since we stayed on the weekend, there was a complimentary continental breakfast both Saturday & Sunday morning. A nice bowl of cut up fruit, assorted danish/pastries, bagels, cinnamon-raisin toast, juice, coffee, etc....very nice. The courtyard area is a lovely & quiet spot to eat breakfast. We had the opportunity to also see a few of the different rooms in the inn that were not rented for that weekend and all were spotless, nicely decorated & spacious. We did not stay in the inn itself, but in one of the nearby 'cottages' actually located behind the inn ("The Love Shack" cottage). It was super clean, tranquil, spacious, private & perfect! This upstairs cottage appeared to have been recently renovated & had wood floors, a nice sitting area, dining area & kitchen. The bath was a bit small, but was very nicely updated as well. Check their website for specials.....we got a great deal due to Sept being 'off' season :) Looking forward to going back soon!!

Room Tip: If want a gulf front/view room, the Blue Heron, White Ibis or Egret are your best bets. For more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Beach

Address: 1401 Gulf Way, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, beach-casual, friendly Inn with updated, comfy rooms located in the historic community of Pass-a-grille, southern end of St Pete Beach. Daily coffee service, weekend breakfasts, beach towels & chairs, BBQ grill, parking, and WiFi provided at no additional charge. Peaceful, walking and biking-friendly area, beautiful beaches, good restaurants, boutique shops, and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Inn On The Beach St. Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.