We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally De-Stressed!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island's End Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Island's End Resort to your Saves list
Island's End Resort
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Pass-A-Grille Way, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Totally De-Stressed!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was our 2nd time staying in Unit F. It is the smallest unit on the property but boasts its own private deck on the water. There is nothing better then spending three days on that private deck just watching the boats and water go by. That deck is definitely a wonderful way to rid yourself of stress. We will be back again and again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winter Springs, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our second time staying here and it just gets better each time! Whether you are enjoying the private dock or shelling around the point, the Island's End is the perfect place to forget everything and just relax! Incredible breakfast on Saturdays and very welcoming front office staff! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were in FL for an annual reunion and were returning guests to Island’s End. Last year we stayed in lovely Unit F which is right on the water. Unit F is kitschy cute whereas Unit B where we stayed May 1-5 is worn and tired. The kitchen is in the bedroom. The sheets were pilly and the comforter needed cleaning. Worse, each day brought us a new giant cockroach. The first was discovered in the bathroom on day 1. Next cockroach was found when it crawled on my ankle while I was standing in the bedroom - it felt like a bite and was a horrible experience. We told management who tried to placate us by telling us it was a Palmetto bug. (Palmetto bug is a cuter name than the American cockroach). No offer to change rooms or even an apology. The bathroom door is dirty and the bathtub looks dirty and water stained. The community washing machine was filthy.

Even worse was the shabby treatment given to us by the owner. We are middle-aged professional business women. We returned after a late evening and one of us thought she had lost her wallet. She went outside to look for it and unfortunately, woke up another hotel guest. The next morning while at breakfast on the deck of the office, the owner loudly and publicly said that we had woken up the entire place the night before looking for the wallet (but not her and she lives onsite-just yards away). We profusely apologized as we felt terrible, but the owner wouldn’t let up-she went on and on about it; we were stunned by her meanness. Her berating us was not simply unprofessional, she was contemptuous. She continued to scold us as if where we delinquent teenagers. She even said something derogatory about us having breakfast so late (10:45am-we were on vacation!). We found out later by a nice staff person that only ONE person complained and they had checked out so we couldn’t apologize directly to him. Because it was raining, we stayed in that afternoon – we had to shut the blinds because we could see the owner peering over at us from the office deck while she cleaned.

Breakfast is served only once a week. The resident dog is super cute. The staff is very nice, warm and helpful. The location is good. The place needs updating and a good cleaning. The dust behind the dresser is half an inch thick (an item slid behind the dresser, so we had to look). The cockroaches were disgusting. The treatment by the owner was inexcusable. No one in our group of four will ever stay there again. We relayed our poor treatment to the others in our reunion group of 12 along with the local people we know there. Such poor business relations to alienate and be so disrespectful to guests – exponentially bad considering how many people we know.

Very expensive hotel for intolerably poor treatment and worn furnishings ... and cockroaches. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Unit F is great - right on the water. Private and away from the leering eyes of the owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islands E, Manager at Island's End Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
I am sorry you had such an unhappy stay with us this time. Unfortunately for us, the palmetto bugs and / or cockroaches are always a big problem. We did have Orkin come out and spray after you noticed them. I do not know why Unit B has more that the others. Our working theory is because it is surrounded by trees that they like to hide in.

As for the treatment by the "owner". That person is not the owner, she is an employee. She has been spoken with. You should not have been treated that way. If there was a problem with noise, it should have been addressed in private. No matter what, our goal is to make our guests excited to come back.

Breakfast is actually served 3 times per week; Tuesday and Thursday have a continental breakfast while Saturday has a hot breakfast.

I am glad you enjoyed Gunner (he's mine), I know he loved the attention you girls gave him.

We never want guests unhappy, so I hope you will give us a chance to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonet Point, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My Brother and SIL just got married here on 5-10-14. The grounds are well maintained and quaint in a beachy Florida style. The views spectacular! Rooms were clean and stocked with the essentials. What puts them above 5 stars are the employees. I can't say enough good things about them.

They went above and beyond their job to help make things happen and in doing so took a lot of stress off the wedding party not only during the set-up, but throughout the evening.

From setting up lights, to having a stash of plastic table covers to offer up when we were short. Saving the Mother of the Bride a trip out to the store. When the corsage pins were misplaced, they even had those. Guests were greeted for us as we scrambled to finish getting ready. Melodie even changed into a nice dress that matched our colors and stayed late into the evening to make sure things went smoothly.

Thank you for the hospitality! You gals are amazing!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful property, exceptionally clean lodges and GREAT fishing. Melody, property manager, was a joy to talk every day. Had the opportunity to meet the owner who was so friendly and showed us around property. This is a dog friendly property and have their very own mascot, Gunner. Sunsets are beautiful so make shore you walk the shoreline under the dock.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our second year at Island's End was just what we needed after the Winter of 2014: We talk about our return all year, but during those cold, snowy days it is especially nice to look forward to our trip south, come April. The peaceful setting, ocean view, access to the beach and cordial staff keep us coming back - We are have booked for 2015. We are in cottage "C", in the center of the grounds: Living room, one bedroom, bath and full kitchen, perfect for us. Fishing off the end of the pier is an enjoyable pastime for some of the guests, I prefer the relaxation offered by the hammock and lounge chairs, soaking up some much needed warmth. Walks on the beach or the streets of Pass A Grille are a good way to start the day - Taking the dog next door to the unofficial dog beach is a blast too. Yes, this resort is pet friendly, and I think/know our dog Auggie had the best time, Two or three days each week the staff serves a breakfast that serves as an opportunity to network with the other guests who are willing to share their adventures and of stories of home. If your looking for a place to relax, shed life in the fast lane for awhile, this could be the place for you. We had a wonderful time, left just a few days ago, those memories will keep us going for another year until we rejoin our friends in the place we call, Paradise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

This is our fifth year in a row to spent part of March and early April at Islands End. We have added even more time for next year planning a full three weeks here as an escape from the frigid North. We like our compact Unit E with a view of both the morning sunrise and evening sunset from our front door deck. This end of the peninsula is quiet and relaxed and the staff is attentive to our needs.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island's End Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island's End Resort

Address: 1 Pass-A-Grille Way, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island's End Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Island's End Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island`s End Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Island's End Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island's End Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.