We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best local bar on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Undertow

The Undertow
3850 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
(727) 368-9000‎
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Best local bar on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Don't go here if you don't like eclectic, funky atmosphere. Old hotel converted into a beach bar. No riff raff here. Bartenders wear cool bathing suits and bar has water running through it! Employees give great service. Kitchen is closed right now but good food can be ordered and delivered from their sister restaurant. Volleyball and fun beach games to pass the time on the beach.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    5
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It is a good place to go to prime for the evening, good drink specials pool tables. It would be nice if the had more in the way of entertainment like live music, but basically it is just a bar/lounge.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Watch your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I live in the area and I have been to the Tow many times. Let me tell you about the last two and final times. You can't run a tab without handing over your credit card. So I pay cash.
I bought one beer and gave the barmaid a twenty dollar bill,she threw the change in her tip jar. I asked for my change she said oh you want that back. I said people give you a twenty a single beer and she said Yeah all the time. I got my change and an attitude with it. This happened again about a week later different girl same attitude. I'm done!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Beac Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Undertow is awesome. Sits right on the beach. Volleyball out back. Beautiful and sweet bartenders. More craft beers than I can count. Renovated open air pool room. Food delivered from Smileys. Come enjoy a beautiful Gulf sunset at the best beach bar on SPB!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“It would be better if food served”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Went here fir the first time this past weekend. Great spot on the beach to sit and enjoy the views with drinks. Only bad thing is no food is served. There is an independent food stand just outside the doors that sells pizza/hotdogs. If you want more than that to eat your out of luck.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Undertow also viewed

 
Saint Pete Beach, FL
Saint Pete Beach, FL
 

Been to The Undertow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Undertow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.