We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Palm Restaurant - CLOSED

Black Palm Restaurant
109 8th Ave, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
727.360.5000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Tapas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Black Palm, nesteled on historic 8th Ave in Pass a Grille is a must for anyone vacationing in Pass A Grille. The atmosphere is wonderful with a large indoor bar and seating with original art, also with a large patio for outdoor dining. The food ranges from a wide variety of Tapas to a nice selection of entrees and desserts. The Paella is an excellent choice. Mostly cuban influence on the menu. (the website lists the full menu).

The service was top notch. (Kevin was the best). The food is a little pricey, but very good. The overall experience is worth every penny. And they accept reservations!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    29
    9
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

On a chilly January night, my wife and I stopped in and had a great meal of soup and a variety of tapas. The food was great, interesting and well prepared. Service was even better, informative and friendly. Watch out the serving are larger than you think.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Paella Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went to the Black Palm for dinner and had the best seafood Paella ever! It was loaded with shrimp, scallops, calamari, mussels, and snapper served over a bed of orzo with saffron and peas. Would highly recommend stopping by this wonderful gem of a resturant in Pass A Grille.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Best place in Pass-a-Grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a wonderful time sitting outside listening to live music. I enjoyed ordering lots of stuff off the tapas menu and sharing. The scallop dish was the favorite. Also, I thought their wine list had lots of options at various price points.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants... on the planet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I've eaten here every time I visit Pass-a-grille (a coupla' times a year) since The Black Palm opened. They have never been off their game. They people are friendly, the patio is wonderful, and the food... wow.

The last time we ate (a few days ago), we all had tapas and had a great time. Here's the best part... 3 adults and two small but hungry children ate (and drank) very well for a final bill of $107. A true bargain for the quality. Six months ago, we went with friends and had every tapas on the menu (again with ample booze) and the bill for two couples was about $150. And this, for an amazing meal.

Truly 5-stars!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Palm Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Palm Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.