We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Parrot

Blue Parrot
68 W. Gorrie Dr, St. George Island, FL 32328-2702
850/927-2987
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Fostoria, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Blue Parrot has a great beach vibe going on. We ate on the decking closest to the water and even at 7:30pm at night it was still a warm night and it was great sitting out by the beach. Our waitress was great and even though they were absolutely swamped with people she was attentive and I didn't think the food was too slow arriving. The food was what you'd expect at any typical seafood restaurant. It was the best seafood I've ever had, but it was pretty good. Between the 10 of us I think several of us ordered something different so we could all sample each others meals. The fresh oysters were very good and everyone who got fresh fish said it was quite good as well.
The only concern I had was for the amount of money they charge (and I'm used to eating out, so I'm not necessarily complaining about the prices) I thought it could've been a little better done as far as serving. What I mean is for the salad course we got a small dinner salad on a small flimsy paper plate. Most of the meals were served in baskets, though I think the catch of the day was on a plate. I've never gone to a sit down restaurant before and had my salad served on a paper plate. All the utensils were plastic. I understand that when you are serving the amount of people they are in a night they are trying to economize and maybe save some time in the kitchen, but if I'm paying at least $15 a plate then I would at the least expect a real salad on a real plate with real utensils.
All that said, I would go there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    199
    121
    43
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will NEVER go back!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

There arent many choices on St George Island and Blue Parrot is right on the water so we figured we'd give it a try. My husband and I sat for 15 mins while at least 4 servers walked right by our table, no one acknowleging us. They'd look at their watches and walk right by us like we were there at a bad time. Mind you, it was 4pm and we had just rolled off the beach and were ready for some cocktails and munchies. The place wasn't busy so I finally went to ask someone about getting service. She said she'd send someone right over. As we continue to wait, we see a female server on the far side of the bar sitting with a patron and eating off his plate. A manager then comes out and she gets up from her seat and goes toward him, he asks her if we were sitting at a table in her section, and she says "no". He asks her again, who's table we were sitting at and she replies that "it wasn't her table last night, but it was today." He looked as baffled as we were with her response but it was evident to us she didnt want to wait on us. It was an uncomfortable situation to be in as a customer and we weren't going to spend a dime of our hard earned money at this establishment. The food and drinks are way over priced for that kind of service. We got up to leave and the waitress and manager came after us and offered us a "drink" but at that point we weren't comfortable staying. I'm sure her shift was probably almost over and she was trying to get out of there. But they did us a huge favor because we drove 15 minute drive to Apalachacola to The Owl where they actually appreciate your business, provide great service and the food is dynamite! Ask for Bonnie, she took great care of us! My advice is to spend your dollar somewhere other than the Blue Parrot. I'm a professional corporate trainer so this is my area of expertise and we will never go back to this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Outdoor seating on the Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Ate here a few weeks ago. The food was decent enough, though I thought the seafood was frozen. Their was better food to be had on the island; however, this restaurant has great outdoor seating right along the beach. If I had one place to eat at again, it'd be here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best dinner on island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Gulf front dining on grouper by the tiki bar and orange dreamsickle cocktail for dessert. I could eat here every night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, TN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Still Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We visit the Blue Parrot every time we go to St. George. The view is just the best on the island, and the food, while standard and not particularly creative, is always fresh caught and carefully prepared. Our grouper basket was delicious, and the fries are those homemade fries with the skin still on. Having traveled all over Florida, this place is still in running with some of the best.

The Tiki bar too is just excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Parrot also viewed

St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Blue Parrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Parrot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.