We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Buccaneer Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. George Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buccaneer Inn
Save
You added Buccaneer Inn to your Saves list
160 West Gorrie Drive, St. George Island, FL 32328   |  
Hotel amenities
Cairo, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dissappointed!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

My husband surprised me with a trip to St. George Island for my b.day/anniversary. I think he was more surprised than I. Our room was filthy. We had paid for a gulf view with a hot-tub ($150.00 + tax per night). What we got was a room with a kitchenette that we had no intention of using (only could stay 1 night), a bathroom so small, my husband who is 6'2 had to get on his knees to shower (no hot-tub) and the view of the gulf was blurred by windows that were so filthy we could not see through them. We requested another room but they were booked and could not get one nor a refund. This was really dissappointing to us due to fact that this has been our first alone trip since our daughters was born 7 years ago.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    42
    22
    17
    27
See reviews for
40
52
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

I stayed at the Buccaneer Inn, on Saint George Island. In a Parking Lot Side Kitchenette 5/18 thru 5/22, and was extremely pleased with everything. The Motel & staff was GREAT!
I loved the whole laid back enviroment of The Island.
When we arrived our refigerator was not on and we were minus some linens. It only took
one phone call to the Front Office and within minutes the Staff were there correcting the problems. The Staff were always pleasant from sun up to sun down. We were leary about the Buccaneer Inn after reading several different reviews. However you really cant knock it until you try it! Are stay was nothing like other people have had. Sorry everyone
else had bad experinces. But are was GREAT! and we cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

We have stayed at this motel several times. After having anything we didn't lock up or tie down stolen, we decided it was not a place we would return. The management could care less that our things were stolen and the it is not kept very clean. Anyone who thinks this is a nice place to stay probably hasn't stayed in a nice motel/hotel!

  • Stayed May 2003
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. George Island hotels

Jackson, Tennessee
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2005

Just as their information is stated, the motel is old. There is much room for improvement. If you are use to newer motels/hotels, then don't do this. You will regret it. If you must try it, then be sure you reserve a room in the newer section which are Gulf Rooms. This is remote rooms, a Villa off to the side of the orginal motel. These are newer, probably 1980's. They were cleaner than the motel. The rate is more but you will be glad you did it after seeing the motel. By the way, the pictures you see on their website, are the Gulf View rooms, not the motel.
Overall, we enjoyed our visit to St. George Island. There are plenty of unique places to eat and not so crowded. I would advise booking a condo east of the St. George Island bridge.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2005

We stayed at the Buccaneer inn for 2 nights. origionally we reserved a suite with the kitchen, but the carpets, furniture, cabinets and refrigerator were disgustingly filthy!!!!!! They did let us look at some other rooms and pick a newer cleaner room but the pictures on their web site are nothing like the rooms. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2005

We stayed at the Buccaneer Inn in Februray. Got a great room! Beautiful view of the beach from our balcony and great location to everything. Everyone was polite and helpful. Look forward to making it a yearly tradition!

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2004

we spent the 4th of july weekend here and had a great time. the hotel is right on the beach and for the price, you cant go wrong. it was clean and the staff were courteous. it is a wonderful place to go as a family with the children.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buccaneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Inn

Address: 160 West Gorrie Drive, St. George Island, FL 32328
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > St. George Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. George Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently updated, queen and king beds, non-smoking, outdoor swimming pool, grills, conference room, kitchenettes and regular rooms. Family environment. No pets please. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Hotel St. George Island
Buccaneer Hotel Saint George Island
Buccaneer Motel Saint George Island
Buccaneer St George Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccaneer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.