We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the breakfast...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Pit

The Beach Pit
49 West Pine Ave, St. George Island, FL 32328
850-799-1020
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week. We have fresh seafood, oysters, steaks, as well as Texas style BBQ. We also have a full bar serving beer, wine and liquor! We offer a relaxed atmosphere indoors as well as a screened in outdoor patio area. As always, our main goal is to give the best service possible and the best home made food available in the area at the most competitive prices!We have also opened our 2nd location in Eastpoint where Captain Snooks used to be.....Beach Pit On The Bay! We are the only restaurant in Eastpoint with a full bar and waterfront dining! At Beach Pit On The Bay we have Happy Hour from 3-6 Monday-Friday offering specials on oysters and bar drinks.
Hawkeye, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Skip the breakfast...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

There are very few places in this area to get breakfast. We chose the Beach Pit because it's the only place on the island that serves breakfast. Our waitress was friendly. I ordered the French toast because the menu said they had a "sweet creamy filling." The French toast was two ordinary pieces of bread with powdered sugar sprinkled on top. I can make this at home in 5 minutes! I also ordered a chocolate milk. The milk was warm and barely had any chocolate flavor at all. The person cooking the bacon in the kitchen must have been the one making my chocolate milk, as the glass smelled like bacon grease. My boyfriend had an omelet. It was nothing special and tasted like vegetable oil. We felt that the food was overpriced for the quality we received. Burger King in Apalachacola was much better.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    84
    44
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beach Pit - Appropriately named”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The atmosphere here was poor. The waittress had poor eye contact, wore a dirty T-shirt, and slapped our menus down on the table. She then went to the back area where she yelled to the kitchen staff. The food was mediocre. The small piece of fish on my sandwich was swallowed up by the large bun. Sorry I spent my money here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The place for breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We've tried most all restaurants on St. George Island. The Peach Pit stands out with their breakfast. Serving the starter meal until noon gives them a leg up on the competition. Many egg choices. Onions grilled in the potatos on request, a good variety of pancakes, and plenty of hot coffee gets the day going. We can't say anything about the rest of the menu as we only get as far as breakfast. But, encourage you to start your day at the Peach Pit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola FL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“a very ordinary place for breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This place is the only one on St George Island open for a full breakfast...We were disappointed in the quality of the food except for the ham. the eggs were cooked to order and they were fine. the toast was not even buttered unless you asked for it. The waffle was bland and not really hot at all. I had a cheese omelet and it was very unappetizing as the cheese was not even melted. The service was fine and was speedy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An ordinary breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The restaurant was in walking distance so decided to try for breakfast. The service was fast and efficient. The breakfast was just average. I had an omelet and the cheese was not melted. There were no breakfast potatoes on the menu. We decided to cook breakfast at home after that one.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Pit also viewed

St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Beach Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.