We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach to your Saves list
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   430 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Based on the positive reviews on TA, we booked the Hampton Inn-Vilano and were pleased. Thanks, TA users. The hotel is quiet, situated away fromn the traffic clogged bustle of downtown. The room was very large and well furnished. parking easy and breakfast very good. The staff were always available and helpful.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    240
    119
    49
    18
See reviews for
254
307
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thompson s Station, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

I suppose this was officially the off season but there was a bike week event going on. Even so, with a completely booked row of hotels on the beach, it was quiet as I've been at a developed beach. There are restaurants nearby, 'civilization' with stores and such down the road, a little tourist trap of a historical area around the corner. Need to bring your own chair for the beach, but the pool was also quiet enough and less windy for the season. Liked the room, liked the view (4th floor). Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanblas, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2009
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed here for three days in September and overall were very happy with the place. The room was very bright and clean and large. The beds were comfy and the pillows were much nicer than other Hampton Inns we stayed at recently. The staff at check in and breakfast were very friendly as well. The beach and pool were wonderful. The only complaint about the place would have to be that the walls dont seem to have any sound protection and we had kids in the next room that kept crying and whining all day. You could also hear normal conversations in the hallway. Luckily the noisy kids were only there the first night. It was pretty quiet after that. I do wish the hotel allowed pets as well but they dont.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, GA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

The room was great with very comfortable beds, clean and had a nice balcony with a great view of the beach! Nicer chairs on the balcony would be my only suggestion. I usually prefer the gulf as beaches go - but this beach was very nice! The short walk through the gardens to the beach was very quaint. I didn't use the pool but it was clean and looked nice as well. The breakfast was a typical continental fare with some hot food as well. I would definitely stay here again when in the area! The staff was very helpful!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

For the money we paid (think "big holiday weekend"), it most certainly wasn't worth it. It was like pulling teeth to get clean towels and maid service. We discovered that the refrigerator was leaking, so we called the desk to have someone come look at it. We could barely understand the maintenance guy who showed up, as he spoke broken English. In a sense it was kind of cool to imagine that this guy's ancestors (Spanish?) probably were original St. Augustine settlers, but you'd think the family would've learned English by now. There was a "hot tub" in the room, but it was essentially like a big bath tub - the jets hardly put out any pressure at all. It was obvious to us that this hotel is probably one of many St. Augustine "tourist traps". We paid a lot of money and didn't get a lot of value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

I planned a girls weekend for my friend's birthday. had never stayed here before, but stayed at the Hampton Inn at Vilano Beach which is awesome and beautifully appointed,
but has no real ocean view. Upon arriving, the lobby seemed worn and used. Front doors were not automated, causing problems getting in and out with luggage cart. Checked in, went to room, laid down on the bed, OH MY GOSH...thought there was a board under top mattress, as it was so hard and uncomfortable. It was really bad, we are not wimps at all. Between both of our back problems, we decided to check out, and the desk clerk was really nice about it, no fees incurred, but she said they knew about it and were in the process of replacing the beds. OH, ....so our weekend was ruined, we had to drive in the pouring rain to find another place to stay that night, and you KNEW about it?? I would suggest maybe replacing beds and closing a floor while you do it, huh?
Guess the money is more important than our comfort...I would stay away if you have any back issues/ also the furniture is oversized for the room..the huge armoire and desks made it hard to move around or put suitcases down...WILL NOT return, for sure.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We have stayed at many Hampton's in the past, and felt that we were making a good choice for a one night getaway. We had requested a nonsmoking room, and were given one on the second floor. It was surrounded by smoking rooms and our room smelled of smoke, especially the bathroom. We told the front desk clerk and she apologized and said the hotel was completely booked, so there was no other room she could give us. A room air cleaner was put in the room while we were out, and it did help the big area, but the bathroom was still smelly. The next morning my husband asked for the manager and explained to her what had happen, and he felt that the quality that Hampton usually provides was compromised by having a nonsmoking room on a floor that has mostly smoking rooms. The manager was very nice and apologized and said that Hampton has a 100% satisfaction or your night is free, so we were not charged for our stay. Also, the ocean view room that we had didn't really have much of a view. The bed was very comfortable and help make up for the smell and lack of view. I would still recommend this hotel, but if you want a nonsmoking room, ask for one on the first floor, which is all nonsmoking. Also, the hotel is located close to a lot of good restaurants and fun things to do.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach

Address: 430 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.