We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   430 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great location on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was our first visit to St. Augustine and St. Augustine Beach. When I called to make sure ours rooms were beachfront, I was told about the machinery on the beach and that our beach access would be unavailable. I panicked and booked a room at another property. However, after calling the Hampton Inn and asking for a discounted rate since our reason for staying there was beach access and now there wouldn't be any, we got a better rate and decided to stick with our original plan and stay at the Hampton Inn on St. Augustine Beach. We lucked out (completely) because there was beach access on all days we stayed but one. The one day towards the end of our trip when the beach was closed, it was closed because of swimming dangers deemed so by the county.

Yes, the hotel is showing its age and needs sprucing up. We had two rooms. My mother-in-law's room had a sliding glass door that didn't close properly. I called and the issue was remedied immediately. Our rooms were clean. The laundry facilities were a plus--I did a load of laundry on 2 different days, and I was the only one using the washer and dryer.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

I think it is probably pretty hard to keep a beach front hotel in pristine condition. The hotel had absolutely no control in the work being done on the beach, and as I said, it was pure luck that we were able to have the access to the beach that we wanted.

The beach in front of the hotel is wonderful. The first afternoon, the water was way too rough with strong rip-currents. We live in California and are used to the Pacific, but I didn't feel comfortable having my kids swim in the water unless I was right there with them (they are stong swimmers and both on the swim team). That was the first afternoon. The next day was 100% better--not as rough. Maybe we were there at the wrong time the first day with the tide going out.

Room Tip: Beach service of chairs and umbrellas a major plus--provided by Barney's Beach Service. Two rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    168
    92
    42
    16
See reviews for
187
228
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Okay for a beach hotel. It's showing it's wear and tear and, while clean, has that mustiness that I don't care for. The pool is clean and small but the adjoining playground is a nice touch. I was miffed that the laundry room is inside the pool gates, which were locked after a thunderstorm so I get to the washing machine. The desk staff was friendly and helpful, but the breakfast crew had a hard time keeping up with the guests. It will be a nicer beach once the restoration project is complete and the uniformed beach patrol is not out keeping even the youngest beachgoers off of a long stretch of sand.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Why on earth didn't someone forewarn us that our beach view room would actually be a view of major beach reconstruction work which had large Cat Tractor Bulldozers working 24-7. Literally .... all through the night with reversing warning beepers switched on.
Oh ...... I know ....... because no one would have checked in.
The room was pre-booked and pre-paid, which made the experience even worse. We felt really sorry for families who used the beach because initially they had a hike of about 300 yds down the beach (in 90F ++) to find a clear stretch. On our final day they closed the beach off at the rear of the hotel completely. No access !! and still the hotel said nothing. No explanation at all about what was going on. We finally found information on the internet.
We understand why this sort of beach reconstruction needs to be done, and even why it's 24-7, because it needs to be done quickly, but to have the hotel behaving as though nothing's happening is a disgrace.
A really bad experience which showed that the hotel management held a completely contemptuous view of their "guests". They simply did not care. Do Hampton Inn's run any training sessions on guest relations?? ...... No they don't.
This was a poor quality Hamton Inn which should not really be in the "Hampton Inn" group.
We did ask what was going on and the receptionist said that we should have been told. She then offered a "free" 1 nights stay in another Hamton Inn, we would get a voucher on check out. We didn't, of course, we left our address and she said a voucher would be posted to us. As we live in England I don't expect to recieve anything. If we do I'll leave another post.
Poor show Hampton Inns.
Message to the local management ................ find another profession. Inn-keeper doesn't suit you.

Room Tip: Check out what's going on behind the hotel before booking any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach! During your visit, the county was working on a beach replenishment project that we are happy to report has been completed since the middle of August. The dates and times of this project were sporadic and while we tried to inform guests that may have had their stay impacted by this situation, we apologize if we did not reach you in time to let you know. We are excited to report that, in addition to the beautiful beach being open and better than ever, we will also be featuring all new furniture and updates very soon! We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you and pamper you with our warm Hamptonality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I read the reviews of this hotel but needed a hotel near the destination of a friend's sunrise wedding. Many of the reviews were sadly accurate. The hotel smells terrible, mold mixed with the stench of poor cleaning. The rooms are terribly dated, especially the bathrooms. The bathroom sink was stopped up -- yuk. In addition, dredging took place just outside the window ALL night. Hampton Inn corporate should remove their name from this hotel. To top it all, the room was quite expensive for a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Please allow us to address the issues at hand: Unfortunately the renourishment of the beach was out of our control. With that being said we were doing our very best to notify our guests in regards to this matter.
While we do face some issues being directly on the beach we have recently moved forward with a new housekeeping program and staff that we feel will be very beneficial to the property moving forward. With that being said we have always taken pride in our hotel and do everything in our power to keep it up to ours and Hamptons standards.
We apologize that you experienced a much less than satisfactory stay and would love any chance to redeem ourselves and the Hampton Brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

the first day we got there, it was extremely convenient to walk out of the hotel to the beach.
the next day, the ramp was closed and "beach restoration" was taking place - defied the whole purpose of staying at this hotel
breakfast was ok, but space was limited
tv was glitchy (kept going back to main menu when first browsing channels)
wifi access is only in the common areas - wifi access in the room is weak

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahopac
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had a room with 2 queen beds and when my husband pulled the blanket back to go to sleep, he smelled a very strong smell of urine. After turning the sheets back, he saw a 2 foot wide circle of fresh urine probably left from the last guests. How could a maid have changed the sheets and not noticed this. It was absolutely disgusting! the staff was very nice and changed our room only to find dried up blood in the next bed on the sheets. This hotel is not clean and people should beware if you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Please allow us to address the issues at hand: While we do face some issues being directly on the beach we have recently moved forward with a new housekeeping program and staff that we feel will be very beneficial to the property moving forward. With that being said we have always taken pride in our hotel and do everything in our power to keep it up to ours and Hamptons standards.
We apologize that you experienced a much less than satisfactory stay and would love any chance to redeem ourselves and the Hampton Brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

First impressions always count, not bad driving in to hotel, check-in was good, room was ready, except that not completely ready for a new guest; bathroom was dirty, bed half done, ironing board in the middle of the room, let reception know and room was ready by the time we got back from sightseeing. Beach was closed so that was disappointing, went to the pool instead. Breakfast: not bad, considering only one staff member had to replenish hot food, danish/bagels, cereals, drinks, plates and utensils, plus clean tables. Looked like hotel was full, not sure why only one person manning the breakfast room. No water on Saturday night, started working around 3 am. Reception staff excellent considering everything else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Please allow us to address the issues at hand: Unfortunately the renourishment of the beach was out of our control. With that being said we were doing our very best to notify our guests in regards to this matter.
While we do face some issues being directly on the beach we have recently moved forward with a new housekeeping program and staff that we feel will be very beneficial to the property moving forward. With that being said we have always taken pride in our hotel and do everything in our power to keep it up to ours and Hamptons standards.
In regards to our breakfast staff we do our best to gauge our labor according to our business volume.
We apologize that you experienced a much less than satisfactory stay and would love any chance to redeem ourselves and the Hampton Brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach

Address: 430 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.