We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice older hotel -on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   860 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall Sale - Save 20%
kutztown
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice older hotel -on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Nice clean older hotel- beds are comfortable, rooms clean though a little outdated-nice balcony off bedroom-staff very nice. We will go again when we return to the area. they have some nice entertainment on fridays and saturdays too.

Room Tip: Some rooms look out to beach and ocean-we had a side room and could see ocean if standing at the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    259
    153
    79
    67
See reviews for
265
268
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and 4-year-old son recently traveled to St. Augustine for a quick vacation, and found the Holiday Isle Resort as we wanted something a little different from our previous visit where we stayed in the historic district.

The location of the hotel is perfect-- on the beach with the waves of the Atlantic Ocean crashing 24/7. The hotel itself was pretty good. I could tell it's an old Holiday Inn (30 or so years old?) and it's holding up well. The rooms were standard Holiday Inn-style rooms in size, but the beds were new and clean (and comfortable). The TV had about 80 channels, which is 76 more than most motels I stayed in. The wifi was complimentary and consistently worked. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall the hotel was very quiet, pretty clean, and again the location was outstanding. Not only was it on the beach but a short drive to nearby restaurants, stores, and maybe 10 minutes to the historic district. It also has a pool which we didn't use because it was too cold outside while we were there, and we didn't take advantage of the onsite restaurant although it looked good and convenient.

The only downside I can think of is the hotel is showing its age a bit, especially around the windows and air conditioners (peeling paint, rust and water stains), but nothing that would scare me away. In fact we would likely book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the balconies for the rooms on the upper floors. Even when it was cool at night I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have recently renovated our north side rooms and will be renovating our south side rooms soon. Be sure to ask about our renovated rooms next time you book with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The weekend of January 17m 2014 we plan a trip to St Augustine, I had done some review of the sites and hotels and the area and this one caught my eye because we love the beach. We arrived a little later than plan but it was ok. When i arrive the front desk personal were great they had help me with location and check in. The young lady at the time of arrival provide me with great ideas and pointers on transportation to Old Town. The hotel is great location is wonderful right on the beach with the walk way that takes you the beach area. the only thing that was distrubing is the dogs of all sizes are allowed to stay on property. Which makes you think are the towels that are used for guest also provided to animals. There is no actual location for the dogs to use they can dwell on the property including the pook area. the Tiki Bar was not open. The trolley does pick you up and drops you off at the actual site. Overall not bad but make you wonder.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed yourself. As you know, we are a pet friendly hotel, however, pets are only allowed to stay in designated pet friendly rooms located on the first floor. We have specially designed these rooms with tile throughout to better accommodate our four legged guests.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulberry, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have been coming here for 21 years and this is the worst stay ever. The bathroom grout is black, the shower walls are dirty, there's someone's hair in the drain. Being charged for a mini fridge when the floor above its standard and they're paying the same price for their room. Had breakfast the next morning. Food was good, Reva, the waitress just sucked. Our table was changed twice, she argued with Greg, who turned out to be a great waiter, over who's tables were whose. I understand this is an older place but it definitely is NOT a RESORT.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for being a loyal customer for so many years. I'm very sorry for the issues that occurred during your stay. I assure you that these issues do not normally happen and we will move swiftly to correct the problems you mentioned.

Regarding the refrigerator, we have rooms that come with a refrigerator and rooms that do not come with a refrigerator. The rooms that come with a refrigerator are priced higher than those without one, whereas the cost to rent a refrigerator is a little less than the cost to upgrade rooms.

Again, I do apologize for the troubles and I hope that you will continue to stay with us. If there is anything I can do please don't hesitate to call me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 lovely nights. Requested an ocean side room...got it 5 th floor corner, very nice. Loved the sound of ocean. The weather was not great but did get one morning with a lovely sunrise. The beach was nice to walk on. The room was good. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom. The staff was all very nice. Want to come back! It's only a short drive to St. Augustine.



Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for staying with us at the Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your oceanfront room. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We are just finishing a week's stay and for us this hotel is perfect: clean, quiet and right on the beach. It is not new or fancy but it has good beds, clean rooms and bathrooms and a very friendly staff. We had breakfast buffet on the weekend, it had great omlettes and waffles made to order, fruit, yogourt, many kinds of breads , bagles and muffins not to mention pastries that were fresh and lovely. We used a timeshare exchange, and although I generally like a place where we have a kitchen, we made out fine with the fridge and microwave in our room and a coin laundry downstairs. Quiet, peaceful with a balcony where we could see the ocean.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful $10 breakfast buffet. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Booked an oceanview with balcony room, received parking lot view. Staff not friendly no helpful. Food was horrible and over priced. Pool was nice and so was location as it was directly on the beach. We enjoyed the beach immensely and the pool was great, as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Isle O, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us over the summer. Glad to hear you enjoyed our oceanfront location, pool area, and beach. We offer a variety of room types, and guarantee that guests receive the type of room they reserved. Please note that our oceanfront rooms are very limited and only bookable directly though our hotel website and hotel reservations department, and are not available through third-party websites. It's always a good idea to check your confirmation email for the room description or give us a call at the hotel to confirm. Please come back and visit again in the future. We have modified our restaurant menu significantly and think you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Address: 860 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort offers the best of both worlds, being directly on St. Augustine Beach, and only 10 minutes to historic 'Old Town.' Hotel amenities include a full service restaurant, free Wi-Fi, direct beach access, large outdoor pool, poolside tiki bar (seasonal) and a friendly staff. A variety of room options are available in our 150-room, 5-floor hotel, ranging from ground-floor rooms which are pet-friendly to partial view rooms to direct oceanfront rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn St Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.