We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   860 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Special Price
Fall Sale - Save 20%
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Girls Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was hesitate about going to this resort after some of the reviews, we got a excellent deal on Social Living so we decided to give it a try and glad we did. The service from staff was excellent, the beds are comfortable, clean linens and towels. We enjoyed our girls weekend and had a wonderful time at you Resort, very comfortable. Thank you so much. The Sunset Grille very good, best breakfast we enjoyed Café 11 not usually into buffets but very fresh ingredients. Try the Tomato basil Bisque to die for.

Room Tip: 4th Floor away from hotel on left side, construction on right side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for giving our hotel a 5 star review! We are so glad you and your friends had a good time with us. We appreciate your compliments about our hotel and our staff., and i'm glad to hear that the bad reviews you read did not stop you from coming in with an open mind. Any issues that are brought to our attention are immediately addressed. The living social promotion is a fantastic deal, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    247
    149
    71
    67
See reviews for
263
254
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Everything about our stay was perfect. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. We brought our dog and the staff took the time to greet her and make sure she was happy. Overall a very positive experience. Great omelet, strong coffee and prompt service. A+++ job Holiday Isle!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your compliments about our hotel, our restaurant, and our staff. We love hearing such positive feedback from our guests. I'm glad you found the rooms to be extremely clean. We recently added tile to all of our pet friendly rooms to ensure they are as clean and comfortable as possible. Hopefully you and your dog will come back to visit us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was a last minute reservation, I wanted oceanfront and it was the only hotel in St Augustine that had a room for the dates we wanted to stay, plus we had stayed here years ago when it was a Holiday Inn. We figured, it has to be OK, right? Boy how wrong we were. We stayed Sept 18th thru the 21st. We had actually planned on staying one more night but this place was so disgusting we left early. We had checked the bedbug registry and there were no reports for bedbugs, we were relieved. But, one night I got up to the bathroom and found a very large bug. We went down to the front desk and were told it was a palmetto bug and it was harmless. They offered to move us or have someone come in and spray the room. We opted for spraying. Later on we googled palmetto bugs...they are a type of COCKROACH!!!!!!!!!! Disgusting!!!!! And we could not tell that anyone had come to the room and sprayed. We went out and bought cockroach pills and put them in the room ourselves. We should have left then.
The ceiling is falling off, the popcorn paint. It looks like its from water from somewhere. It was all over the floor. The day the maids came in, I figured they would clean it up...NOPE. Was still there when we went back in. So how well did they clean the place?
The bath tub drain was so slow, you ended up with half a tub of water during your shower. We went out and bought Drano ourselves. It helped. But the problem is, no one cleans out the drain, you could see all kinds of gross stuff stuck on the drain! Again, disgusting!
We are sorry we stayed here and definitely would NOT recommend anyone staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I'm terribly sorry that you were not satisfied on your recent vacation with us. Incidents like the one you described are certainly not typical of our hotel, but when we are notified we take all actions necessary to correct them. I'm sorry we fell short of your expectations and we wish you the best of luck in your future travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alachua, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Although I have stayed here several times (my main place to stay), this is the first time I have stayed with our dog. My daughter had been begging me to take her dog to the beach. I wanted to go before the weather turned cooler so we made a quick getaway this September. And I was impressed with how clean the "pet only" rooms were. Although you can't get a view of the ocean from the pet only rooms, it was still a pleasant stay and the staff is always helpful. We arrived early and although I didn't expect them to, they allowed us to check into our room a little early. Everything was super clean. Thanks again for another amazing stay.

Room Tip: Book early for a pet room. There are only a few hotels on the beach that allow pets and this one is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating of 5 stars! We love our "regulars" and we are so glad to be your hotel of choice for your St. Augustine vacations. We always welcome guests traveling with pets to stay in our ground floor rooms. We recently added tile to all the pet friendly rooms to ensure that they are as comfortable and clean as possible. Also, Thank you for adding the lovely picture of your dog on the beach! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here on our wedding nite. I accidentally threw away my wedding jewelry - very special blue earrings and pendant that was my "something blue". We called several hours later and the staff immediately searched through all the dumpsters, worked hard and found my jewelry!!! Peter in maintenance was the hero. Kudos to him and the front desk staff on duty that called with updates, then with the good news. They are shipping it to me so I will have my memento back!! I can't think of many hotels that would go above and beyond as they did!!!! Thank you! You must stay here if you are in St. Augustine FL!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with such a positive review. I'm relieved we were able to track down your jewelry and make your stay here at Holiday Isle a memorable one. Our staff works very hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and we greatly appreciate you taking the time to recognize their hard work. Congratulations on your marriage, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atl
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great time at the Isle. We have stayed there at least 5 times and have enjoyed it every time, sure it's a little rough around the edges but that's price you pay for direct beach access. The sun and sea take it's toll, but they do a great job keeping things running. Our fridge was running to cold, we mentioned to staff, 5 minutes later new fridge. Very friendly folks, great value, pet friendly, we will see them next year. Bottom floors are all tiled for pets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you very much for making Holiday Isle Oceanfront your hotel of choice for your St. Augustine vacations. We appreciate your loyalty, and we are so glad to host you and your family. As you mentioned, we did recently add tile to all of our pet friendly rooms. We are constantly doing renovations to improve our facilities. Please feel free to contact me directly whenever you are making your reservations for next year. I would be happy to assist you in any way possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Location is excellent. Love the pool area, and the Resort including the closeness to the pristine Beach. The only bad part of Holiday Isle is the Restaurant. Do not buy any food here, you will regret it!

Room Tip: The pet rooms are great and an easy access to the beach.
See more room tips
Green Features: Great job, place is really clean..using environmentally friendly products.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review! We love to hear that you enjoyed our pool and our direct beach access. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal in the restaurant. We have made many positive changes to our restaurant staff and our menu recently, and we hope next time you're in town you will give us another chance. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Address: 860 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort offers the best of both worlds, being directly on St. Augustine Beach, and only 10 minutes to historic 'Old Town.' Hotel amenities include a full service restaurant, free Wi-Fi, direct beach access, large outdoor pool, poolside tiki bar (seasonal) and a friendly staff. A variety of room options are available in our 150-room, 5-floor hotel, ranging from ground-floor rooms which are pet-friendly to partial view rooms to direct oceanfront rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn St Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.