We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   860 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall Sale - Save 20%
High Springs, Florida
1 review
“Fun family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great experience! The facility is dated, circa 80's but upkeep is nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was super accommodating, did not meet a single employee who didn't ask how everything was. Anything from extra towels to roll away bed was there at a moments request.

Ocean view room had beautiful view, the beach was easily accessible directly from the pool area via a wooden walkway. Ample beach space out of the vehicle drive lanes.

The Tiki bar staff Sari and Jeremy were awesome keeping our thirst quenched with "adult beverages" but also keeping the kids thirst handled with juices, water and Gatorade.

This was a family get away with 2 adults, and 3 children ranging 3/6/10. We chose the Ocean View room 2 double beds with an optional roll away single, plenty of room for all.

Room Tip: 1st 2 floors poolside are below the dune and face out onto pool, above that they are Ocean View. Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback about your recent family vacation. I'm glad you were able to relax by our tiki bar and enjoy some drinks by the pool. As you mentioned we do serve "adult beverages" and we are also very family friendly, serving food and drinks for all ages. Our pool side rooms are ideal for families that want to enjoy the pool and the beach. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    259
    153
    79
    67
See reviews for
265
268
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
heiho2013
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were planning a family gathering to celebrate a milestone birthday and needed a place that would accept dogs, since all of the dogsitters would be traveling together. St. Augustine is the birthday girl's favorite place to visit and she loves the beach, so this location couldn't have been more perfect. 10 minutes (at most) to downtown St. Augustine and right on the beach. Dogs are allowed on St. Augustine beach, too, so we didn't have to leave them in the hotel room. We brought a canopy so there would be shade for everyone, but you can also rent cabana loungers from the nice guys in the gazebo between the pool and the beach. There is a grocery store nearby so we were able to buy waters and sodas for our cooler. I stayed in a pet-friendly room and was pleasantly surprised at how clean the room was. Including the bathroom. They have freshly laundered pet blankets in the rooms, too, for you to drape on the bed so the comforter doesn't get soiled. Our dog isn't allowed on the furniture but there was plenty of space in the room for her bed, and for her food and water bowls. Lastly, I have to mention the staff at the hotel. They are incredible. Truly. I have stayed in too many hotels to count but have never encountered such a friendly and accommodating group of people. They made me feel welcome and relaxed the minute I stepped up to the check-in desk. Absolutely no anxiety. Thank you Holiday Isle for such a wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your very detailed and positive review of our hotel. We are glad you chose our hotel to celebrate your very important milestone birthday. As you mentioned, we are pet friendly, and we are conveniently located right on the beach, which makes for a fun and enjoyable family vacation. Most of all, i'm glad you found our staff to be exceedingly helpful and friendly. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, CT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hotel is dated, and could use an overhaul. However, the room was clean, beds were comfortable and staff was outstanding. Peter went out of his way to help me with my luggage (wasn't his job) while my husband went to find a parking space. Another staff member went to retrieve my room key that I accidentally dropped and it landed on a balcony below. Our room 423 did have a leak over the tub from the room above. I informed the desk and I'm sure maintenance was right on it. Best location , right on the beach. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent vacation. I'm glad you found our staff to be helpful, and I will certainly pass your compliments along to Peter's supervisor. The issue in your room was resolved as soon as you checked out. Our maintenance team works very hard to correct issues as soon as they are reported. As you mentioned, we are an older property, but we are constantly doing renovations to improve the quality of our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked for a spur of the moment family vacation. The guy on the phone was really pleasant & helpful. They let us check in early because we got there at 5 in the morning & since no one was in our room they let us go in . They are beachfront & accept pets - almost impossible to find this. They have a fantastic pool w/a tiki bar & the beach is beautiful! The room was very nice - because it was a pet friendly room it was not pristine but clean & upon a really in depth inspection was just fine. The staff is awesome. We will go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review. As you mentioned, we are the only pet friendly hotel on the beach in St. Augustine. We recently added tile floors to all of our pet friendly rooms, and i'm thrilled to hear that even under a deep inspection, you found the room to be very clean and comfortable. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your spur of the moment trip, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowdon, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Rooms were cleans. A little dated and showing some wear but the location makes up for any small shortcomings . Right on the beach. Nice pool and tiki bar. And staff was super. Would definently stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location right on the beach makes for a nice relaxing getaway. I'm sorry you found the property to be a bit dated. We are constantly making upgrades to improve the quality of our facility. We are an older facility but we do strive to keep our rooms as clean and comfortable as possible. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I read some mixed reviews before I booked this hotel. I decided to chance it and I am glad I did. We stayed on the 5th floor in a King ocean front room. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Of course the hotel has some wear and tear, it occupies a lot of guests during the year. They have a restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch so you do not have to leave during the day. We spent most of the time on the beach and ordered lunch which they brought out to the tiki bar for us. It was delicious, plus they serve drinks at the poolside tiki bar. The pool was large and well kept. The hotel is very close to the historic district, 4.7 miles to be exact. The pier is about 1 mile away, and there are so many restaurants to choose from right close by, they also have a Publix, Walgreens, Starbucks, Marble Slab Creamery about 1 block away. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you do not choose an ocean front room you will be facing condos on both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a very positive and detailed review. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable, and our staff to be helpful and friendly. As you mentioned, our restaurant does serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and we are also conveniently located near many shops and local restaurants. Our central location provides the perfect getaway whether you want to hang out on the beach, or venture in to town for sightseeing and shopping. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

we really enjoyed our stay at Holiday Isle. The rooms were clean, the staff was very accommodating, the food was good, the service was excellent. We definitely will stay with Holiday Isle again when the occasion presents itself.

Milton Bronson

Room Tip: no kids! didn't use the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel such a nice review. Im glad you enjoyed the hotel, and we appreciate your compliments about our property and our staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Address: 860 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort offers the best of both worlds, being directly on St. Augustine Beach, and only 10 minutes to historic 'Old Town.' Hotel amenities include a full service restaurant, free Wi-Fi, direct beach access, large outdoor pool, poolside tiki bar (seasonal) and a friendly staff. A variety of room options are available in our 150-room, 5-floor hotel, ranging from ground-floor rooms which are pet-friendly to partial view rooms to direct oceanfront rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn St Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.