We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic all-around!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   860 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Fantastic all-around!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at the hotel with our 2 children from July 28-July 31. Absolutely everything was fantastic! Every employee we spoke with was friendly and helpful. Customer service was excellent. The restaurant was surprisingly really delicious and very reasonably priced. We weren't expecting that from a hotel restaurant. We ate there for almost every meal. They also have kids meals. It's open for breakfast and dinner only. The poolside bar is open for lunch but we didn't eat there. The pool was great with warm water.
We had a renovated room with a balcony and it was very comfortable and clean. We couldn't hear our neighbors which we appreciated since we're late sleepers. Our room had a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and hair dryer. We found out that this used to be a Holiday Inn up until 6 months ago and they are now renovating alot of the hotel. Make sure you request a renovated room. The building with the guest rooms is separate from the reception area and you cannot get in the building without sliding your room key. A little extra security that's appreciated.
The hotel is located directly on the beach. We were surprised to find so few people on the beach. It was great not having to hunt for a place to put down our towels. We're guessing it's because the hotel is next to some apartments so the public doesn't come down this way.
The trolley that takes you to the historic district picks you up right from the hotel and drops you back off at the hotel. It leaves every hour and last return is around 5pm or so. I think it's $5 per person round trip. We didn't use this because we didn't want to return so early. However, the regular trolley that makes 22 stops around the historic district also stops running around 5pm. If you're planning on staying later and are using the trolley or red train then you should drive there, less than 10 min away, and park in the free trolley/train parking.
We had a great time and we're planning on returning in November to see other attractions we missed. Thank you for a fantastic stay!!

Room Tip: Request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you for the detailed review of our property. We hope to see you back here in November. FYI, if you are coming late in November, you will be here for St. Augustine's "Nights of Lights" celebration which begins the weekend before Thanksgiving, and is a must-see. It runs all the way through the end of January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    259
    154
    79
    67
See reviews for
267
269
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

We read the reviews on other sites and some were good and some were bad so we took our chances. We had an oceanfront room and it was amazing. This was our first family vacation and the hotel and it's staff made it very memorable. We were traveling with our 2 1/2 year old and our 1 year old so we were slightly nervous. The hotel was very clean, the staff was very friendly and you couldn't ask for a better location. Every morning we walked on to our balcony overlooking the pool and beach. It was beautiful! The breakfast at the hotel restaurant was the best we found in St. Augustine so we just ate there every morning! We will definitely be going back and staying here. We even sent our cousin here for their honeymoon and they loved it just as much as we did! If you want a friendly atmosphere and very clean room this is the place to go. They have a tiki bar and a beach rental for chairs and all too. LOVE this place and can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate your feedback and I will pass it on to all the departments, especially the restaurant. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife used this site extensively to find a place for reasonable 4 nights stay. Hard to find in July! We REALLY wanted beach front as well and knew the cost would be more. We were assured we would be on the 5th floor (best ocean view) and the rooms were renovated. They HAVE been renovated, but pictures don't show the details, but nothing that was a deal breaker.

Drove all night to from Nashville, TN area in order to extend our stay as much as possible and make in time for sunrise on the beach. ALMOST made it, but that's OK. Still had breakfast at South Beach Grill.

We went to the hotel about 9:30. They said if we got there early come on by and even thought check-in wasn't until the afternoon - we could check in, get a parking pass and still park and use the beach access and pool area. When we got there, a room on the 4th floor was available and they let us check in which was great. Great ocean view still.

The not so good. A1A Parrothead Beach Bash - Jimmy Buffet fans were holding a convention and they started arriving on Friday (we checked in on Wednesday) and monopolizing the hotel - especially the pool area - RIGHT OUTSIDE OUR BALCONY! Obnoxious DJ - contests - crowded the pool - noisy drunken partyers - steel drums - loud Buffet wanna-bes - etc, etc, etc...

My wife called the front desk explained we came here to RELAX, not be a part of a middle age SPRING BREAK atmosphere with "soft bodies" everywhere! I opened our balcony door - she held the phone up. Manager on duty was a little hesitant to do anything until she mentioned TRIPADVISOR then his whole demeanor changed to the better! He refunded our stay for that day (Saturday - $160.00) when the convention was in full swing.

For that reason and the fact that the staff were all very friendly - I give it four stars (thanks Tripadvisor) One other thing about the room - the AC was on it's last legs. We kept in on 65 the whole time, but it never go anywhere close to that setting.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for contributing a review. I am glad we were able to get you in early so you could get settled and begin enjoying the great ocean view. It was the weekend that we had a group called the Parrotheads, and they did have a live band at the pool on one of the afternoons, but only until 6pm. After 6pm, it was completely quiet (they had an evening function inside in our banquet room). We hope you come back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had a very nice trip to St. Augustine. My family and I loved the easy access to the beach. I loved that there was a lifeguard on duty so close. Although my children are teenagers, it gave me an extra sense of security. The room is very standard hotel fare but very comfortable with new linens. All the the hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. I had an injured foot and several staff members stopped to ask if I was okay and if they could help me in any way. They were willing to go out of their way for me if I needed help. I have stayed there in the past but had forgotten until I arrived. We would definitely stay there again when looking for a beachfront location. The word "resort" may be a little misleading but it was a fine hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to hear our staff was so pleasant and helpful. The convenience of the life guard is a nice bonus. During the busy summer months, the city usually has one one duty close by. Next time you are in St. Augustine Beach, please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The staff was very friendly but not happy with our room - the carpet was nasty, a roach in the bathroom - I just didn't feel like it was clean at all. We also did not have a remote for the TV but they did bring us one. Restaurant closed at lunch time - tiki bar was a joke! It didnt stay open past 5:00 on the weekend. After being downtown all day we came back to find puke in the doorway going into the hallway that was there for a very long time. NO definitely not worth the money and if you want cleanliness you won't find it here!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
I apologize that we did not live up to your expectations. I wish we had been given the opportunity to correct the issues you mentioned right away when you were here. We could have changed your room immediately if you felt it wasn't clean. Our housekeeping staff walks the hallways throughout the day and evening, constantly cleaning and should have seen that right away and cleaned it up. Possibly it happened very late at night, and no one had reported it yet. Either way, we are very sorry to disappoint you. As for the poolside tiki bar, most guests really enjoy it and they usually stay open until the pool quiets down, usually between 5 and 6pm. The tiki bar does not reopen at night in an effort to keep the pool area quieter for our oceanfront guests. However, we do have a lounge open inside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in a pet friendly room on the ground floor facing the parking lot. We were willing to sacrifice a view and a balcony so we could bring our four legged family member. We had plenty of room for the six of us (me, husband, and 3 kids and Samson the labrador) We had to set up a rollaway for our youngest and Samson's large crate for when we went to dinner. Plenty of room for that too. The room was clean, beds had nice clean linens, were comfy enough (although my husband thought were too soft) and there were tons of channels for the kids to choose from on the tv. Walk to the beach was short - right through the pool area and over a boardwalk -5 min walk. Pool looked clean as did grounds. They let us check in at 1 when we arrived which was nice. Staff and guests were friendly. Very family type atmosphere. Lots of kids. Lots of other dogs on our floor and one complaint about that (not hotels fault but they should be aware) the room across from us (we were in 109) contained two huge german shepards who aggresively barked at the other dogs. Ours is a baby and was really startled when we accidently passed them in a side hallway. The dogs went crazy and it was while my 9 year old was walking him so that was really scary. The man was able to pull them back but I shudder to think what couldve happened if they had gotten away from him. The couple seemed nice enough and pretty embarrased by the way the dogs behaved but maybe a "no aggressive dogs" could be added to the pet policy?? Also, the room was damp feeling but I think that's typical of rooms on the beach. They had a big de-humidifier and that helped. One true complaint though- the rollaway was bad. It felt like a sheet over springs. My daughter weighs 34 lb and she couldn't get comfortable on it so ended up in our bed. Maybe throwing a sleeping bag over it would help?? Or maybe they need to replace the mattresses. A foam one would be better than what was on it. All in all, for convenience, friendly people, dog friendliness we'd stay there again next time unless we have our RV purchased by then :) Can't comment on the restaurant but can tell you Mango Mangoes just down the street was wonderful. Friendly staff and great food for pretty cheap. Lots of dog friendly stuff to do in St Augustine besides the beach- Fountain of Youth, state park trails, scenic cruise from the marina, even some ghost tours and carriage tours. Also some restarants with outdoor patios.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We came from Port Charlotte, FL and met daughter and family from Birmingham, AL.. After researching all types of places to stay, we chose Holiday Isle. The check in staff changed our room so we were on the same floor. The rooms were very clean and service GREAT. Crisp white bedding on the King bed and lots of bright white towels. The prices were excellent with many discounts available. Our side room 514, had a refrigerator, microwave and still a good view of the beach from the balcony. The kids had an ocean front room. The only thing that was out of date was the TV that was not HD. Holiday Isle is right on St. Augustine Beach minutes from everything. We all had a wonderful time and hated to leave. We are planning another trip next year. Thanks Holiday Isle for a "Wonderful stay" Pat & John Totten

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thank you for choosing our hotel to meet up with your family. I am glad we were able to get both rooms on the same floor. We do our best to honor any special requests, such as that. As for TVs, only the oceanfront rooms have flat screens for the time being. We are glad you had a wonderful stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Address: 860 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort offers the best of both worlds, being directly on St. Augustine Beach, and only 10 minutes to historic 'Old Town.' Hotel amenities include a full service restaurant, free Wi-Fi, direct beach access, large outdoor pool, poolside tiki bar (seasonal) and a friendly staff. A variety of room options are available in our 150-room, 5-floor hotel, ranging from ground-floor rooms which are pet-friendly to partial view rooms to direct oceanfront rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn St Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.