We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw it in person” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St. Augustine Beachfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added St. Augustine Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
St. Augustine Beachfront Resort
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Saw it in person”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I visited this hotel three weeks ago and it was $75 on Sat. night. It is a beachfront location, good price, BUT the staff is very iffy, the birds are in the lobby, it all stinks, reeks, it's filthy, and I don't think you will ever be so desperate as to stay there. I only saw 3 male guests and no families. I would rather take a blanket or chair and sleep on the beach. So I left.

Room Tip: Get the hell out of there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee M, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Sorry for your stay, no worries, the business has been sold and hopefully the new owners will make a difference
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    28
    36
    510
See reviews for
280
179
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Springs, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. Very dirty, in disrepair , nothing was as advertised. Room smelled musty, bathroom was dirty, common areas also dirty. No ice machines and overall just a very bad hotel. We would not recommend staying at this hotel. We ended up at the Best Western down the road.

Room Tip: Always Check on trip advisor before booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee M, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
The business has been sold and hopefully the new owners will make a BIG difference!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordville, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very disappointed when checking in and it got worse. Not clean, TV not working, a/c leaked water and soaked the floor, house cleaning did not show up to clean room, no towels. The pictue on the internet very deceiving. Room had electrical issuses like wall plugs hanging out of the wall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee M, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Im sorry you did not feel the hotel was up to your standards. We are working on many improvements. Im sure if you let the staff know of the tv and leaking air conditioner they wold have corrected. Will look into these issues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is in bad need of repair and remodeling! First room we were given smelled like basement, the sheets were damp do to the moisture. They gave us another room, and the door persistently did not work, the door was damaged and had the hinges falling out of the wall. There were holes in our walls and the paint was horrible. The bathroom looked very under maintenanced!! We found 3 roaches in side our room!! The lobby smelled like a litter box!! Took for ever to get towels because the house keepers told us the washers were broken!! On the bright side the staff new this 'resort ' was not up to par and gave us back half of our money!!! This place has a million dollar view and could be great if a remodeling and new vision occurred!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee M, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
You are correct , we do have the best view on the beach. Management and owners are in the process of making many upgrades. I am very sorry for your troubles and I am glad they gave you compensation for your issues. Thanks for taking the time to review us and I hope you will try us again when all the improvements are complete. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperhill, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I am new to reviews,However, people thinking about going to this hotel needs to know the truth. The hotel was under construction but the rooms should have been better maintained. To start there was lizards in our room,bugs in the dresser drawers, no towels,had to find maids to get towels,phone was not working,tv was not working. I admit we should have left but only stayed one night. Would not go back even if new construction is complete.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee M, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Very sorry to hear this, im sure if the staff would have known you had issues they would have taken care of them. We do have a lot of lizards on the island and I am sorry if one found his way into your room. We are in the process of making many upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Bird crap, indoor pool adjacent to the elevator shaft running into the pool. pool light green. water slide and tiki bar advertisement on Marquis at front of the motel along the highway. Very misleading,the tiki bar was closed and looked like it had not been opened for years. this so-called pool guy was arguing with the tenets that just checked in to turn on the water slide so their children can play in the outside pool.The Doors to the hotel rooms or not fireproof, And 90 percent of them all a jar when they are closed, this hotel should be inspected by the Health Department of the St Augustine and the fire department right alongside The Department of Business and Professional Regulation of the state of Florida. As a certified minicipal fire inspector(not active)And a certified fire safety inspector(not active)I would highly recommend this at this time. Before there's a fatality. Related to this facility in any way shape or form.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee M, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Just to let you know , we pass all safety codes and our doors are up to code. The indoor pool has panes that open during the daylight and sometimes birds will drop their business . We have a pool guy who cleans the indoor pool on a daily basis. The Tiki bar opens 7 days a week during season, and we open on the weekends until December. It has been open every season for the past 20 years. We are sorry if it was not open during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My family decided to embark on our trip without a reservation. We found the St. Augustine Beachfront Resort and from the outside it looked okay and it was beachfront. The rates were very reasonable so we decided to give it a go. We checked in and it wasn't until it got dark that we discovered roaches. Also, the room had mold and peeling wall paper. The only redeeming factor of this hotel is the waterslide that the kids loved to play on at the pool.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee M, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Well we are glad your children enjoyed the slide. I will check into the other issues and see to it that they have been addressed. We are in the process of making many upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Augustine Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Augustine Beachfront Resort

Address: 300 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — St. Augustine Beachfront Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. Augustine Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Augustine Beachfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Hotel St Augustine Beachfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Augustine Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.