We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value on St. Augustine Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Augustine Ocean and Racquet Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Augustine Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Augustine Ocean and Racquet Resort
Save
You added St. Augustine Ocean and Racquet Resort to your Saves list
880 A1A Beach Blvd., Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080   |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best value on St. Augustine Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We've been staying here at least once a year, sometimes twice, since 2001. Gosh, that's a long time when I think of it! We have family in the area and have found that, hands down, this place has the best value for the money. The units are sparkling, the staff is friendly, quick and helpful. The grounds are beautifully kept and the pools - our kids' second favorite spot here next to the ocean - are always clean and well maintained. There are Jacuzzis in a lot of the buildings, a nice bonus. I can't speak to the tennis courts since we don't use them or the clubhouse but they seem to have a lot of events there. The beach access is what keeps us coming back - it's RIGHT there and they've added extra seating on the boardwalks in recent years, so it's a lovely spot for morning coffee or evening drinks. There is a guard staffing the entrance 24/7 and they are responsive in the very few times (like 2) that we've had a problem over the years (usually noisy spring break-ers not abiding by the 11 p.m. quiet rule). We've had years where we had 6-10 units rented by family and there's a pavilion where you can meet and grill. Parking is ample and the rules are simple. There's wifi in the common areas (although we don't rent a unit without it). Our kids love seeing the ducks in the pond but the big draw here is the beach.

I think this would be a great place to retire, actually. But it sure is a wonderful place for a vacation. Can't recommend it enough.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    48
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
119
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in 4301, newly refurbished and had everything we needed, full kitchen great comfortable beds, flat screen TV's throughout, and a great view of the pool. Reception staff were friendly and really helpful, security very good. Pools and jacuzzi's were lovely. The whole place is very clean and well maintained. Location excellent, beach access was perfect, an what a superb beach. Great clubhouse and free tennis lessons, what more can you ask for. We have already booked to return.

Room Tip: 4301 is just about the only condo with a full view of the main pool, relax on the balcony whilst wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The most unfriendly bussiness place I have ever stayed at . No wi-fi most of the time . Yet it is adv. on the web site . Moldly old people are everywhere . No respect for people who want to conduct business while on vaction . But if you like breaking the Florida Law on Gambling this is the place . They even close the clubhouse down so they can play cards for money . On a scale of one to ten , ten being worst , I give this place a ten !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Four adult siblings w/mates stayed at Ocean Beach for 4 days in Feb. 2013. Two stayed at local motel since unit max was 6. Gorgeous location on 3rd floor overlooking the ocean (unit was on the ocean end of the complex). Staff very helpful and courteous. Unit was clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view, but upper floors w/end rooms on the ocean side are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed for 12 nights in April 2011. GREAT place to stay. Units have everything you need, including washer and dryer. Walk right onto beautiful beach. Mostly owners and families staying here, even during spring break it was relatively quiet even though full. Price was extremely reasonable compared with area hotels, considering you get a "home" with full kitchen, all appliances, two bedrooms/bathrooms, and beach access. Complex is convenient to mini-golf, Publix, many restaurants and shops. Good central location for day trips into old town, or south to visit other beaches. Next trip to St Augustine is March 2013 and we are staying at the Ocean and Racquet Resort again, didn't even have to shop around this time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Nice digs, on the beach, clean. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the place. Short drive to st. Augustine, short walk to the ocean. The low key week left me feeling renewed. Well go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a week and don't have any serious complaints. The price was VERY reasonable. The beach was literally steps away, and the place is very secure. Security on duty always. Units were clean, furniture was simple, aged and not very comfortable. Kitchen was well equipped with pots, pans, plates, coffee maker etc. But there is very little else furnished, including toilet paper- one roll per bathroom. Stores are nearby, so it's not a big deal, but be prepared to furnish, literally, everything you need. Good restaurants and attractions located nearby. We will definitely return to St. Augustine, but will check out other condos, before deciding whether we will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Augustine Ocean and Racquet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Augustine Ocean and Racquet Resort

Address: 880 A1A Beach Blvd., Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
St. Augustine Ocean And Racquet Hotel Saint Augustine Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Augustine Ocean and Racquet Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.