We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place it you dont book with points.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ascend Collection Castillo Real to your Saves list
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 A1A Beach Boulevard, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ironton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Place it you dont book with points.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Book it with points two years ago, and upgraded it for $100.00 a night. Got a great room. This year we only used points. They stuck us in room 102 which is poor room, and had next to no water pressure in the shower. We all wished we had gone to the other comfort inn. In short, got money to spend on room, This is the place to go. But use your points elsewhere. As for the restaurant. You wont find a better one in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
6thohio,
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your room. I will definitely have maintenance take a look at the shower for the water pressure. We have actually had guests request that room, so I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. I can assure you, it had nothing to do with you staying on points. Yes, when you book with points you do get a standard room, but I don't usually have guests complain about them. We do hope you will give us another chance next time you are in the area. We certainly appreciate your business and your loyalty to the Choice brands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    153
    35
    18
    5
See reviews for
136
263
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We come to this hotel for a week every year in July and LOVE IT!!! The balcony beach views are excellent, hotel is spotless, bed is soft and comfortable, sauna is beyond relaxing and the atmosphere is blissful. The location is perfect for walking to the beach and/or restaurants. We have been staying here for 4 years and will continue.

Room Tip: It's a bit expensive, but the corner suites have amazing views, the sea breeze from the double b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Shara W,
We thank you for taking the time to let everyone know how much you enjoy coming here. We are pleased that we have impressed you enough to return again and again. We love happy guests and we do get a lot of compliments on our beds. We appreciate your business and we will see you next July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Booked a couple rooms for a weekend getaway for the family. Price seemed a bit higher than we would normally pay, but that ended up not being a big deal considering how nice and spacious the rooms were and location to the beach which my daughter loved.
The large jacuzzi tub was nice..would have rather it be hidden from in plain site but no biggie. Was nice to have a good relaxing soak after being out most of the night with Samhain Paranormal on tour.
Restaurant was nothing special but didn't let that affect hotel rating.
Good times, nice comfy bed..wonderful stay!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Steven H,
We are glad to hear that you felt you did get what you paid for. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and please think of us if you need to get away for a weekend in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My family and I moved down here for a few dollars more from the dumpy Holiday Isle which was right down the street. I was happy they could accommodate us. The hotel is very pretty, clean, and I found the staff to be more then helpful and nice. We stayed in an executive suite. It is not right on the beach but a short walk and the pool area is very nice. Not large but clean and it has a nice hot tub as well. We also ate breakfast there which is not included. They do offer complimentary coffee and water. I would stay there again with out any hesitation. Our room was fine, and clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
dianne24,
I am happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you last minute in your move from down the street. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and were able to rest and relax. We can't wait to welcome you back next time you visit our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights at Castillo Real and I am so glad we did. This place is very nice and has an excellent staff. After having stayed the two nights prior in Jacksonville I was so glad to get here and see how nice and clean the room was. Only steps from the beach and a short drive to "Old Town" the location is perfect. I must add that the restaurant is wonderful. We had the same waiter every time and he was friendly & attentive. You must have breakfast here, it is awesome!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Maryam S,
We enjoyed reading your review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found your room clean and the staff was able to assist you with all of your needs. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and staff friendliness. We are so happy that you were able to experience those. I will also let the restaurant know how much you enjoyed your meals there. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Everything about our stay at this hotel was pleasant. The room was clean, the staff was nice, the restaurant inside the hotel was fantastic, and the location was good. The only possible things that would have made our stay better where if more rooms had balconies (ours did not and they did not offer 2 bed rooms with a balcony), and if the price was a bit lower. Although I will say that their regular prices are reasonable, it was due to July 4th holiday that our price was much higher than usual. Overall I give this hotel an "A" grade only short of an A+ because it is not directly on the beach, our room did not have balcony, and the doors to the room have large gap at bottom which made our rude neighbor allowing their kids to roam around and run up and down hallway with obnoxious toys early in the mornings very loud ... it would help if the doors sealed properly at the bottom. It would help even more if parents acted like parents more often.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony if available and you only need 1 bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Saba_9,
We appreciate your kind review. We are happy to know that you found your room clean and comfortable. I also really wish all the rooms had balconies, it would make our lives easier as well. I will look onto the gap at the bottom of the door. Thank you for brining that to our attention, as no one has told us about it before; we can't fix it if we don't know about it. I will pas along your kudos to the restaurant and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel looked great online and had several positive reviews but was very disappointing. The staff were disinterested, verging on rude. The rooms were shabby and not particularly clean. ( there were red splashes on the bathroom door when we arrived; looked like spilled wine, which were there for the whole of our stay.) Promised sea view was a building site. WiFi did not work in our 4th floor luxury room. The restaurant was overpriced but with only average service. Breakfast was at additional cost and not particularly good. Pool facilities shabby and badly maintained. There was no area to relax and get a drink, such as bar or cafe - most hotels have some area for relaxation. The bed in our room had a mattress that sagged and the bed sheet kept coming off during the night. The door to the balcony did not close and lock properly. The advertised free coffee in the lobby was usually cold.

Room Tip: Use Hampton Inn along the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
suzanne132637,
We are very sorry that you found your stay here only average and did not enjoy it. Most reviewers rave about or cleanliness and friendliness. I can't even begin to imagine our staff being rude. As for our view, it is advertised as a partial ocean view, and we never shy away from the fact that you can see the ocean, but that there are homes between us and the beach. I am not sure why you felt the pool area was shabby and poorly maintained, as we have staff that tends to it throughout the day every day and it is one of the nicest pool areas in our area, according to other guests. Once again, we really apologize that you did not enjoy your time with us. We do hope that you found St. Augustine to be delightful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Address: 530 A1A Beach Boulevard, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascend Collection Castillo Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.