We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ascend Collection Castillo Real to your Saves list
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 A1A Beach Boulevard, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a great stay here. It is in a great location on a quiet beach but very near the old city. Very clean rooms. Friendly staff and great breakfast. We will stay here again if we are back in the area. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dugan5,
Thank you for your kind words. We strive for cleanliness and great service. It seems we got that combination right with you. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    168
    39
    19
    6
See reviews for
148
293
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We arrived at our daughter's bedtime and greatly appreciated the helpful staff setting up the extra bed right away. We noticed a plumbing problem when we prepped for bed and the staff again came right away. The location was excellent, right up the street from the beach and within a few miles of downtown St. Augustine. We paid a fair price for an excellent breakfast right in house. Coffee and ice water were available all the time, as were helpful maps and local information. There is a nice pool but the weather was too cold when we were there.

Room Tip: Our room was a 2 Queen and on the street side--no street noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
ZoomMomma,
Considering that it seems you travel a bit, it is nice to know that we were able to impress you with our service and friendliness. I apologize for the small issue that you had and thank you for your understanding while we remedied the problem. I will pass along the kudos to the restaurant and we hope that you will think of us if you are in our area again. Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Extremely comfortable bed with nicely-appointed decor and huge jacuzzi tub. Friendly and helpful staff that responded quickly to our complaint of a neighboring room smoking weed and cigarettes (do what you gotta do, but for chrissakes, put a towel down at the foot of the door-jeez people). Entire property is non-smoking. Would recommend and stay here again. La Cocina restaurant on site has excellent food, but snotty breakfast staff.

Room Tip: 4th floor, ocean view. We stayed in 410.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Breastisbest,
First off, I sincerely apologize for the guests in the room next to you. I am happy to hear that our staff was able to remedy the situation quickly. I will also pass along your comments regarding the breakfast staff. I am glad to know that your were still able to really enjoy your stay despite a few hiccups. We do hope that you will think of us if you are in our area again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Good price. The room was nicely appointed and clean.Black out shades let us sleep in. We didn't get to stay for a meal but other guests were raving about the food. Beautiful beach a stone's throw away. Clean pool and hot tub outdoors. Quiet. I wouldn't hesitate to send you there. I wish we could get married again because we'd go to St Augustine for our honeymoon and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Rosesonata,
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am pleased that we were able to leave such a wonderful impression on you in such a short time. We do, very much, look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Castillo Real has a great location, with the beach out the back entrance down the access path. Rooms are comfortable and spacious, the decor of the hotel and the rooms fits well with the St Augustine feeling. There is a nice outdoor pool and a restaurant.. If you're looking for a place that is a little beyond the typical hotel decor and feeling, Castillo Real is perfect. We travel a lot and love the feeling of this type of property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Turnturnturn,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. Seeing as you seem to travel quite a bit, it is nice to know that we were able to leave a positive lasting impression. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

A friend and I had to get out of Rhode Island and find the sun. We decided St. Augustine and I chose the Castillo Real. We could not be happier. The décor, the Spanish style, the staff, the location near the beach and far enough away from the tourist area and congestion but close enough to get there in minutes. Xavier the waiter in the morning and bus in the evening was incredible, even though he likes the NY Yankees. The room was great, the pool area great, the sauna, steam room were great. The staff was wonderful, professional and hospitable. The food was by far better than expected at a hotel and better than expected at a fine dining restaurant. Although I don't expect to go to St. Augustine for quite some time I would go back just to stay at the hotel again. I can't say enough as I will run out of room.

Room Tip: Our room was third floor near the balcony overlooking the lobby and near the elevator. We had a poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
steve f,

Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know what a wonderful time you had on your recent stay with us. I will pass along your compliments to the restaurant owner regarding Xavier. I am happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of all that we have to offer. If you are in our area again, please do not hesitate to stop by. We are eager to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Beautiful room. Very comfy beds and pillows. Very Clean. Peaceful. Exceptional staff. Easy to find. The picture on the web does not do it justice. Loved my morning walks on beach. Priced perfectly. Will stay here again and will recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Denise M,
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your escape from the northern winter. Thank you for your kind words and lovely review of your stay with us. We are eager to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Address: 530 A1A Beach Boulevard, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascend Collection Castillo Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.