We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on St Augustine Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Save Saved
You added Ascend Collection Castillo Real to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 A1A Beach Boulevard, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Des Moines Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best on St Augustine Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We truly stumbled on the Castillo Real when our GPS got us lost trying to locate the Holliday Isle at midnight after a long day at Disney in Orlando. The Castillo looks like a Mexican style resort that you may find in Puerto Vallarta, with fantastic service and great location. When we arrived late at night, the overnight desk clerk, who's name escapes me, but is a very nice young man, went out of his way to help us and even bumped us to a Jacuzzi suite for our 2 night stay! The rooms were very well decorated, with full tile floors throughout and a massive walk in shower, again fully tiled. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room had both a microwave and a mini fridge with complementary bottled water. The hotel has a great restraint and has terrific free coffee in the lobby, along with a great workout room, and sauna/ steam room! The hotel is located less than 30 yards from the beach right down the side street. The whole area is terrific with a lot of beach bar and cafes within walking or biking distance. Another thing that you definitely do not want to miss is The Tasting Tours in historic St Augustine! How about a horse drawn carriage ride with WINE, and food and your own tour guide telling you not only about all of the history, but the fun antidotes associated with St Augustine like the "Kissing Tree", and the great shoppes that you normally wouldn't get to see on a normal drab tour! We will most definitely be back to St Augustine, stay at the Castillo Real and go through another Wine tour with friends.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
mangodesk340,
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we very much enjoyed reading your review. I have passed onto Josh, the overnight desk clerk, how greatful you were for his assistance. We can't wait until you return to the area and we can welcome you back. Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    132
    30
    19
    4
See reviews for
109
231
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ellijay
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was supposed to be on the ocean. We paid about double what we could have by staying at a nice hotel closer to St. Augustine. There is a street and houses between the hotel and beach. Our view was of the building next door.
Note: We were NOT charged the rate that was quoted online, and when I received the email confirmation, instead of showing the rate, it said "Rates are confidential; please contact the hotel directly for more information." I have never before received a confirmation email that did not show the rate. I highly suggest you confirm the correct rate is on the "sign-in" paper you initial. (I let this one get past me because I have never had this issue before.) Also, the rate had tripled from the time I started looking online, to when I actually booked. But this is probably typical when spring break/high season begins.
However, to be fair, the room was HUGE and very clean. Upon check in, we were offered breakfast vouchers for $8 at the hotel's restaurant La Cocina which included entree and drink. The food was very good, but service was pretty bad. We had to wait a LONG time, and it was not crowded. I asked 3 times for water, then gave up. Next time we will stay in town and save $$.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Silver1953Atlanta_GA,
Thank you for staying with us. I am curious to know which website that you booked through, so that I may contact them. The 2 websites directly linked with the hotel (choicehotels.com and castilloreal.com) do include the rates in the email confirmations. I apologize that someones website misled you. We state that we are Ocean view and not Ocean front. We do let guests know that we are on the same side of the street as the beach, but that there are private homes between us and the sand. I am glad that you did enjoy your room and your meal in the restaurant. I will pass on to the owner of the La Cocina your Kind words about your meal and also that the service could have been better. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights, the room was huge, bed super comfortable, shower awesome. Unless your a big eater don't bother with the breakfast voucher. The pool was big and clean. The only problem is that I paid for an ocean view and if you looked really hard you could see it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
bobkat53,
I am so glad to hear that you found your room to be well appointed and comfortable. I apologize that the view is not what you were expecting. Hopefully we will have the chance to make your next stay even better. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel on our way to other destinations in Florida, we have always found it clean and inviting, short walk to the beach, nice friendly staff.,highly recommend. Good restaurant nearby, walking distance Sunset Grille,check it out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Ron R,
We are so glad that we have become your regular stopping point in your travesl. Having a guest return time and again is the highest compliment. Thank you and we are waiting to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Looking for a hotel for the night we were headed for the nearby Best Western when this wonderful hotel caught our eye. We decided to check it out and it didn't take long to check in. The staff was most helpful. The decor is amazing as are the paintings throughout the hotel by a local artist. It it a very colorful and warm feeling hotel. Rooms are spacious and well oriented. The balcony overlooking the pool was a nice place to catch the morning sun. The walk-in pool was a bit chilly to swim in but the adjoining hot tub was more than pleasurable. Both have accessibility chairs which is something we hadn't seen at other hotels. There is also a suana and a steam room attached to the fitness center.

The hotel is a short walk from St. Augustine beach. The hotel staff was very accomadating in extending our check out time so we could take advantage of this accessibility to gather shells and enjoy the morning.

The restaurant La Cucina is outstanding. Breakfast coupons can be purchased at a discount and the breakfast is wonderful. The blueberry crepes were totally enjoyable. Dinner is another delicious experience and that's proven by the patrinization of the locals who were in attendance the evening we were there.

Room Tip: Plan to stay more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Katherine L,
Thank you. Your kind words are very much appreciated by myself and my staff. We do work hard everyday to make sure that everyone enjoys their stay with us and happy guests like you, make it worth all of the hard work. I will pass along your review on the restaurant, as they are spearately owned and operated. Once again, Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. The rooms are spacious, immaculately clean, comfortable beds and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Check in fast and easy and the parking is very good. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
hazel39,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us so much that you took the time to review your stay. Thank you for your kind words and mention of our cleanliness and staff service. Please remember us if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nice hotel for short stays. The location is great and near the beach with plenty of places to go and visit. The community has a nice feel of solace and great place for rest and relaxation. It near downtown St. Augustine for excellent food and scenery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Nestor B.,
Thank you for your kind words about our property and location. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back if you are in our area agin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Address: 530 A1A Beach Boulevard, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascend Collection Castillo Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.