We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotwire Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ascend Collection Castillo Real to your Saves list
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 A1A Beach Boulevard, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Skokie, IL
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Hotwire Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We booked this on Hotwire and could not have been happier. I think we paid $68, on a Sunday night (lowest occupancy night of the week). The room was clean, large, and had a large clean bathroom. What more could you want?
No breakfast, coffee available in the room and lobby.
It is about 7 miles from downtown St. Augustine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Postman83,

We are happy to hear you were able to get a great deal with us and that you enjoyed yourselves. It seems that you felt you got a great value for your dollar. I also see you noticed the pride we take in our cleanliness. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    168
    39
    19
    6
See reviews for
148
293
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel several times when in the area for business. The hotel provides great access to the beach and is in a very quiet area. Would recommend to anyone! There are also several places to eat within a close distance to the hotel. If you need to grab some groceries, there is a Publix a couple miles down the street, which is very easy to drive to.

Denver Stick

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Denver S,

Thakn you for your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoy your time with us enough to keep coming back. We are eager to welcome you back to your home away from home, next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and I did a Priceline bid for the hotel. The rooms are fantastic, clean, and located 1 block from the beach. Travertine bathrooms and foyer in each room. Would definitely stay again. We didnt try the restaurant, it was a little pricey, but so is everything else in the tourist zone of both St. Augustine, and St. A Beach.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Brian H,
I am happy to hear you got a good value for your money and also enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to reviw our hotel and we can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Clean, quiet, beds were very comfortable. Interior has architectural class. The front desk was friendly and helpful. Had two meals at their restaurant that where excellent. Would certainly stay there again

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Joyous77,

We are so glad that you chose to stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are thrilled you noticed our cleanliness, as we strive for this to be noticable to everyone. It is also nice to know that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Plese join us again next time you visit our lovely city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Went to St. Augustine to see the Christmas Lights, stayed at the Castillo Real which turned out to be a beautiful hotel and was convenient to everything in St. Augustine.
Rooms were very nice and very clean, the staff was always available if you were in need of anything. Will stay there again on our next visit to St. Augustine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Astaire S,
I really hope that you were able to enjoy the beautiful Christmas light in town. This is such a lovely time of year to visit. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here and found everything to be clean and convienent. We really do pride ourselves on cleanliness and friendliness. It seems that you were able to experience both of those during your stay. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Unfortunately did not get to explore the area, was there for a couple of hours only.. Hotel was very nice, extremely clean, front desk lovely. Loved the fact that they had a coffee/tea machine in the lobby I think this is a nice touch. Did not use toiletries in room, but you could tell they were of good quality.
It was great to be able to step out of hotel and walk to the beach, very peaceful, will definitely recommend the hotel, found it to be a gem in the sense that you get a lot more than what (at least) I paid for. Think it’s awesome parking is free, not sure if it’s the standard there but always a plus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
giyo19,

I am sorry that you were not able to stay longer and make more use of our wonderful ammenities. Iam glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the few hours you were here. We hope that you will be able to join us again in the future for a longer stay. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a gorgeous hotel in a great location. The place is also spotless and even smelled clean throughout! St. Augustine Beach is an absolute gem and this hotel made our stay just perfect. We only stayed two nights, we booked a king room with jacuzzi tub and loved it! I surprised my husband with the romance (very reasonable) package and we both were delighted with the chocolates, petals and wine! The jacuzzi tub is huge and well worth the upgrade when staying during the breezy fall weather, we definitely couldn't use the outdoor pool, just too chilly! The front desk lady we saw often was super friendly and always chatted with us as we went in and out of the hotel, also arranged us a cab to tour old town. So worth the $12-15 cab ride to do the old town bars and not worry about a designated driver! We would happily stay here again on our next trip! Can't wait to return in warmer weather and bring our son, he's going to love that pool!

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a better shot at an ocean view, book a jacuzzi room if staying in the Fall/Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
MaryRobOz,
Thak you for your kind words. Hearing that we have made a guest's stay "perfect" always makes our day. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the jacuzzi and the special romance package. I will pass on to the Front Desk staff that you appreciated all of their help and kindness. We can't wait to welcome you back on your next trip during warmer weather. Once again, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Address: 530 A1A Beach Boulevard, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascend Collection Castillo Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.