We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Beachfront retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Beachfront Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 F Street, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Beaverton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Peaceful, Beachfront retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in the Sailway room in the Cottage at Beachfront B&B . The moment we walked in the door the white, yellow and blue color palette and light white furnishings said "beachy". Very comfortable king bed and a generous suite size made for a very pleasant 3 day stay. I would concur with jlblack from Massachusetts that the bathroom was tight for two trying to get ready at once.

The daily breakfront upstairs at the beach house was nicely presented and very good (although I would have liked seconds and some homefries or toast). The staff were helpful, polite and friendly.

Because the B&B is "over 21" only and has its own pool and separate brand new large jacuzzi in a screen house that are open 24 hours it is perfect for couples that like a serene setting without noisy children splashing one another and running around like hellions.

We would definitely recommend the Beachfront B&B and will return the next time we visit St Augustine.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy I would choose a room in the cottage or one of the ground level rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich810, Owner at Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. Sail Away cottage room is one of our favorites too with 6 large windows it is light and bright during the day. Relaxation is our specialty so having it over 21 makes it quiet and peaceful especially to enjoy the heated pool & outdoor Jacuzzi. Hope to see you again soon. Lauren & Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    22
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
105
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Awesome beach,awesome views,great accomadations.excellent hospitality.Stayed for four nights.Will return again.--Jim/Penny Northboro ma-Stayed four nights in sail away cottage -very private.Only negative bathroom a little small

Room Tip: stayed in sail away cottage -very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights and had a wonderful time. The staff was great, the food was good, the room was very nice, and the location was amazing. We made frequent use of the hot tub, as well as the beach access. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed the first night at Cedar House Inn, and Cyndi spoiled us with her out-of-this-world breakfast. She really set the bar high for Bed & Breakfasts in St. Augustine.

The Beachfront B&B was nice enough though; the beach location was a MAJOR plus.

We checked in at La Fiesta (sister company next store). They gave us the keys, and we were off to find our room. We stayed in the Surfside, which opened up to the oceanfront (if we could see it- kind of far from the beach with the dunes in between). The decor was beachy and clean. Couldn't figure out why the ceiling was lowered in some of the rooms though- possibly an addition was made to make more rooms within the house?

The owner was very friendly and cheerful. However, we were not impressed with the breakfasts. Day 1: Egg souffle of sorts - just egg & cheese with a very small fruit salad. NO MEAT. I really wanted some bacon to go with those eggs! Day 2: Small blueberry waffle with blueberries and whipped cream on top with 2 sausage links. Neither were made from scratch. They were just average; nothing special.

We did the Living Social deal and were pleased with the overall accomodations for the price. The jacuzzi was very close to our room. We took advantage of that one night.

Overall, it was a nice relaxing stay. If they are striving for improvement, I would say the breakfast needs the most help. The coffee was robust and delicious. However, I think a lot of Bed & Breakfasts in the area take pride in the breakfasts they serve and these simply didn't measure up. Always offer a meat option, and if a vegetation is in the house they can simply decline.

Room Tip: Surfside was a nice selection. Out of the main house so people couldn't hear your every convers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Beach Front B & B in a second floor room that had a nice view of the ocean. I am guessing that the two story building has been remodeled to include the bedrooms and a lovely common area for breakfast and socializing. The bed in our room was excellent and we enjoyed a good night’s sleep.

The best part of the stay was the breakfast. Fresh fruit and a nice main course was served. The down side is the B & B is in need of repair. The owner explained to me that because the building was older and had been remodeled, parts for the shower and good plumbers were difficult to find. I was also surprised that when I checked out I was asked if I wanted to add a tip for the breakfast staff. At $229 per night I would hope that the staff is appropriately accommodated.

The upside is the location near the beach was wonderful, the breakfast staff was outstanding, and the building could be charming with a little work. This could be a five star B & B with improvements.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the second floor front side have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich810, Owner at Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for visiting us here on the ocean. We are pleased that you enjoyed the new king bed in Island Oasis and our breakfasts. History an important feature of our B & B and while parts are original we strive to update features for guest comfort. Many guests thank us for asking about a gratuity for the servers/housekeepers at check out which is optional. We hope to see you again soon. Lauren & Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Beachfront Bed & Breakfast for my birthday. It was a very wonderful and relaxing stay. You check in at La Fiesta Inn which is literally next door, it is their sister property. Once you are checked in, you drive around the corner to the B&B. The B & B is beautiful, the rooms are decorated beautifully and the upstairs dining area and sitting room with fireplace are wonderful. We stayed in the Sand Dollar room which is right across from the pool and hot tub, literally a few steps away. We made use of the hot tub nightly. Since the B&B is for adults only, being so close to the pool & hot tub was surprisingly quiet. The beach is accessed via a broadwalk right at the foot of the properties driveway. The breakfast every morning was delicious, fresh fruit, juice, coffee with quiche one morning and the most delicious french toast the next. There are bikes to use for a ride on the beach and a miniature golf course next door. The historic district is just minutes away, as is the lighthouse and alligator farm. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed there two nights for my sister's wedding. Even though it is described as a romantic getaway, it's also great for single travelers who want peace and quiet in a friendly atmosphere. I stayed in the Sail Away room, which was beautifully decorated, even with a little Christmas tree. The electric fireplace added a comfortable touch, and I had a private entrance.
The place is directly by the beach, and I took a long walk every morning. We also had the wedding right on the beach, which was a beautiful location. The owner was very friendly and made sure we had snacks and anything else we needed.
Due to time constraints, I was not able to use the pool, hot tub, or try the breakfast, but everything was functional and looked clean.
If I need a quiet getaway in the future, this place will be on top of my list.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich810, Owner at Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
The wedding was beautiful and we had wonderful guests like you. During the year we have many guests who want to get away by themselves to relax and refresh. We enjoy our guests and like providing nice furnishings along with special touches that make their stay special. We hope to see you again to enjoy the beach and our B & B. Lauren & Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 F Street, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfront Bed & Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront B & B on beautiful St. Augustine Beach and just 10 minutes to Historic St. Augustine.  Enjoy our wonderful rooms, oceanfront pool & Jacuzzi, delicious breakfasts, elegant bedding, private bathrooms and most of all, "million dollar ocean views" Spa services, restaurants and shops nearby.  Come visit our quiet, private and relaxing coastal retreat directly on the ocean, the �Best kept secret in St. Augustine�.  Winner: One of the top 14 most romantic B & B's in North America by AAA�s� ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Beachfront Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Bed And Breakfast
Beachfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.