We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most delightful experience !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BlackFly the Restaurant

BlackFly the Restaurant
108 Anastasia Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL
904-201-6300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
BlackFly the Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Zorayda Ave
Transit: A very short taxi ride from downtown.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A most delightful experience !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently I had the pleasure of dining at Black Fly Restaurant. We began our evening with a couple of appetizers-the Conch fritters and the sweet chili calamari. Both selections were excellent. Our entrees were also most excellent. We ordered the Pan Seared Scallops w couscous and the seared Mahi-Mahi w salsa verde. The fish itself was impeccably fresh and the accompaniments were top shelf. The service was attentive without being intrusive. Also 5 star. All in All a very enjoyable dining experience, will heartily recommend you to our friends and guests. Thank You for the evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    70
    16
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Amherst, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“unique cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The new Blackfly restaurant is a unique dining exprience. The food is served as an artistic display and is of the utmost quality. I particularly liked the thick Mahi Mahi dish. However, the lobster ravioli with truffle was outstanding. The restaurant itself is decorated with numerous paintings of Florida fish in bright colors. The staff were very personable, excellent but not overbearing. I recommend this upscale but casual restaurant... The owners also have another superb resaurant in St. Augustine (Collage) which has always been our romantic atmosphere favorite. They have done a wonderful job with the Blackfly also.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Black Fly: A Five-Star Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a great experience at the Black Fly, starting out with a wonderful shrimp and fried rice appetizer, and finishing with the best flounder we have ever eaten! There were many interesting choices on the menu, but we both agreed we would have a hard time ordering anything other than the flounder. It was that good! There was a very nice selection of wines, and the staff couldn't have been more welcoming. In short, we had an outstanding experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Spartan ambiance, but food and service were excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a new establishment in the area and is associated with another local and highly rated restaurant ("Collage"). Blackfly certainly delivered equally on the food and service. The waitress was well versed on the menu and provided worthwhile recommendations. The wine list was adequate and reasonably priced. Our party of four were pleased with our dining experience and were visited tableside by the owner who welcomed our input on the meal. The Steak and Cheese Risotto appetizer was awesome and a great start to our meal. The only complaint from the party was that the Pan Seared Sea Scallops were a bit underdone.

As an upscale establishment however, I felt the ambiance was lacking. The booths were reminiscent of a pub atmosphere and hard surfaces throughout had a tendency to amplify the sound (see the website and judge for yourself).

This restaurant has many of the fundamentals to be another great dining establishment in St. Augustine. I am impressed by management's response on Trip Advisor in addressing comments, critique and input from customers. I certainly would recommend this restaurant and know the owners welcome customer input to put this new venture on an equal level with their other highly rated restaurant in St. Augustine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“another winner for Mike & Cindy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Collage has always been my favorite restaurant, but am now also enamored of the owners' new restaurant. Blackfly has a more casual decor (art work by partner, Vaughn Cochran), but there is nothing casual about the food or service ... exemplary! The evening's specials are always certain to please ... fresh fish is usually the choice. We at Summerhouse appreciate having a truly excellent restaurant on the island side of the Bridge of Lions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BlackFly the Restaurant also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to BlackFly the Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlackFly the Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.