We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are nice, but mediocre and not authentic food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nonnas Trattoria

Nonnas Trattoria
2 Aviles Street, St Augustine Florida, not St. Augustine Beach!, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
(904) 827-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“They are nice, but mediocre and not authentic food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The staff is nice, but food is not really worth the money. Mediocre food and odd mixture on menu
Overpriced for what it is.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    39
    15
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Nonna Trattoria was a big disappointment. There were 4 of us, and only one liked his dinner. We did not finish our meals. Eggplant parm was mushy. Pasta with cauliflower had an odd-tasting red sauce and the cauliflower (very sparse) was mush. Spaghetti and meatballs were only fair.
Seemed like we didn't get fresh food, just warmed-over stuff.
Not a good value for the money. Service was OK, nice location on a side street. Overall, we don't recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved everything about this small restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

An absolute gem - chef customized our starter - Caprese salad - it was terrific! Pat had the fettuccine alfredo with chicken and I had the spaghetti and meatballs - wonderful! Portions are quite large so be sure that you are hungry, but the food was hot and very flavourful!

Our server was extremely personable and attentive - great British accent! The chef stopped by our table and asked us about our meal!

We very highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best. Service. Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place was great. We were in St Augstine for the weekend and stumbled upon this place. The location was awesome but the food and service were amazing. When asked if it was possible to order something not on the menu (spaghetti with meat sauce) the server responsed "anything's possible". Such a great attitude. The Sangria was delicious and the pasta even better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Are we talking about the same Nonna's Trattoria?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Last evening we tried to eat dinner at this restaurant and it was not a brilliant food experience. While the waitress (who was quite new) did her polite and apologetic best under the circumstances, we will not go back....and we are locals. Wine was fine, side salad fine, a bit over-priced, my husband's veal marsala was "meh," quite tasteless, his fettucine alfredo, mountains of it, bland...but the worst was my mother's and my "pasta al forno." Now I happen to have some leftover rigatoni and meat sauce in my fridge at home which I could have eaten for free. That is exactly what we got (loads of it) at this restaurant. I had to explain to the waitress (who then explained it to the chef!!!!) that "al forno" means "oven-baked," like lasagne. Not thrown together in a bowl and warmed through. Sigh. So it was switched for lasagne, by which time my husband had gotten through as much of his meal as he was going to. The cappuccino and espresso we ordered were....coffee. Hot and wet. No froth on the cappuccino. Just coffee. Again, our server was trying desperately to appease, offering desserts, etc., but the bill was still way too much for what we did not enjoy. The nice reviews make me wonder...are we talking about the same place?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nonnas Trattoria also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to Nonnas Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonnas Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.